We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect base to explore Molokai”
Review of Ka Hale Mala

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaunakakai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ka Hale Mala
Ranked #3 of 4 Kaunakakai B&B and Inns
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“perfect base to explore Molokai”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This B&B is the perfect base to explore Molokai: centrally located, very spacious, a welcoming host and delicious homecooked breakfast. We stayed here for four nights and received lots of advice on things to do on the island, tips you'll never find in guidebooks! Thanks to Cheryl's handwritten route we managed to reach the amazing "enchanted forest" boardwalk trail in the forest reserve. Would defninitely recommend this accomodation!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leni_bel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    9
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
23
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eugene
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights with Cheryl as an introduction to Molokai. Not only did we receive first rate breakfasts, but lots of interesting conversation and insights into life on Molokai. Following many of her suggestions, we drove to Halawa Bay, swam @ 20 mile beach, met a pet Axis deer, interacted with many gracious islanders, took in a softball game, hiked into the Kalaupapa settlement, and ate @ the Cookhouse on Prime Rib night. Am only sorry the I did not watch our Mocha Mamas (@ Molokai's Coffee Plantation) being made so I could try to reproduce them.
Cheryl symbolizes the warmth & friendliness of this unique Hawaii island. Our apartment was clean, well furnished, and relaxing.
Mahalo

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I really hesitate writing anything on a public forum, my mother always said if you have nothing nice to say then don't say anything at all. However, since I value tripadvisor and other travelers experiences I figured I better speak up. The apartment is not the quiet, clean and comfortable retreat the website leads you to believe. It was very dirty, my husband and I wore socks even to the bathroom. There was a huge bug problem, we had to leave a light in the kitchen on to try and keep the bugs out of the bedroom. The breakfast was not what we had been lead to believe either. Like a later review by surfqueen we found cat hair cooked in our food and even an eyelash. I had a large dead bug come out of the tea pitch and I stopped eating the breakfasts after that experience. We found Cheryl to be rather cold and unaccomadation and made our stay rather uncomfortable. It is not a good place to stay if you want privacy or are traveling with a spouse, as the bedroom has two twin beds that get pushed together. Also important to note that she is unable to accommodate special dietary needs. I do not eat eggs or omlets, after explaining this to Cheryl she still made us egg bake and told me I wouldn't be able to taste the egg.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MNGal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

When we travel, we want to get to know a place. Ka hale mala is a beautiful place to stay, and the breakfasts were delicious, but it was the conversations with Cheryl that helped us to find the insights we were seeking. Wandering around a nighttime downtown eating hot bread fresh from the bakery, challenging ourselves with hiking and swimming, listening to local musicians and watching a 90-year-old woman celebrate her birthday by dancing a graceful hula.. we probably would not have found any of those experiences on our own. Molokai is no longer an abstract place on the map for us. It is 8,000 people living together by their wits and hard work on a remote and beautiful island.

Room Tip: Choose Ka Hale Mala, and you have a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaFromOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Great to come back to after a day of exploring. Cheryl, your host, really tries to give you helpful information for exploring Molokai. This place is a good sized apartment, with a mostly stocked kitchen so that you can cook your own food. Very clean. Bedroom has two beds that can be together or apart depending on the relationship you have with your travel companion. Little outdoor sitting area. Laundry line. Full bath. The only odd thing I found was that the kitchen did not have metal eating cutlery, only plastic. But all other things such as plates, cups, cookware are provided. There are maps and travel guides for the island. The garden has delicious grapefruit and pommelos. There are an additional 2 beds in the living room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Earthy_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Cheryl was a Godsend to us on our vacation. She welcomed us personally at the airport and guided us to her home. After a tour of the accommodations with good tips to best enjoy our stay she gave us all the privacy we needed. She keeps a beautiful home and yard in which we were free to wander about in and always checked up to see how we were doing. After the first cooked breakfast at a time of our choosing we decided to continue dining with her every morning. Our conversations together were very informative. She was well informed about every place we wished to visit on Moloka'i and gave us directions and advice as to how to proceed. She is very active in the politics on Moloka'i and gave us much insight as to the vibe and outlook of Hawaiians on the island. Truly I could not recommend her more especially if this is your first time visiting Moloka'i. Thanks Cheryl, we'll be seeing you again. Mahalo and A huie ho!
Nathan and Ania

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Conveniently located, quiet, clean, affordable and comfortable B & B with a lovely patio garden. the proprietor Cheryl is a great source of information about things to do on Molokai and island politics-better than any guidebook, and goes above and beyond to make sure her guests are taken care of.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
16.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
19.1 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
480 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores Resort
7.3 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#1 of 3 in Kaunakakai
19 reviews
22.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
Four Seasons Resort Lanai
#1 of 3 in Lanai City
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka Hale Mala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka Hale Mala

Property: Ka Hale Mala
Address: 7 Kamakana Pl, P.O. Box 1582, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748-5006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kaunakakai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Ka Hale Mala Molokai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing