We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable little b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono
Ranked #1 of 4 Wailuku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We stayed at the Old Wailuku for 2 nights during our honeymoon. We stayed there to be closer to the town of Wailuku and also to be closer to the Haleakala crater. When we arrived at the inn we were a bit concerned as we did not know quite what to do and there were no people. However, once we figured it out, we got our keys and our adorable 2nd floor room. The stairs were a bit steep, but we managed to drag our luggage up. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in.
We got up very early the next morning to see the sunrise at Haleakala and returned in time for a WONDERFUL breakfast. They accomodated all of our dietery requests and were very nice. The next morning we had to have breakfast earlier than the serving time and they provided a delightful "continental" breakfast which was better than most regular breakfasts!!
The guests at this hotel were very diverse and it was fun to get to know them. The inn does not have large grounds and isn't somewhere we would have stayed more than 2 nights. That said, we are glad that we stayed there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mainash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2008

This B&B is great. The lady who ran it was super nice. The food was excellent and they had all the little details like beach towels (even though they aren't even on a beach), coolers, ice packs and beach mats. Its a great location for coming off a plane - since its so close to the airport - and its also a good home base. It's not a luxury hotel, but if you like b&b's this is a great idea.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
1  Thank rockohorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

Having stayed on the beaches on all of our other trips to Maui, on this trip we decided to include adding a stay in central Maui to extend our trip so we could conveniently visit other areas of the island. The Old Wailuku Inn fit the bill for location and we were pleasantly surprised to find the property so lovely and the service so gracious. Our room, the Mokihana was homey, large and well-appointed with a king-bed and a large bath with whirlpool tub and shower combination. The bath amenities were Aveda items and Maui-made soaps, along with plush towels. Breakfasts were creative and the presentations showed special care was taken to impress. Janice and Tom obviously try to think of everything their guests might need and make beach towels and straw mats available for their use and have snacks and cold drinks available too, along with an assortment of gourmet teas throughout the day. Local information is available and CDs to accompany you on a trip to Hana makes a world of difference. The house is in the historic area of Wailuku, a little close to the highway, but the noise isn't too bad, actually. The windows are well clad and each room has air-conditioning controls so you can close them at night. We slept soundly. We enjoyed the restaurants in town. There are casual options with really good food at good prices. The inn has menus for you to peruse and we also found reviews on TripAdvisor. We would return here on our next trip to Maui.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank topromer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

Just arrived home after an enjoyable 4-night stay at Old Wailuku Inn, Maui. Our innkeepers, Janice and Tom Fairbanks, were quite cordial and friendly. Their daughter helped with the delicious breakfasts and to tidy the rooms. This is a real homey place where you feel like a local. The house is roomy and well-appointed with period antiques. The rooms are large and clean, with comfortable beds. Bathroom was especially nice for an older house. Old Wailuku Inn is centrally located on Maui. Breakfast menu was creative and well presented, served in a fashion that promoted friendly interaction between guests.
Overall, a very pleasant visit.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank styme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2008

My husband and I just arrived back to Oregon and are ready to go back to the Old Wailuku Inn already! It was nice to be away from all the hub-bub of the beaches in the evening and morning hours. The staff did a good job of being polite, warm and not too intrusive. We normally would not stay at a B&B, but this is the kind of place that may change the way we plan future vacations. The breakfasts were great and the place was quiet. We stayed in the Ilima room, just big enough for two people. Very clean, nothing bad to say at all. We would go back for sure, maybe getting the next biggest room. You'll feel like you're at home here- or at least the home of a relative!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n_munson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2008

We've stayed here many times and each time we are impressed with the caring detail that goes into the place. I don't know when we started staying here, but most recently in December 2007.

Sumptious breakfasts, beautiful home like rooms, rich gardens and almost always interesting peple at breakfast.

Stayed: January 2004
2  Thank KoaliRanchCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2007

My wife and I loved this place. An old converted home with beautiful dining room, sitting room, back yard. Rooms were large and nicely appointed; our bathroom was almost as big with dressing table, stall shower, and jacuzzi tub big enough for two. Staff was extremely friendly and accomodating; they provided special food for our vegetarian diet and my partner's food allergies. Located centrally in Maui so every area could be reached by car in 30 minutes to an hour.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rorschachteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wailuku
11.6 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
2,170 reviews
8.3 mi away
Paia Inn
Paia Inn
#1 of 1 in Paia
762 reviews
12.6 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
The Plantation Inn
The Plantation Inn
#1 of 11 in Lahaina
466 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ho'oilo House
Ho'oilo House
#2 of 11 in Lahaina
361 reviews
11.6 mi away
Maui Guest House
Maui Guest House
#3 of 11 in Lahaina
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono

Address: 2199 Kahookele St, Wailuku, Maui, HI 96793-2130
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Wailuku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wailuku
Price Range: £159 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maui's historic Inn. Down to the smallest detail, it represents 1920s Hawaii at its best, intertwined with the conveniences and luxuries the modern travelers expect. Located in the heart of Maui - short drive to beautiful beaches, lush golf courses, great restaurants, shopping centers, and most major visitor attractions. Ten minutes from Kahului Airport. Amenities include: All private Baths, daily maid service, daily changing full two course gourmet breakfast, free wifi, complimentary Parking onsite, no resort fees ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Wailuku Inn At Ulupono Hotel Wailuku
Old Wailuku Inn At Ulupono Maui, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing