We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great crispy manju” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Maid Bakery

Home Maid Bakery
Ranked #2 of 5 Bakeries in Wailuku
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Breakfast, Takeout
honolulu
Level Contributor
173 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“great crispy manju”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

the only thing I get here is their crispy manju. think crispy, flaky layers of goodness with a surprise filling. traditional flavors are sweet beans but my favorites are peanut butter, chocolate, and coconut. they also have sweet potato, apple, peach and pineapple. its the only thing I bring back from Maui for family and friends.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank koabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ono food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Their doughnuts is awesome. Always brings back childhood memories. Their service was awesome. Never seem to have to wait long for anything. LOVE IT!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StayRooted808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Malasadas good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

We tried the Kihei location. I didn't see any pastries that are described at the other locations. Bummer.

I was dying to have malasadas again as it's been a decade since I've last had them. They just don't taste like I remember them. But they were good. They are fried donuts. You can get them lightly dusted with sugar and you can get them filled with custard. I did enjoy the custard ones.

For the heck of it, I tried their breakfast. Very inexpensive. Came with eggs, rice , hashbrowns and toast. (carbs, carbs and more carbs!). I chose portuguese sausage. The breakfast was meh. the sausage was very reminiscent of fried spam. But if you love spam, you might love the sausage. I guess I expected something different.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mswendymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What's The Fuss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

Stopped here after visiting the Iao Needle since the bakery was written up in Sunset. Tried the Malasada and the Spam musubi. Both utterly over-rated and forgettable. Should have tried Sam Sato for the noodles. Next time.

Helpful?
Thank Westcoastboy181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, ID
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rodents!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

We pride ourselves on finding out of the way places where locals go. We went here to get fresh malasadas and while we were waiting for our order a large rat ran in by the counter and then back into the kitchen area. I know the lady at the counter saw it and didn't say a thing. They have two other locations that are newer that might be rodent-free and the baked goods looked yummy but we lost our appetite when Ratatouille waltzed through.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MasterPlanner14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Home Maid Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Home Maid Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing