We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins are very basic, but everything worked.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wailuku
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Waianapanapa State Park Cabins
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed here recently on my road-trip around the island. The cabin itself is nothing special, really rather dumpy, but a short walk from here puts you on a beautiful black-sand beach. You can hear the waves crashing against the rocks from the cabin. The porch in the front of the cabin is large enough for several people to sit back and relax, and there is a picnic table as well. I picked up some match-light charcoal briquettes before I left Kahalui, and then picked up a steak at the grocery in Hana. I also picked up some sliced pineapple from a roadside stand. I used the outdoor grill at the cabin to grill up a nice steak dinner with grilled pineapple. Priceless.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Mk119505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Waianapanapa State Park Cabins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

These Hawaii state park cabins are a great option for staying near Hana. They are relatively inexpensive, in a beautiful setting and allow you to get the most out of a trip to the east end of Maui.
The trick here is to have reasonable expectations. The cabins are not new. In the wet Hana climate the exterior is going to weather very quickly and these cabins show the gradual decline you'd expect. The interior of our cabin (#6) was clean and neat--but again shows its age. These are fairly rudimentary cabins. They have electricity and hot and cold running water, bathroom and beds for 6 (two sets of bunk beds and two twin beds) The mattresses were reasonably comfortable. Bring your own linens.
It poured the day we arrived and it was nice to have some place to get out of the rain. The large covered porch was a great place to play cards and wait for the rain to stop.
We never saw any bugs of any kind inside the cabin and slept soundly. The shower was decent but you need to bring your own soap.
If you're on a budget these cabins are a great choice. There is a steep discount for Hawaii residents so if you have family or friends who live here they can make the reservation for you and save. 2014 Hawaii resident rate was $60/night but $90 for non-residents. Go on-line to make the reservations.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank AJVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

It was a wonderful place to stay. Cabins were decent (minus the fact that the tennants before us didn't clean it properly), location was amazing, and the utilities were in good condition. The only downfall was the fact that check-out time is at 10am, so you either have to be packed and ready to go the day prior or wake up once the sun rises (6-7am) to actually make it on time. Overall, great place. I highly recommend staying there at least once.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shinamaru_Kaito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Basically, these cabins are located in paradise, with massive waves crashing within sight of our cabin (#5). They have adequate space, some cooking stuff, bathroom, shower, and six beds (which for $99 in Hana is all you can ask for). Bring your own bedding and towels. However, when we got there, our code didn't open the door. It took me over an hour to find a staff person who then looked it up and found it had been entered incorrectly. She took care of it right away but it was a more than a bit frustrating. I would make sure to get there right around 3p.m. so that if there are any issues, you can find someone to help you. The park is not well staffed. Still, a magical night in an incredible setting. With more planning, I'd stay there more than a couple of nights very comfortably.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DanteTrottier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Our cabin slept 6 and was bigger than I expected. It was almost clean, but the beds were squeaky and dirty. Better than camping, and someone had even stocked the fire grill with wood. The view and location are unbeatable, and we didn't have any interaction with the staff, as we arrived later than check in and just used our combination to enter. The biggest downside was that it was hard to sleep as a bird decided to hang out on our roof or lanai and squawk about every hour or so. It was so loud we thought at first that it might be in the room!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This is camping in a cabin, but the location is probably the most awesome on Maui. Take your own sheets and cleaning supplies and shower thongs. Also take your own utensils to cook with and food. Just ignore the caretaker and take it all in stride, you will never sleep anywhere with this kind of natural music to go to sleep to. Also take rain gear.

Room Tip: Cabin 4 or 5.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

as you may have read in other reviews, beware of the caretacker's daughter, have all your permits in order and don't argue, you may end up looking for another lodging at 8pm.
Cabins are good as cabins go, pretty basic but you're out of the rain, you have light and water!
Waianapanapa is fabulous, well worth the stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank arturoHaiku_Maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2.1 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
543 reviews
2.3 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,067 reviews
34.7 mi away
Travaasa Hana, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Courtyard Maui Kahului Airport
0.2 mi away
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
#1 of 9 in Wailuku
440 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waianapanapa State Park Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waianapanapa State Park Cabins

Address: 54 S High St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-2102
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range: £6 - £7 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Waianapanapa State Park Cabins Hotel Wailuku
Waianapanapa State Park Cabins Maui/Wailuku, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing