We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returning to Paradise”
Review of Puu o Hoku Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaunakakai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Puu o Hoku Ranch
Reviewed 8 July 2013

For Mother's Day, my daughter and I returned to the Ranch. This was daughter's first trip to Molokai in 32 years. I had to show her the true "aloha" by treating her to a week at the Sunrise cottage. I had stayed at the Grove cottage and now I was amazed by the true overall beauty of the Pu'u O Hloku. We had the most restful time at our cottage even with a few days of heavy rains...pure beauty of nature. Keala was such a gracious hostess and took great care of us .After a full week ...I am ready to move to Molokai.....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alohaturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

Stayed here for a workshop. I was completely spoiled by how first class this is. It has several cottages and a main house. This is a true ranch and it encompasses all of the eastern side of Moloka'i. There is no public transportation on Moloka'i so unless you are with a group, a rental vehicle is required. Halawa valley is just a little ways away and Jan the manager is very helpful and will give you all the info on the ranch and where to go. She's busy because it is a ranch, but definately wants you to have the best time possible. Animals all over., you might even get greeted by Crebbie the deer. Food is so great cause it's all from there. Papaya was awesome. The rooms are all very clean. It's just a pleasant and wholesome place and they are very conscious of the island's desire to stay Moloka'i and not be a resort riddled place. If you go to Moloka'i, put on the aloha spirit and relax and be slow. Don't expect to see everything your first time. Just enjoy taking time to see some of Moloka'i and Pu'u o Hoku Ranch is a great place to start!

Room Tip: Be aware that the roads are only two lane and some of the sights are on a one lane road. Expect to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

In February of 2013 we discovered a magical place with some of the most spectacular scenery in the world. It is so far off the trampled tourist trail that very few people know about it. My husband and I have been to Hawaii countless times, and visited all the islands, but only found the ranch this year, when we attended a conference held there.

The Pu’u O Hoku covers the eastern tip of Molokai. Pu’u O Hoku means “hill of stars.” One look up at the blazing night sky and the arc of the Milky Way explains the name. The ranch encompasses one of the most sacred spots in Hawaii, where a renowned sorcerer held classes in a grove.
A working, organic cattle ranch, it hosts select conferences, family gatherings, and couples or individuals who seek a base from which to hike to secluded, dramatic waterfalls; surf or swim at uncrowded beaches; ride horses; or just unwind. The ranche’s mission is sustainability, ecological farming, and cultural preservation.

Our room in the Grove Cottage was crisply clean and simply furnished. The staff at the lodge was welcoming, and helpful in arranging local activities and contacts. The food was healthy and delicious.

The Pu’u O Hoku is the real Hawaii, a Hawaii that is slipping away: dirt roads instead of Gucci shops, endangered nene geese instead of Hilo Hattie. We strongly recommend the experience.

Room Tip: View the ranch's website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank belletrist007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Three friends and I went to the ranch for 2 nights...not enough! I have lived on Maui for 43 years and I have seen so much unwanted growth. The ranch is a perfect place to turn back the clocks to old Hawaii. The cottage was awesome....and the staff at the ranch was true "Aloha". I loved it so much that my daughter who now lives in California and I are heading back for a full week of peace and quiet. Puu o Hoku is no ka oi!! Mahalo nui loa.....

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alohaturtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

My husband and grown son stayed in the Sunrise Cabin at the Puu O Hoku Ranch on a recent vacation to Hawaii. The cabin is private and has two bedrooms, each with its own bath. The main living area - combined full kitchen, dining room, and living room - is spacious and has views all the way to the ocean. We got up each morning to see the sunrise, which was colorful and picturesque. We ran along the jeep trails on the ranch or down the road to Halawa Bay in the mornings, and marveled at the stars at night. The lack of wifi at the cabin allowed us to connect to each other - we cooked together in the evenings (got steaks and fruits/veggies from the ranch - the apple bananas are delicious) and played cards, and talked. On our hikes and runs we saw nene, axis deer, and whales near shore in the ocean. Just a few tips if you're thinking about staying here:
* It can be cool in the evening (at least in the winter), so bring a sweatshirt to wear if you tend to get cold.
* The last 8-10 miles of the road to the ranch is one-lane with hairpin turns - so be prepared. It takes about an hour to get to the ranch from Kaunakakai (the main town on the island).
* We didn't walk up and look at the lodge until our last day there, so didn't realize that there was a swimming pool - we wish we had done that sooner so we could have done a little swimming on the days we stayed at the ranch.
* The ranch no longer offers horseback rides - so don't plan to go riding here.

Molokai is extremely laid back and quiet - but we had a wonderful time exploring the beaches, snorkeling the fringing reef, and taking in all of the experiences that the island offers. We highly recommend it!

Room Tip: The Sunrise Cabin can't be beat for privacy and views and spaciousness!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank idria50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PuuOHoku, Public Relations Manager at Puu o Hoku Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

So glad you had a good time! We're hoping to offer horseback riding again soon, so maybe on a future visit you can enjoy a ride!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Ready to go back again to this wonderful up-country retreat, that is close to beaches but secluded. Cool, but there is a private pool and exercise platform on the property. You really do need to like to cook for yourself (there are barbecue options for the organic beef from the ranch!), but for my third accommodation on this little "Old-time Hawaiian isle," I strngly suggest staying here so that it will continue to be available for many years to come. I'm planning my return trip already and with more friends in tow.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LiveAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2006

My friends and I visited the Puu o Hoku Ranch near the Halawa Falls on Molokai in May 2006. We did not stay in the lodge but went for a great 2 hour horse back ride on the Ranch Property. The ranch is at the far eastern end of Molokai and it is upland, that is to say that it overlooks the water and it is not beachy. The property is grassy and has pine forest nearby. It is also has a cool breeze because it is well above sea level.

The ride was wonderful and highly recommended. Beautiful views of the Halawa Falls from above the Halawa Valley. Beautiful well mannered horses, nice tack, and a great guide, Barney. Barney is a soft spoken Molokai Man who really enjoyed being on his horse, he cowboys 40 hours a week! This is a working ranch and the ride was a sidelight for him. He seemed to enjoy taking us, answering our questions, and showing us a few roping tricks. We saw axis deer on the ride and a wide variety of trees and flowers that grow in the uplands.

This ride was very well worth the cost and they take charge cards! There were just the 4 of us, no nose to tail, and I am sure that you can go as fast or as slow as you like. Just ask. The land is beautiful for a good canter or gallop 4 abreast. There are other rides available, down to the ocean side for a swim with the horses however, we did not do that.

As a footnote, the ranch gave us permission slips and a map to hike the Halawa Falls. If we would have gone with the local guide it would have cost $75/person!

A great experiecne that no one should miss who journey's to Molokai

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank manon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
8 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
548 reviews
4.7 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#1 of 3 in Kaunakakai
21 reviews
24.1 mi away
Ke Nani Kai
Ke Nani Kai
#1 of 3 in Maunaloa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores Resort
25.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puu o Hoku Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puu o Hoku Ranch

Address: PO Box 1889, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748-1889
Region: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kaunakakai
Price Range: £56 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pu'u O Hoku Ranch is a family-owned biodynamic and organic ranch and farm, rustic retreat center, and vacation getaway on the remote and tranquil east end of Molokai, Hawaii. “Pu'u O Hoku” is true to its Hawaiian name— “Hill of Stars”—surrounded by thousands of acres of protected land, immersed in the transcendent beauty of forest, sky and ocean.Pu'u O Hoku offers several options for accommodations—all of them beautiful buildings built in the 1930s in classic Hawaiian ranch style, furnished with Balinese and Hawaiian wood and textiles, and just a two mile drive to the black-sand beaches of Halawa valley. All of the accommodations feature sweeping views of the tropical landscape, ocean and Maui. Independent travelers and families can choose between our one, two, and four bedroom cottages. For retreats or family/class/group reunions, we offer accomodation that can sleep 22 - 34, with a pool and yoga deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Puu o Hoku Ranch Molokai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing