We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Molokai”
Review of Hotel Molokai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Molokai
Ranked #1 of 4 Kaunakakai B&B and Inns
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magical Molokai”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We had such a wonderful and relaxing time here, our garden view room was surrounded by a beautiful Ulu (breadfruit) tree, and brightly colored plumeria and bougainvillea trees. The restaurant was nice and located right on the water so we had a great view of the bay and of other Islands. We were always treated with so much aloha and all of the staff was very helpful and friendly. Our two daughters (18 months and 3 years old) had a great time too, swimming in the pool, picking flowers, playing on the grass, and checking out the crabs on the beach. We really enjoyed the live music on Friday and Saturday night, and sat on the beach at night and watched the moon sparkle on the water. It was magical, and what was nice is that we felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. It was very uncrowded. There is no AC but leaving the windows and doors open let a nice breeze in and there is a fan along with floor tile to keep things cooler. Our room was clean and updated, with free wifi, a mini refrigerator, cable tv, and a double bed. The hotel is older but taken care of and has a vintage Hawaii feel to it-we loved it. We weren't in our room very much because there is so much to see and do around the Island, but it was truly a great experience!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MakaiSurf808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you so much for posting a review. we are happy that your family truly enjoyed their stay on the island at the the property. We look forward to your next visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    180
    91
    41
    43
See reviews for
80
247
42
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Hotel Molokai is throwback to the old Hawaii with a warmth and charm I have never seen anywhere else on the planet. It's not just the hotel... It's the Molokai people. They make you feel at home here. This is the place to come to if you want to get away from it all.

You won't find spring break, casinos, nightlife etc here. What you get is much more valuable. There is an island beauty and a hospitality that is unspoiled and second to none. The rooms are airy and comfortable. The restaurant is located just inches from the water and there is no such thing as a bad seat. The entertainment is very good too.

There is so much to see here so take a week here. However if you only have a day or three don't miss out on a chance to come here.

Room Tip: Just let the staff know what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoganLeChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you so much for posting a review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Molokai is truly a magical place and we are happy that your first experience was a great one. We hope to see you again on your next visit ot Hawaii. Until then, Be Well....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoolehua, Hawaii, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

The one thing I encountered the most had to be the awesome customer service among all staff and all with bright smiles along with the welcoming atmosphere. Special thanks to Amanda, Sumu, Carolyn, Alvin and Aunty Omi. These employees made my stay a wonderful and unforgettable experience. Mahalo and Aloha!

Room Tip: The ocean view south of the restaurant is the best view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review from your most recent stay. I have shared your comments with the entire staff and they were all happy that you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

The staff at the Hotel Molokai were friendly and helpful. The accommodations were sufficient and comfortable. The restaurant and lounge were excellent. The weekend entertainment was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lenwoody44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your review about your most recent stay. Glad to learn that you enoyed your stay.

Hope to see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sutter creek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Here to visit my mother/family homeland. Molokai Hotel customer service was excellent. Rooms were clean, King bed was comfy, was nice to have table and chairs on balcony. Open air walls above gave a wonderful evening breeze, though outside light and roosters brought morning earier than expected.(rm 211 our upper windows were just screen and latice) Kitchenette was a plus, with coffeepot/toaster, utensils/plates. Outside grounds were very neat and clean, pool and hammocks to lolly in. Food in resturant was super, entertainment was great! Yes, some updates may be needed, but its all you really need, and Hotel Molokai is located near town. Really no beach access, but just a short walk or drive. This island is still very natural and laid back so dont expect Las Vegas.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for your review. Molokai is truly a hiden gem. See on your next trip to your family homeland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

My boyfriend and I could not have asked for more attentive service - especially from the general manager, Michael. Any concern, no matter how small or large, was seen to quickly and promptly and we felt totally pampered. He was so nice we honestly thought there must be a catch! (There wasn't!).

Gene, the head chef, was also extremely accommodating and we enjoyed many awesome meals there - including the pancakes and french toast for breakfast and this amazing shrimp salad with wasabi dressing. We loved the cocktails and the great entertainment.

It was a very social place if you wanted it to be, but also is quiet if that's the way you roll. We made lots of friends and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. A lot of locals come here too, so you really get a local feel - no tourist crap here!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 215 (?) which had a large mezzanine ceiling and some view of the ocean from the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
TJ and Ted...Thank you for your review. I am happy that you both truly enjoyed your stay. See you soon and until then...be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We only stayed at Aqua Hotel for one night which meant that we did not have the opportunity to explore the beautiful island of Molokai.

The hotel has a great location and offers a panoramic view, relaxing atmosphere and a good restaurant. The rooms though are in need of a minor update (bathroom) and better cleaning in order to get a higher ranking.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank your for your feedback. feedback such as yours can only help us improve on our service. we appreciated your visit and we hope to see you soon for more than just one night in order to truly explore and enjoyed Molokai.

See you then
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
22.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
481 reviews
17.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
22.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#13 of 32 in Lahaina
4,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.0 mi away
Napili Shores Maui by Outrigger
0.5 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores Resort
24.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molokai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molokai

Property: Hotel Molokai
Address: 1300 Kamehameha V Hwy, P.O. Box 1020, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748-4021
Region: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kaunakakai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Molokai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an authentic Hawaiian experience at our resort, located on Kamiloloa Beach adjacent to Hawaii's only barrier reef. Our Ocean front resort offers the ideal setting for your authentic Hawaiian experience. Join us every Friday for our "Aloha Friday" sunset celebration from 4pm-6pm Oceanside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Molokai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Molokai Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing