We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to come!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kanemitsu Bakery

Kanemitsu Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Kaunakakai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Well known bakery on Moloka'i island, Hawaii
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
126 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great place to come!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Ordered bread and cookies to take-out. The breads were super fresh and the cookies were delicious. My husband and I had a delicious breakfast here as well. The fried rice and fresh toast were both so yummy! Great place to come!!!
Heard this place makes fresh bread at 10:00 p.m. nightly which you can get in the alleyway, but never tried it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank olollyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    83
    29
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Just back from Moloka'i where we also went to buy bread at 8 p.m. Walking down the alley after dark makes a person hesitate but it was well worth it. Friendly conversation while waiting to be served, friendly help and wonderful bread. We had just eaten at Paddler's so thought we would wait until morning to eat the cinnamon & butter loaf but on our way back to the west end we couldn't wait. The smell was too tempting, so we started to sample. The taste was worth stuffing ourselves. What a great experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teresa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Gorgeous bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This bakery is the tops, the bread really is gorgeous, try the pineapple and apricot loaf - fresh with butter or toasted with local honey -yummy. There is also a cafe in the bakery and the food is very good, fast service and staff are so nice, nothing too much trouble. Coffee also very good. If you are in Molokai this place is a must.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tugflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Late night baked treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

My husband and I had the bread here on a recent trip to molokai and absolutely loved it. At 8pm we headed down the alley to the right of the bakery and discovered the hidden gem. We rang the bell and ordered 2 breads- I went for the cinnamon and cream cheese combo and my husband went for the cream cheese and butter combo. The breads are huge and neither of us could finish them. They are served hot and were absolutely delicious. We then had our remaining portions for breakfast the next day. We both would definitely recommend it. One tip: the bakery gets really busy after about 8.10 and as we were sitting the softball team arrived to buy some bread! The bakery is open during the day when you can buy the previous days bread for a fraction of the price Along with other baked goods. A must on any trip to molokai.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JMart2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normal, Illinois
Level Contributor
146 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We loved the breakfast treats from here. The cinnamon roll was for sure the best I've ever had. We also did the late night bread run. It was not hard to find and soooo worth it. We ordered only one with butter and cinnamon and it was amazing. I wish we would have gone before our last night there because we would have gone more! We did not eat at the restaurant, so I can't report on that!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kanemitsu Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Kanemitsu Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing