We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing Tropical Hideaway”
Cottage living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage living area
Cottage living area Cottage living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Cottage living area
Cottage living area
Cottage living room
Cottage, kitchen to living room view
Cottage Kitchen
Cottage bedroom
Cottage bathroom, shower only
Cottage Lanai
Cottage Lanai
Gazebo
inside Gazebo
inside Gazebo
outside view of Cottage
back of cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wailuku, Maui, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jcfries
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A few quirks, but was sufficient”
Reviewed 15 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Friendly hosts. Quiet , private location. A little overpriced for what you got. (Perhaps if breakfast had been provided each morning??) Here is the summary:

Pluses:
1. Good pillows
2. Appreciated extras included: cooler, beach chairs, beach umbrella (broken, but it did the job in providing shade), coffee, condiments in fridge, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, Q-tips, make up removal pads.
3. AC
4. Well stocked kitchen
5. Beautiful shower, great water pressure
6. Delicious banana bread (and fruit) provided in fridge for our first morning.

Suggestions for improvements:
1. Window coverings - some windows had no coverings, or partial curtains that didn't cover the whole window. Although cottage was in a private area, would have appreciated full privacy when dressing, sleeping, showering, etc.
2. Very soft bed. Good for some, but we prefer a firm mattress.
3. Worn kitchen appliances, all functional. Fridge door stained with rust , handle dirty.
4. No kettle.
5. No kitchen table in cabin. 2 stools at counter were awkward to eat at as there was no overhang. Table provided outside, however, many bugs visited when we attempted to eat outdoors. Ended up eating seated on the floor around the coffee table.
6. Perhaps a smoker stayed in cabin previously, as when we returned at the end of the day and it had been closed up, there was a hint of a cigarette smell.
7. Full set of stainless pots would be appreciated. (Only one small pot was stainless.) A couple teflon pans/pots had scratches.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Aloha,
Thank you for taking the time for a review. We have addressed many of your issues that you found needed our attention, especially the kitchen items. With guest coming from all walks of life and many different countries in the world, all with varying personal taste and needs, itʻs impossible to be perfect for everyone, so again, we really appreciate your comments and have taken it to heart.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janajmfa
Pleasant Hill, California
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
“Amazing Tropical Hideaway”
Reviewed 10 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

My husband and I were looking for a place to stay for our 5 year anniversary. We wanted to stay on the tropical side of the Island, since on our first trip we were in Kaanapali which is much dryer. The cottage is in a great location. It's super close to downtown Wailuku where there's a nice coffee shop and lots of boutiques and galleries . It's a short drive to Kahului shopping center and the main airport, and it's super close to the wonderful scenic hiking in Iao Valley. The cottage itself has all the main amenities and has a much more relaxed feel to it than staying at a hotel, since there's not the constant flow of people around you. We both really enjoyed staying there, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2017
Aloha Jana,
We are glad to hear your anniversary stay with us was great. We know people like you seek out the "less traveled" but still accomodating places like our Inn. Hopefully, we will see you folks again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K D H
Manlius, New York
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tiny, Romantic, Paradise”
Reviewed 10 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Pronounce Yao-Valley. Finding it is easy, once you know how. Simple, direct route from airport, but entrance is somewhat hidden . Look for #80 on right — recommend arrival before dark. Property is gated, owner will email/text you the digital code. Driveway, go extremely slow, is combination concrete and dirt road; somewhat narrow.
Once you arrive, you’re in a garden paradise, next to river/waterfalls. Stay in cottage is very private — lanai with view, grass area also for sitting. Hosts are accommodating, but respectful of your privacy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Dec 2017
Aloha Kathleen,

We are so glad you enjoyed our little paradise within paradise. We know you had other options for accommdations so we are glad you found us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gamez2017
Orange County, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful Hawaiian Getaway!”
Reviewed 10 October 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and our two kids thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Tamara's and Bob's Private Cottage and Gazebo. The property is quaint and peaceful. My kids especially enjoyed their privacy in the Gazebo, the natural waterfall steps away from their doorstep, exploring nature on the property, and catching geckos. My husband and I enjoyed a cup of coffee next to the waterfall and/or porch every morning and the quietness of the property. The owners Tamara and Bob were incredibly friendly and kind. Due to a morning excursion, we needed layers of jackets. Without hesitation, Tamara let use borrow theirs...that was very nice of her!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
Aloha Veronica,
Thank you taking the time to offer a review. We know once our guest are back home in work mode, priorities quickly shift. We are glad the whole family had reasons to enjoy our little Inn. Take care!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy C
Boise
1 review
“Peaceful delight!”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is the perfect piece of paradise. Secluded, yet within easy access to most of the island. Once you turn up Iao Valley Road, it's like you entered another world. We couldn't believe how relaxing and beautiful the location and cottage were. Instant happiness! We loved being away from the typical tourist lodgings and noise. This place is awesome! Falling asleep to the frogs croaking and the sound of the waterfall, waking up to the birds singing...no words really describe it. The hosts, Tamara and Bob, were super nice and helpful. They have lived on the property for many years and provide a wealth of information for the asking. So glad we found this place. You won't be disappointed. Be sure to look for Bow!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Oct 2017
Aloha Cindy,
We are certainly not the typical hotel or apartment accomodation, but we understand why visitors are attracted to those as well. When we travel ourselves, we avail ourselves to what suits our travel goals, so luckily, Maui offers a variety as well. Hope to see you folks again!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, BC
Reviewed 30 June 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brenda B
Limerick, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Tropical Getaway”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I cannot say enough about how wonderful our stay was at the Iao Valley Inn cottage. What gem!! We loved the seclusion, quiet, privacy, and tropical location. The cottage is fully equipped for all of your needs. Lovely tropical furnishings include a king size bed. The patio or lanai is covered and has comfortable outdoor seating and dining table. Perfect for enjoying the tropical setting and the lovely sound of the waterfall. Yes, there is a waterfall on the property as the Iao Valley stream runs thru the property. A real bonus. In addition to the cottage, there is a small detached gazebo which comes rented with the cottage and has been turned into a lovely bedroom. We never wanted to leave the premises, it was so lovely. However, when we did, it was only a short 10 minute ride into Kahalui and the airport was no more than 15 minutes away. We found the location was perfect for touring the Hana side of the island as well as upcountry and Haleakala. If you seek a place that allows you to experience the real Hawaii this cottage is certainly it. Hosts Bob and Tamara could not be more genuine and helpful. Highly recommended. A real value for the price.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Privacy, seclusion, tropical setting.
Liked least: There wasn't anything we disliked!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing