We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for the money. Ok place. ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ka Hale Mala

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaunakakai
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ka Hale Mala
Ranked #3 of 4 Kaunakakai B&B and Inns
Macomb, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good for the money. Ok place. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

4 of us stayed here for one night in April. Our host met us at the airport to show us where her B&B was. It was a 15 min drive from the airport. The house is just after mile marker 4. It was on a col de sac with probably 6 other house. One had lots of noise and junk in the yard. But the house has foliage which makes it feel secluded.

After we unloaded our belongings we got an orientation of the island from our host. It was filled with very detailed knowledge of the island like what was open and what times things closed. Who had the best prices for spirits and where everything was in general. It was nice to have that info although it was about an hour to get thru it all.

The house itself could be best described as full of potential. While it was a pretty good size it was lacking in a few areas. It could have used a good cleaning. It was not gross but definitely needed dusted. It also had a the smell of a house that has been shut up for a while. The bathroom could use some sprucing up but did the job. There was a nice patio off the kitchen to sit and relax. We had some drinks at night on it and listened to the animals rustle around. Yes there are lot of animals and bugs around and the animals make noise. There were a few bug in the house but nothing gross.

The breakfast was average but filling. Our host had and egg and veggie bake prepared with papaya, bread, oranges, coffee, and hot tea. There are a couple cats in the upper house where the breakfast is made and I did notice a few floating around as we ate. Breakfast was ready at 7am which was the time we requested and lasted almost an hour. The coffee and tea were good.

The host was very very nice. I think she truly cares about the island of Molokai. Her orientation was very helpful and we were able to better plan our 2 days with her info. Molokai has a different feel and is not geared towards tourism. She encouraged us to take notice of that and enjoy molokai for what it is. She engaged in conversation and shared entertaining stories during breakfast. She let us take her beach towels while snorkeling at the beach.

All in all I would recommend this place under two circumstances. One: you are looking for a cheaper option with less of a hotel feel. It was around $140 for all four of us to stay and eat breakfast. Two: you are staying for just a couple of days. Molokai has limited places to stay and most have 3 night minimum stays. So if you are there for 1 or 2 you even more limited. The one night stay option was nice to have and at half the price of hotel molokai.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank superbird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    9
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

This B&B is the perfect base to explore Molokai: centrally located, very spacious, a welcoming host and delicious homecooked breakfast. We stayed here for four nights and received lots of advice on things to do on the island, tips you'll never find in guidebooks! Thanks to Cheryl's handwritten route we managed to reach the amazing "enchanted forest" boardwalk trail in the forest reserve. Would defninitely recommend this accomodation!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank leni_bel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights with Cheryl as an introduction to Molokai. Not only did we receive first rate breakfasts, but lots of interesting conversation and insights into life on Molokai. Following many of her suggestions, we drove to Halawa Bay, swam @ 20 mile beach, met a pet Axis deer, interacted with many gracious islanders, took in a softball game, hiked into the Kalaupapa settlement, and ate @ the Cookhouse on Prime Rib night. Am only sorry the I did not watch our Mocha Mamas (@ Molokai's Coffee Plantation) being made so I could try to reproduce them.
Cheryl symbolizes the warmth & friendliness of this unique Hawaii island. Our apartment was clean, well furnished, and relaxing.
Mahalo

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

I really hesitate writing anything on a public forum, my mother always said if you have nothing nice to say then don't say anything at all. However, since I value tripadvisor and other travelers experiences I figured I better speak up. The apartment is not the quiet, clean and comfortable retreat the website leads you to believe. It was very dirty, my husband and I wore socks even to the bathroom. There was a huge bug problem, we had to leave a light in the kitchen on to try and keep the bugs out of the bedroom. The breakfast was not what we had been lead to believe either. Like a later review by surfqueen we found cat hair cooked in our food and even an eyelash. I had a large dead bug come out of the tea pitch and I stopped eating the breakfasts after that experience. We found Cheryl to be rather cold and unaccomadation and made our stay rather uncomfortable. It is not a good place to stay if you want privacy or are traveling with a spouse, as the bedroom has two twin beds that get pushed together. Also important to note that she is unable to accommodate special dietary needs. I do not eat eggs or omlets, after explaining this to Cheryl she still made us egg bake and told me I wouldn't be able to taste the egg.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MNGal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

When we travel, we want to get to know a place. Ka hale mala is a beautiful place to stay, and the breakfasts were delicious, but it was the conversations with Cheryl that helped us to find the insights we were seeking. Wandering around a nighttime downtown eating hot bread fresh from the bakery, challenging ourselves with hiking and swimming, listening to local musicians and watching a 90-year-old woman celebrate her birthday by dancing a graceful hula.. we probably would not have found any of those experiences on our own. Molokai is no longer an abstract place on the map for us. It is 8,000 people living together by their wits and hard work on a remote and beautiful island.

Room Tip: Choose Ka Hale Mala, and you have a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaFromOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

Great to come back to after a day of exploring. Cheryl, your host, really tries to give you helpful information for exploring Molokai. This place is a good sized apartment, with a mostly stocked kitchen so that you can cook your own food. Very clean. Bedroom has two beds that can be together or apart depending on the relationship you have with your travel companion. Little outdoor sitting area. Laundry line. Full bath. The only odd thing I found was that the kitchen did not have metal eating cutlery, only plastic. But all other things such as plates, cups, cookware are provided. There are maps and travel guides for the island. The garden has delicious grapefruit and pommelos. There are an additional 2 beds in the living room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Earthy_Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Cheryl was a Godsend to us on our vacation. She welcomed us personally at the airport and guided us to her home. After a tour of the accommodations with good tips to best enjoy our stay she gave us all the privacy we needed. She keeps a beautiful home and yard in which we were free to wander about in and always checked up to see how we were doing. After the first cooked breakfast at a time of our choosing we decided to continue dining with her every morning. Our conversations together were very informative. She was well informed about every place we wished to visit on Moloka'i and gave us directions and advice as to how to proceed. She is very active in the politics on Moloka'i and gave us much insight as to the vibe and outlook of Hawaiians on the island. Truly I could not recommend her more especially if this is your first time visiting Moloka'i. Thanks Cheryl, we'll be seeing you again. Mahalo and A huie ho!
Nathan and Ania

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaunakakai
16.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
19.2 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
19.4 mi away
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
Kaanapali Beach Hotel
#12 of 31 in Lahaina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
3.5 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores
Castle Molokai Shores
#4 of 4 in Kaunakakai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
7.3 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#2 of 4 in Kaunakakai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ka Hale Mala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ka Hale Mala

Property: Ka Hale Mala
Address: 7 Kamakana Pl, P.O. Box 1582, Kaunakakai, Molokai, HI 96748-5006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Kaunakakai
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kaunakakai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Ka Hale Mala Molokai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing