We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special gem”
Review of Hotel Molokai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Molokai
Ranked #1 of 4 Kaunakakai B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A special gem”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Hotel Molokai is a special place that doesn't feel like any other hotel or resort. Just like the island itself, its got its own unique character that is charming, laid back, peaceful, with quaint aesthetics while still being clean, with king beds and all the amenities you need, and top-notch in service. It is very private, in the sense that you have your own cute bungalow, but also generates a community/neighborhood sort of vibe because its a pretty small place and all the staff and fellow travelers are really friendly and laid back with many happenstance conversations occurring at the bar/pool area or in the open-air lobby. There is none of the BS extra fees and long list of policies of many of the other Hawaii hotels--internet, parking, snorkel, beach chairs, and towels are all included, and they will go the extra mile to make you happy. For us, they moved our room so we could have a better view and allowed us a late check out until our flight, amongst other things. Michael, the GM, makes himself readily available to all guests both through a Monday meet and greet (with free drinks!) and through informal socializing, and he's really terrific. He even spontaneously hosted a New Years Eve party by the pool when us and a few other guests expressed interest. He really wants all his guests to have a great time. Like others have posted, we definitely recommend the Friday night music performance by the "elders" on the island. Best to get a room with a kitchenette because food options are limited in town and close early. True that the beach is not really swimmable but the good news is that the sunsets in front of the hotel are beautiful and there are ample beaches to choose from on the island that are close by.

Also a word on Molokai itself--we were somewhat dubious about visiting Molokai when many people on other islands warned us that there was only a day's worth of things to do and that it was very rural. It turned out that Molokai was our favorite part of our multi-island trip. It is a place frozen in time, locals are exceedingly friendly and eager to share aspects of Hawaiian culture and tradition, and there are so many extraordinary places to explore that we easily filled up a week and regrettably didn't get to everything we wanted to do. Definitely recommend the Kalaupapa peninsula visit (we hiked and it was great) and the Western beaches. Also very worthwhile to visit the Kamakou forest reserve if you have a jeep and are comfortable driving on tough roads. If you need nightlife, shopping, and lots of tourist facilities this might not be the right place for you, but if you like an off the beaten path adventure, come to Molokai and stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dllikestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Aloha Deborah, I am so pleased to read this review – thank you! Your kind comments about the service and the property itself are very much appreciated.

I feel that Molokai is a special place and am happy to hear that you do as well.

We sincerely hope to see you again!

Mahalo,
Michael Drew, General Manager
Phone: 808.553.5347 x 3398
Email: Mdrew@hotelmolokai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    177
    91
    41
    43
See reviews for
79
246
41
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Lovely location and great hotel atmosphere, super friendly. Do not miss the Friday night local entertainment at the ocean front bar. The staff is incredible. Once the restaurant will re open it will be even better.

Room Tip: The upstairs have kitchenettes. Rooms are a bit pricey considering there is no beach in front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusanneDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Aloha Susanne,

Your comments are greatly appreciated and our staff will be happy to hear your compliments about them! I’m glad that you enjoyed the entertainment on Friday at the bar – I’ll be sure to let them know.

Mahalo,
Michael Drew, General Manager
Phone: 808.553.5347 x 3398
Email: mdrew@hotelmolokai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfungstadt, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed two days at Hotel Molokai in a second floor room with a kitchenette and lovely spacious balcony - room# 204.

There was no a/c but you don´t need one due to the open construction and the slight breeze.

Before we arrived we were curious about possible noise because we read about "earplugs in every room". And now room# 204. Next to Kamehameha V Hwy. But it turned out we didn´t need them at all. Blame it on the really good cocktails from Hotel Molokai´s cocktail bar or on the packed day-action - After a sundowner on the beautiful lanai we fell asleep instantly. Thanks for the earplugs anyway but we didn´t need them.

Next point: noise of chicken. Well.... we used to live in a rural region of Germany, maybe we are used to the morning sound of these cute little guys but we didn´t feel this to be disturbing for us.

The kitchenette was well equipped and the bed was very comfy what might have helped to switch off possible noise.

The room was very spacious (4-person-room) and we really liked the high ceiling, the extraordinary architecture of this second-floor room. There was a flat-screen-TV as well but we didn´t use it.

Unfortunately the restaurant was still closed due to renovation but they served snacks in the bar area (did I mention the very good cocktails?).

Last but really not least, both thumbs up for the staff - at the front desk, at the bar, you name it. Very helpful and friendly (e.g. we changed our first level room to the second level unit upon arrival without any problems but with very nice assistance) - and finally this is a big point in leaving a positive impression.

Would I come back? YES!
Would I recommend Hotel Molokai? Yes, for sure!

Mahalo!

Room Tip: Try to get a second-floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pea-nui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your visit with us! I’m happy to hear that you had an enjoyable time and enjoyed everything from the lanai and cocktails to the guestroom itself. I’ll definitely pass along your comments to our staff regarding the helpful and friendly service you experienced.

I hope that you’ll visit us again soon and have the opportunity to experience the restaurant once it’s reopened.

Mahalo,
Michael Drew, General Manager
Phone: 808.553.5347 x 3398
Email: mailto:mdrew@hotelmolokai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My wife and I had one of the best vacations of our lives at Hotel Moloka'i! It was not just that the hotel is located in paradise, but the staff and people made us feel like family. The staff was always helpful for all of our needs and anything we asked about, they took care of right away. The grounds are very well maintained and the rooms were very clean. Tylor made the best drinks at the bar, where we had some of the funnest times with other guests, employees, and local patrons. Tylor even took us hiking on his day off and William Jr. gave us tangerines for the hike; we had so much fun! Overall, the manager Michael treated us better than any GM at a hotel has before. He runs a great place with excellent employees, such as Tylor, William Jr, Pua, David, Buddy, Fumiko, Shantell, Ted, Whitney, and Jaymi, who were wonderful people that we loved spending the week with. We hope we make it back here again in the future to experience the Aloha of the Hotel, staff, and island!

Bottom Line: This is not a Sandals or Wyndham resort type of place. It is a quaint place located in paradise that offers really special service. That said, you may see insects, you may sweat with no AC and only a fan, they may not have your specific item, but they seem to always go above and beyond to accommodate guests' needs as best as possible. It may be noisy because the neighboring property has chickens (as many on the island do), or because the walls and ceilings are not insulated (it's Hawaii, why would they be?), but they put earplugs in the room. This is the place to meet wonderful people, relax, and get away from the commercial consumerism of fast food, traffic jams, and big box stores on every corner.

Room Tip: Rooms are simple and clean. Some rooms have AC, but most don't. Second floor rooms are more priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brock S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Aloha Brock and Sara!!!

Greetings from Molokai!! Thank you so very much for posting a review. We are delighted that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your review with the entire staff and we are looking forward to welcome you back in the very near future. Until then...be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed in the Hotel Molokai for New Year. The Hotel is very nice. It looks like a tiny resort, and the staff is very kind, and are always eager to help you to have a good experience. Hotel Molokai is located in Molokai's 460 HWY and if your room is in the outside part it can be a little bit noisy. Rooms don't have AC, but a fan is provided and works pretty well. Complimentary shampoo, conditioner, gel and soap are good quality and smell really good. The hotel provides continental breakfast with amazing papaya and bakery. Wifi works really well, and the Hotel provides complimentary beach towels, snorkel gear, and coffee. We also had a minibar. It is good to store some munchies since the town is really small and everything closes around 8 pm. Unfortunately, the Hotel Molokai do not have a nice beach, so if you want to lie on the sand, you better look for beaches farther east.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the Highway. If you are in the ground floor of a two-floor cabin you will he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chili2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you truly enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloy, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The overall impression upon arriving was very positive. The staff was very pleasant and quickly completed the registration. We were informed of daily events as well as a special Friday evening activity. One of the staff walked us to our room and we couldn't help but notice how well the grounds were maintained. We were somewhat disappointed in our room as it was very dark with only one lamp in the main room but did appear quite clean. We had read the Trip Advisor reviews so were aware of the roosters we would hear in the morning. We were, however, not prepared to hear cleaning carts moving about prior to 8:00. While there were many positives, I believe there is room for improvement.

Room Tip: The rooms located on the second level have air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Aloha,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to post a review. Please know that your feedback is very important to us. We will utilize your feedback by continuing to make every guest experience the best it can be. Thanks again for taking the time the post a review and we hope to be of service to you in the future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

The Hotel Molokai is just about the only hotel on the island of Molokai, so if you are planning to visit this beautiful, largely undeveloped island, this is the only choice. Fortunately, while far from luxurious, it is a decent hotel, its rooms housed in charming 4-unit cedar-roofed buildings that dot its location on the water facing the island of Maui.

At the time of our visit the roofs of the hotel's two-story steep-roofed structures appeared to be in a state of deferred maintenance, and in obvious need of replacement. Attractively updated, the rooms are not large, but acceptable, with Queen beds dressed attractively in white bedding. Each room has a small fridge, and there is a pleasant, small outdoor sitting area for use when the weather isn't too warm or humid.

The hotel in late 2013 was without a restaurant due to a fire, and there was no indication when it would be replaced. But the outdoor bar is an extremely attractive place to gather for drinks, situated adjacent to the hotel's swimming pool and ocean view. Many locals frequent the bar, which frequently hosts local Hawaiian musicians. Sunsets can be spectacular.

While the hotel is well run, management is not overly solicitous, but helpful. A continental breakfast is provided, mainly freshly brewed coffee and pastries from local bakeries and perhaps seasonal fruit. Guests desiring anything more elaborate must venture out to local eateries, of which there only a few.

Both mountain and road bicycles can be rented at a reasonable rate in the parking lot.

Room Tip: None of the rooms appear to have ocean views, but any room not located on the highway side would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel98103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hotel Molokai, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit. we certainly appreciate your feedback and happy to announce that we are in the early stages of replacing of cedar shake roofs and having our restaurant rebuilt.
Thanks again, and we hope to be of service to you in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
22.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
470 reviews
17.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
22.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lahaina
4,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores
Castle Molokai Shores
#3 of 3 in Kaunakakai
119 reviews
24.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
334 reviews
10.2 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#1 of 3 in Kaunakakai
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molokai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molokai

Property: Hotel Molokai
Address: 1300 Kamehameha V Hwy, P.O. Box 1020, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748-4021
Region: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kaunakakai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Molokai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an authentic Hawaiian experience at our resort, located on Kamiloloa Beach adjacent to Hawaii's only barrier reef. Our Ocean front resort offers the ideal setting for your authentic Hawaiian experience. Join us every Friday for our "Aloha Friday" sunset celebration from 4pm-6pm Oceanside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Molokai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Molokai Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing