We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and amazing place!”
Review of Wailuku Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wailuku Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 4 Wailuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my wife visited wailuku guesthouse during our honeymoon, we was very surprised about the place cause it's amazing, the owners are so kind that you can use everything you need for the beach such as boogie board or snorkeling stuff...
There is a wonderful salt pool but we did not used it, just because we prefer ed to go the the ocean, anyway they can suggest you where to eat and also amazing place to visit!!!

Absolutely advised

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank AlbusC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Aloha,

I'm glad the honeymoon went well especially at our Wailuku Guesthouse. I hope all the beach chairs, boogie boards,beach towels, and coolers helped you have plenty of free beach gear. Please tell your friends and family about us or visit us for your anniversary.
Mahalo,
Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

When I looked this place up on the internet it showed no availability, but I have learned over the years to call direct. AND WE LUCKED OUT! Maureen was able to give us lodging. We split up our Maui vacation into two parts, half east/half west. The Wailuku Guesthouse ended up being at great location, close to good shopping for groceries and souvenirs (Costco, Walmart ,Kmart) and made the Road to Hana easy. We spent one day doing the first part of the Road to Hana, then went back for a second day, and staying in Wailuku made it so much easier then if we had stayed on the West side of the Island. The Wailuku Guesthouse is NOT fancy like a resort, but it had everything we needed and more! We used their beach chairs, beach towels and an ice chest which was great. We didn't have time for the pool or grill, but we talked about it several times! Also want to make note that this place was VERY CLEAN. I will recommend this place to others that come to Maui, and will stay her again if I come back to Maui. Thanks Maureen for the papayas and home made tarts!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SusanLoneOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Aloha Susan,

Much mahalo for staying with us. Often other search engines will show NO availability when in fact that is not true. We have wondered for years why this happens. Although we have asked about this we never have received a straight answer. It is best to check directly. Our location makes The Wailuku Guesthouse a convenient place to stay. Just 2 blocks from Main St we are walking distance to Wailuku and centrally located to many island attractions and beaches. I try very hard to keep the rooms very clean and kept up. Often, I think I'm a painter LOL. Supplying beach chairs, coolers, beach towels, sun umbrellas and an assortment of beach gear makes staying with us so much more affordable. Well, I hope you able to revisit Maui in the future. We look forward to your stay again.
Mahalo Nui Loa,
Maureen
owner
The Wailuku Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed here during our honeymoon. It was very welcoming and comfortable rooms, great hosts and location is accessible to all Maui has to offer (since Wailuku is central to all the island).
We used it as our base camp, then took day trips to all the destinations. It worked out well. Maureen and Doug gave us plenty of advise about the best places, restaurants, beaches and activities to do. Really helpful!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank castle_lb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Maureen is such a great host! Oh, those handmade cookies were delicious, too! The guesthouse has very warm vibe that makes you feel just like home especially for travellers flying far away from home! Make sure you play with Makena and Kahana in the pool. They're both very entertaining to play with. We had a very pleasant stay at Wailuku guesthouse. Mahalo, Maureen!

Room Tip: The location is very close to Iao Valley. Perfect for a good walk with beautiful valley view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Aloha Koko
Even though you were just passing through; it was nice to meet you both. Makena and Kahana both loved you. Please be sure to tell your friends and family about us and when you rebook ask for our repeat guest discount.

Much mahalo for staying with us.

Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We had a great vacation in May 2014 at the Wailuku Guesthouse. Maureen was great. Very helpful an informative. Felt like I was at a relatives visiting. Location was great, close to a couple of Malls and About 10 mins from the Airport. She helped us with questions reguarding sightseeing adventures.Very homey accommodations. Great time. Will stay again.

Thank Maureen!

Eloise

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eloise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Aloha Folks,

I'm so glad when you finally arrived. There was a sense of relief shown on your faces when you finally arrived and I'm glad I was there to get you here in the dark. Your stay was brief but you asked a lot of good questions and I think I was able to steer you in the right direction. We are looking forward to you sending your whole family next time.

With Aloha,
Maureen
owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Gorgeous accommodations, Maureen is a sheer delight. What a great experience only enhanced by this B&B !! Would stay again in a heartbeat !! Have posted pics on Facebook and have left messages for all my friends and family for their next visit !

Room Tip: Take the big room !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wailuku_Guesthouse, Owner at Wailuku Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Aloha Elizabeth,
I'm thrilled that you as well as others just love our place. We are not big and fancy but nice and clean eh? Having all the beach chairs, boogie boards, coolers, sun umbrellas and beach towels available is a nice feature. Glad you enjoyed it all. I also love my job.

See you are your finest again soon hopefully,
Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We just enjoyed a week at the Wailuku Guesthouse in the Wasabi room. It was so much nicer than a sterile hotel room. Maurene was friendly and helpful, answering all our odd questions. The Maui guidebook in the room was excellent - we used it extensively. The little kitchen made it easy to pack picnic lunches and there was even a cooler provided. We found this a great central location for exploring the island. There are a number of good restaurants within walking distance and for a more casual evening, take-out eaten by the pool is very relaxing. We were treated to great home-made goodies - and a papaya from the tree in the garden that ripened while we were there. It doesn't get much better than that!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
2 mi away
Maui Seaside Hotel
Maui Seaside Hotel
#2 of 3 in Kahului
1,087 reviews
8 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
767 reviews
12.8 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Maui Beach Hotel
Maui Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Kahului
559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
11.5 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailuku Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailuku Guesthouse

Address: 210 S Market St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-2234
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wailuku
Price Range: £101 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wailuku Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wailuku Guesthouse is a clean, affordable accommodation on the beautiful island of Maui. Centrally located with a saltwater pool with waterfalls, barbeque, cable TV and air conditioning,beach chairs, beach towels, snorkel gear, coolers for packing great lunches and chilly drinks and free use of the Maui Revealed Guide Book. The house dates back to the early 1900's as a plantation home. Then it was used as officer's quarter's in 1945. The current owners have done many renovations and the rooms are kept spotlessly clean. It offers free wi-fi and parking for all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wailuku Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailuku Guesthouse Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing