We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Night, Caring Staff, A Work in Progress”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Moped City Maui Bed & Wheels
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Management and staff are very helpful and genuinely care about their guests. Service was excellent. This was the quietest hostel for a good night's rest that I have experienced. The occupancy was a mixture of long term residents and short term vacationers. The owners are in the process of renovating, cleaning, and making improvements as they transition the property from long to short term rentals.

We stayed in a private room with a shared bathroom and kitchen. The suite had a nice layout with sleeping rooms arranged around the common kitchen area with full stove and refrigerator and bathroom with a toilet, sink, tub and shower. Fluffy towels, a roll of toilet paper, one sheet and clean blankets were provided, but not pillowcases. I would suggest bringing your own pillowcases and a sheet to cover yourself if desired. We used our towels for pillowcases. Had the room rate been cheaper, we would have stayed longer and purchased our own sheets and pillowcases and left them there. The room would have benefited from a good deep cleaning and a new mattress, or at least a mattress pad. There was no fan, nor air conditioning, and the windows did not open which was not a problem in January. The hot water heater in the bathroom was very small. The room had been freshly painted and there was a large TV and full length mirror in the room. We could have used a chair.

We originally chose Hostel City, a sister property, for the excellent location and the adjoining restaurant with good food and great breakfast specials. When we arrived at Hostel City, , we learned the reservation did not upload in their system since it was booked the same calendar day, and they had no rooms available. The manager kindly re-booked us at Moped City Maui, which is under the same ownership,and is located a 5 minute drive away in Wailuku.

It is important to book more than one calendar day in advance on the computer or if booking at the last minute, book by phone. We booked a room for 4 nights at Hostel City Maui based on the availability calendar on the website; the time of booking was just after midnight mountain standard time. We arrived at 2100 that same calendar day, which was more than 24 hours from the time of booking, and still experienced the upload delay. This might explain the difficulties expressed in some of the other reviews.

We stayed for one night, opting to move to Maui Beach Hotel for the remainder of our stay, which was nearly the same price on a regular night and was significantly less expensive on a lower occupancy night. We would have stayed at the hostel and happily tolerated the inconveniences if the price had been lower. Doubling the single person rate for the use of one bed and one room given current conditions seemed excessive. We were only charged for one night, although we had reserved four. The quality is OK for backpackers, surfers, college kids and the extreme budget traveler. I would not bring my parents there. There is room for improvement but they care about the place and the guests and I would expect better things in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the mountain side are quiet at night and sheltered from traffic noise. There are birds and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lizyx211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mopedcity, Owner at Moped City Maui Bed & Wheels, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2013

Aloha!
The private rooms on high season are $79.00 -$89.00 for 2 people. If you paid more then that please contact me at my office. We do NOT double prices its an added cost of $10.00
The reason for the added cost is to cover the utilities. Thank You for your review and I hope that you choose to stay with us again when you come back to Maui.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 13 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2013

I´ve never had such a bad experience in a hostel.
I booked a private room, and it has nothing to do with a private room. It is only divided by a "wall" that doesn´t get to the ceiling.
When I got there the person in charge told me that I should go to another Hostel they have that was across the street as they had no availability (this was never clarified when I booked it via internet).
When I got there a very unskilled person of the hostel told me had no idea what room I had. He took over 5 rooms, and all of them where totally dirty, not prepared for the check in, and also some windows were broken! They expected me to sleep there. I went to talk to the owner, and she was very rude, she didn´t even gave me any explanation nor solution.
I finally got a private room that was too dirty, as the restrooms.
I would never recommend someone to stay at this hostel, I had an awful experience and I think owners should be ashamed of their service.
Moreover,I booked 2 nights but I only stayed one, and they told me they were going to charge me for one night. Now I can see in my credit card that they charged me two nights and they are not answering any of my emails or calls! Unbelievable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luciana3036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

I stayed at this hostel for a month, as they have a great 30 day rate. It's set up as one huge dorm room with 10 twin beds, which I liked more than traditional smaller hostel rooms with bunkbeds crammed into it. Even when the dorm was full it did not feel crowded. Great outdoor shower! Wonderful, friendly owners and on site managers. Nice kitchen with flat screen tv and cable, and also great wifi. Nice mix of locals and tourists staying here, there was always good conversation going on. Responsible drinking was allowed, but this is NOT a party hostel. I really enjoyed my stay, and I will be back!

Room Tip: All the beds are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mars L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

If your looking for an inexpensive place to stay, this is it! The owner and staff are Kind, Helpful and friendly. They also rent mopeds and you can get a package deal on the room and a moped. The mopeds are so fun to ride!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LCMAUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

this place was so nice with the most cleanest bathrooms, common areas and beds.
the wifi was strong and easy to get on to.
the shuttle was a little late to pick me up but he was so sorry that he was late and he took me to do a little shopping before he took me back to the hostel.

got to meet the owners they bought us all pizza and sat with us with the torches lit it was really nice.

i am glad i chose this place and will tell all of my friends about it.

Room Tip: if you dont mind sleeping in a huge dorm room to save lots of money this is the place for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 1 July 2012

Thank you so much for your kind review! I am very glad you had a nice time while with us.
I hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eseMisteryHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Daphnee122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mopedcity, Manager at Moped City Maui Bed & Wheels, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
0.8 mi away
Northshore Hostel Maui
Northshore Hostel Maui
#1 of 9 in Wailuku
463 reviews
12 mi away
Tiki Beach Hostel
Tiki Beach Hostel
#31 of 43 in Lahaina
71 reviews
1.2 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wailuku Guesthouse
Wailuku Guesthouse
#2 of 4 in Wailuku
237 reviews
1.6 mi away
Iao Valley Inn
Iao Valley Inn
#3 of 4 in Wailuku
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moped City Maui Bed & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moped City Maui Bed & Wheels

Address: 1398 Lower Main St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-1938
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Wailuku
Price Range: £19 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Moped City Maui Bed & Wheels 1*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 mixed dorm with one private room. Relax on comfortable pillow top beds. Voted most Clean and friendly surroundings. Located central.Close to bus stops,gas stations, restaurants, shopping malls , grocery stores, Hiking, State parks, look outs, waterfalls, mountains and ocean swimming ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Moped City Maui Bed & Wheels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moped City Maui Bed & Wheels Wailuku, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing