We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Piece of Paradise”
other traveller has booked this property
House and Cottage on Grounds
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House and Cottage on Grounds
Front of House Front of Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
House and Cottage on Grounds
Front of House
Front of Cottage
Covered House Lanai
House Lanai Again
House Kitchen
House Kitchen Closer
House Great Room
Living room area of House Great room
House Master Bedroom - King Size Bed
House Second Bedroom - King Size Bed
View from House Lanai - 1
View from House Lanai - 2
View from House Lanai - 3
View from House Lanai - 4
Cottage Nestled in Foliage for Privacy
Cottage Covered Deck
View from Cottage Lanai
Cottage Interior
Cottage King Sized Bed
Cottage Interior
Cottage Interior
Cottage Kitchen
Cottage Interior
Access to Beach Out Front from Property
Beach Out Front, The Red Roof of House is Visible
Beach Out Front Facing East
Beach Out Front Facing Towards Maui across the Channel
Cottage Showing the Hills in the Background
Back of House with Covered Lanai Facing the Ocean
Property Grounds Behind House
Property Entrance
Sunrise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kaunakakai, Molokai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jennifer...
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We loved this rental on Molokai. Beautiful house, well furnished, and extraordinary yard and beach. Tranquil, relaxing, and yet exciting too. We spent our mornings drinking coffee on the lanai watching the whales breaching. We will definitely go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beach
Liked least: having to leave
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbutowicz
Mercer Island, Washington
1 review
“Molokai mo betta and this house was awesome”
Reviewed 18 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My wife and I stayed here for a week in February. Was everything we hoped it would be. Beautiful house with deck over looking the ocean and out to Maui with two rocking chairs where we spent a lot of time just relaxing and spotting whales. Great set up for kayaking behind the well protected reef and a private beach to just hang out on. The house has an outdoor shower too. Nice kitchen with all the tools you need which is good because dinning options on Molokai are basically zero. The only downside was having to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazmel
Swift Current
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful!!”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you are looking for peace and solitude, a place to get away from it all--this is the place to stay!! We rented the house on this property from Jan 25th to Feb 7th. We absolutely loved our stay here! We stayed alone in the house, but it is definitely large enough for two couples to have plenty of room.

The home has 2 large bedrooms, each with their own bathroom. There is a huge tub in one and a shower in the other, but I have to say we used neither. The outdoor shower is divine!! A must use while you stay. We used nothing else. There is nothing like showering outside under the palms with a view of the ocean... Still missing it!

The kitchen comes equipped with everything you need to make great meals. There is a good selection of pots and pans and dishes for you to make your own meals, which we took full advantage of. There is also a barbque outside, off the lanai for use. We cooked some wonderful meals and very much enjoyed the view of the ocean right out the window while we were prepping. We purchased spices and oils that we wanted at the local store, but did find that there was quite a selection left from previous renters. We added ours to the mix when we left.

The bed we chose to sleep on was very comfortable. We enjoyed having access to a washer and dryer as well and did do a load or two of laundry.

We did have some rainy weather while we were there and the solar hot water held our well. We were never lacking for hot water (although we didn't run the dishwasher).

Jill, the caretaker, was friendly and helpful. She was a great resource for things to do and places to get great produce (Kumu farms).

We made a lot of use of the ocean kayaks, taking a daily (sometimes twice a day) row out and about to check things out. The water is so clear that you can easily see the coral and fish below. We even managed to see a turtle once when we literally rowed over top of it and it scared us when it took off right from under us--so cool!

There were a few different couples staying in the cottage while we were there and except for the occasional hellos that we exchanged when we saw each other in the yard, the area is large enough and secluded enough that we didn't feel like we were invading space.

There is wi-fi available and we did make use of it. It worked quite well, only having issues when it rained heavily one night and the whole island had trouble connecting. There is a TV in the one room, but we didn't use it much at all. We watched the whales from the lanai and just enjoyed sitting on the lanai and watching the changing times of day rather than TV.

We also liked the property as it was set off the road a ways. This helped it to feel more secluded as there is only one road at that end of the island and everyone travels it. If you are close to the road, you would definitely hear the traffic a lot.

All in all, I would highly recommend this property. The owners were very easy to contact and deal with and as I said it was a great place to get away from it all and totally relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JayBC604
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Spectacular”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in February 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This is a review of the HOUSE. This was our first trip to Molokai but we have done many VRBOs in Hawaii and other vacation destinations. This house rental was the best experience we have had anywhere! The house is beautiful, quiet, peaceful and relaxing. The caretaker lives in another house on the property; she was helpful and hospitable but very discreet and unobtrusive.We really enjoyed trying local produce and meat from the Farmers Market and local farm stands, and then cooking in the well-equipped kitchen.

This is a great place to get away from it all and do...not very much! There isn't much at this end of Molokai except R&R. And that was just fine with us!

There was another couple in the COTTAGE for most of our stay. The buildings are far enough apart that we didn't notice them too much. The two sit-on top kayaks are shared, but the other guests didn't really affect us otherwise.

We would return in a HEARTBEAT. We flew to Molokai from Maui on Mokulele Air and that worked just great. Mokulele flies from a little commuter terminal at OGG which doesn't have all the security hassles of the main terminal. This is nice if you decide to stay a few days in Maui on your way to Molokai.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shannon T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Paradise Found”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

My Husband and I rented this home last month and had the time of our lives. We were desperate for a quiet beach setting to relax and unwind in. This location was all we hoped for. It was breathtakingly beautiful. The house is gorgeous and well appointed. Our favorite moments were watching the sunrises from the deck, going for a swim in the calm waters outside the home, afternoon kayak adventures, and cooking in the wonderfully appointed kitchen.

I can't wait to return. I am so grateful for the many wonderful memories we came home with.

Thank you!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: There was nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OSusana45
Vida, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Moloka'i Off the Beaten Path”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in January 2014
2
people found this review helpful

As we flew in Makena Air’s Nine Person prop plane from Honolulu to Moloka’i, a pod of whales leapt just beneath our wings and rainbow spirals moved from cloud to cloud: it felt magical. Our two weeks at the peaceful and lovely Hale Kai were the same. We’d planned a quiet vacation and were delighted to drive the Eastern Coast tropical garden and fish pond highway to the home. We were seventeen miles from Kaunakakai and driving down the dirt road into the property took us into an oasis of ocean front beauty. Whales rose again, leaping in the Maui channel just beyond the reef. The house is serene and aesthetically pleasing with lovely art, hardwood floors, and sturdy but attractive furniture. The kitchen had a good supply of basic spices and oils left by earlier guests and was well provided with utensils and appliances for all kinds of cooking. We were traveling with a daughter and her husband and the home’s layout of one bedroom and bath on each side of the great room (kitchen dining sitting)gave us privacy and comfort. Although we had a large soaking tub off one bedroom and a shower-bath off the second, once we’d discovered the outdoor shower, we all used it: how lovely, day and night to be in the garden yet secluded, stone flooring underfoot and palms overhead. We barely felt the presence of the couples staying in the studio cottage on the property. The caretaker, Jill, was available for questions but never obtrusive. The kayaks were there whenever we wanted them. The water doesn’t go past thigh level all the way to the reef which makes the area like a giant wading pool — lovely water hiking along the beaches, stopping at one small cove after another. We rarely shared the water or the beach with anyone else. A couple miles beyond the property deeper water offered good snorkeling. Two miles back toward town Mana’e Goods and Grindz is a small grocery and deli which has pretty much all the basics, including fresh organic produce, if we were there in time and on the right day. Their take out is good too. We had our choice of groceries in town including great organics at the Outpost and, depending on the day, at Misaki’s and Friendly’s as well. We bought excellent fresh fish from pickups on the main street. We drove to Kumu organic farms several times as we traversed the island to visit the West Coast beaches or came back to the tiny airport for the little plane to Kaulapapa Peninsula where a heartfelt tour showed us the beauty and hardship in this remote spot where people with Hansen’s were exiled. But, mostly, we enjoyed being home, watching the sunrises, the egrets in the garden, writing, sketching, harvesting fresh coconuts from the groves along the beach, playing games at the dining room table while listing to ukelele music on Pandora.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Aesthetics of home and property, oceanfront, secluded
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BenC289
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful peaceful cottage”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This is a review of the Cottage - there are two rental properties here. The Cottage is a single-room, open-plan studio with (doored!) bathroom. It's beautiful. Everything is nicely done inside, with dark wood furniture, a giant bed, a small kitchen area with enough stuff to actually cook, and a cosy couch area with small TV that we had no reason to watch in such a fine place. The Cottage is set on landscaped grounds with the sea at the far end, about 50m away. We spent 9 days pretty much living on the deck that runs along the seaward side of the house, reading, talking, eating amazing ahi poke and watching geckos. The grounds are beautiful - palm trees, flowers, and a large lawn where lots of birds come to root around. There are kayaks on the lawn just next to the sea. There's no real beach, just a rocky shore, and the sea is very shallow to swim here because of the reef. But it is stunningly beautiful and totally peaceful, and idyllic really. Molokai itself is quiet and almost deserted in the winter - we loved it, especially the massive waves on the west coast and the awesome cliffs on the north coast beyond the small military graveyard. The old deserted hotel on the north west corner is weird...and the Pizza Lounge in Kaunakakai is fantastic.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing