We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for sleepers, for loud drinkers”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Molokai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Molokai
Ranked #1 of 4 Kaunakakai B&B and Inns
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not for sleepers, for loud drinkers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

This is our 2nd visit to Hotel Molokai. We were there in March of 2006. We are members of the Travel Advantage Network (TAN) who owns the hotel. We had hoped that things had improved since the renovations they had done but it is as loud as before. We wish we had not wasted another week visiting.

The main problem is the noise. We talked to some people who said their units were not noisy, but our unit 208, night or day sounded like we had people or music amplified into it. Although the music does end at 10:00 PM (an improvement over 2006) there is no enforcement of quiet time. People hang out at the bar after it closes and continue to talk or yell. The worst night was Friday. The people in the unit behind us sat on their lanai listening to the band and drinking. They were yelling and singing along to the songs as if they were in the bar. They kept us up until 2:00 AM. We knew there was no point in calling management from what we observed.

We were also treated very rudely by the receptionist in the restaurant. We called from the mainland to secure our reservation in the restaurant on Christmas day. When we got there, no one had bother to write it down and the receptionist was not nice about trying to find us seating . She gave the locals all the best tables and placed the hotel guests at the worst tables.

TAN has upgraded the rooms nicely. The beds are very nice and the appliances are modernized. The addition of a large entertainment cabinet in front of the lanai, however, was unsightly. Also, painting the natural Hawaiian wood beige took away from the Polynesian charm of the units.

The ladies at the front desk Carolyn and Jackie are wonderful. They were the highlight of our stay as well as the excellent cleaning staff. You get the impression that some employees never expect you to come back again so they don't care about making the customer happy. We made a mistake coming back and expecting better.

  • Liked — Carolyn and Jackie and housekeeping, views
  • Disliked — Bar and restaurant noise
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelHomemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    173
    87
    41
    43
See reviews for
75
243
41
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
173 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2008

You're either going to love Molokai or you're going to hate Molokai. If you looking for an active night life, shopping, swim up bars with large slides and the surf crowd from Honolulu, you're not even close. Molokai has no buildings taller than two stories. There are no traffic lights on the entire island. Coming to Molokai is like visiting Hawaii 75 years ago. I come to Molokai every year and I must admit, the first 24-hours I think I am going to lose my mind with nothing to do. Then the reality sets in... "ahhhh... there is nothing that I have to do." No cell phone, no lap top, no office meetings, no traffic, no noise, nothing but the beautiful mountains, the sound of the waves and endless hours to do nothing but explore the island. The Hotel Molokai is the same. It is not your fancy resort that you're going to find on Maui or in Honolulu. It's laid back and has such a charm to it, that it may take a day or two for you to realize how special it is. The food is great. The staff are always fantastic. The entertainment is far above any of the commercial luau's on the other islands. Remember this is Molokai. Life moves at a much slower pace and if you don't move equally as slow, you'll hate your time here. If you looking to get away from people, the noice, the city life and simply let the world pass you by, you're going to love Molokai as well as the Hotel Molokai.

  • Liked — It's away from people, noise and the hustle bustle of the world.
  • Disliked — There are still some people other than myself
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NonnahsS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2008

We spent the better of 2 weeks at Hotel Molokai and just loved the atmosphere and the serenity and peacefulness of the island. This place is for people that just want to get away and are not into the commercialization of the other islands. There are NO TRAFFIC LIGHTS in Molokai!! It is known as the "original Hawaii" and is just simply that. There was entertainment nightly, whether it was a 3 piece band on the stage or 2 ukelele players/singers wandering the restaurant . . . and it was lovely. The bartenders (Bobby, Jeremiah, & Howard) were very accommodating, and the security guy Hans made sure you were comfortable and happy and even played a part in making sure you socialized with others. It was GREAT!
My only complaint was that our king size bed was very worn out. It either needed to be flipped or replaced!! I told the front desk and they will look into it. Others we met did not have bad beds so ours must have just been an isolated situation.
Go to Hotel Molokai and rent a car from there to tour the island. You will LOVE it!
. . . j a n
from Delaware 10/2008

  • Liked — friendliness
  • Disliked — my bed
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank JanBaby43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

Hotel Molokai is actually a condominium complex in which the majority is owned by Hotel Molokai. There are some privately owned units...and these are where you should stay because the owners of these units care about your experience. Our friends stayed in a hotel unit and theirs did not compare to ours. We stayed in a private unit and it was fantastic. This unit had a full size kitchen which is crucial since the attached restaurant isn't good. Our room was spacious (with loft) and was decorated in retro polynesian decor, had free high speed internet and free long distance calls... and was cheaper than what the hotel charges! We also had a grill, a cooler and beach towels, were given free Molokai coffee beans and cool toiletries. Lastly, this unit was OCEANFRONT, literally 15 ft. from the water! I felt bad for our friends who stayed in a room next to the parking lot.

You must bring earplugs as the music played nightly is loud. The beach is not swimmable and the pool is the size of a postage stamp. The hotel seems to be more concerned about making money from the bar /restaurant than offering their guests adequate pool hours. They close the pool (which is located right next to the bar) in the middle of the afternoon for the rest of the day! Ridiculous!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank beverly99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naperville, IL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2008

We just returned from a week at the Hotel Moloka'i and have to agree with a previous reviewer that the hotel is marginal at best. At this writing there is no other hotel open on Moloka'i. The Moloka'i Ranch has closed and the only other alternatives are condos and maybe a B&B or two. Consequently, the hotel seems to be booked full every night.

Besides the ear plugs, you may want to purchase some flying insect killer. Our room had bumble bees that burrowed into the wood planking in the ceiling of the lanai rendering the lanai useless since the bees visited their nest throughout the day. In addition, the screen wall to the lanai had a hole in it. When we brought these deficiencies to the attention of the staff, they suggested that we look at a different room. However, the alternative room had a bigger rip in its screening. (Note: there is no air conditioning and screening makes up the walls at either end of the room.) We asked the hotel staff to notify us if another room became available. However, we were not offered another room during our stay.

Being frustrated, we contacted Travel Advantage Network (TAN) the owner of the hotel and did not receive any response from them directly. A call from the hotel maintenance department suggested that we contact them about the hole in the screening, but not the bees. By that time in the week we were resigned to the fact that we could finish the week in our room. If the hotel did not care about insect damage why should we? We were leaving in two days.

The hotel is a quaint place to visit. Its restaurant is the only restaurant on the island that is on the water. However, please be advised that a stay at Hotel Moloka'i is noisy, the rooms are adequate at best and the staff is not accommodating.

  • Liked — The setting is beautiful.
  • Disliked — The room and the lack of responsibility of the staff in attending to deficiencies in the room.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank route34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2008

Our best friends got married on Molokai on July 11, 2008, and we came to share the event with them. We booked two nights at the Hotel Molokai, as the spectacular Molokai Ranch resort closed earlier in the year.

I must admit there was a certain charm to the architecture of the Hotel Molokai. In fact, it reminded me of a 1950s Disneyland exhibit. We were allowed to check in early and we entered our room. There was new furniture and a reasonably comfortable bed.....and NO AIR CONDITIONING.

Now, the lack of AC is not necessarily a problem for us. There was a large fan mounted on the wall and with the slotted windows open, we could get comfortable enough to sleep....except for one little thing.

I guess the Hotel Molokai is the only place on the island with any nightlife. Every night, they have karaoki or a live band....and the rooms are only a few steps away. So, with no AC, and open windows, and LOUD music and singing.....very little sleeping was going on.

We were still stuck on mainland time, so by 8 or 9 pm, we were exhausted. Fortunately, I happened to have earplugs, so we were able to sleep. Our newlywed friends, however, did not have earplugs, and were very unhappy. The music went on well past midnight.

On our last day at the Hotel Molokai, I detected the overwhelming scent of bug poison. Within minutes, there were 1.5-inch long dying cockroaches in our room and outside on the sidewalk. Dead geckos were seen shortly thereafter.

I wanted to like this hotel for its charming architecture, but I have stayed in nicer Motel 6s and Travelodges. Using the 1-5 dot scale provided by tripadvisor, I sadly give this facility a single dot.

The restaurant was inconsistent. On our first night, we ordered the lillikoi chicken, and it was absolutely FANTASTIC. On our second night, because there isn't a lot of dining choices, we returned to the hotel restaurant. The chicken was so delicious the night before, we decided to order it again, and it was extremely disappointing....with almost no lillikoi sauce and the chicken almost burnt. Also, there were bugs in the restaurant. I won't say what kind, but its not the kind you want to see where you are eating.

You might like this hotel if you don't mind the problems. We will not return, and until another nice hotel opens on this island, we proably will not visit this island again. Which is sad, because it was the most beautiful place I have ever seen.

  • Liked — Interesting architecture
  • Disliked — NOISE NOISE NOISE...also the cockroaches.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Spaceman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

Molokai is what Hawaii used to be - peaceful, slow paced and laid back. That also describes Hotel Molokai. This is an older, nicely kept hotel. If you are looking for an air conditioned resort with white sand beaches, you'll have to look elsewhere. We stayed in one of the garden rooms, which is one of the less expensive rooms, and found it to be adequate. It was small but clean and recently refurbished. Because there is no air conditioning we slept with the windows and sliding door opened, which created a cross breeze and made the room comfortable. We woke up to the sounds of crowing roosters. Fortunately during our stay, neighboring guests were very quiet so having the doors and windows opened at night was not a problem. I can see the potential for problems if we had noisy neighbors and had to keep our door and windows closed all night. A hot night in July would be stifling and the room fan would not be adequate. We ate dinner twice at Hula Shores, the hotel restaurant/bar. The food was OK - however, the waterfront setting along with the nightly entertainment created a wonderful Molokai experience.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no air conditioning
  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kt149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
22.0 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
17.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
22.2 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 32 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores
Castle Molokai Shores
#4 of 4 in Kaunakakai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
24.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
10.2 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#2 of 4 in Kaunakakai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Molokai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Molokai

Property: Hotel Molokai
Address: 1300 Kamehameha V Hwy, P.O. Box 1020, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748-4021
Region: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kaunakakai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Molokai 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an authentic Hawaiian experience at our resort, located on Kamiloloa Beach adjacent to Hawaii's only barrier reef. Our Ocean front resort offers the ideal setting for your authentic Hawaiian experience. Join us every Friday for our "Aloha Friday" sunset celebration from 4pm-6pm Oceanside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Molokai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Molokai Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing