We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we made a pit stop here after our trip from Kalappa and got a pork dinnner and took it to go and had it on our lanai ove” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Molokai Roast Pork House - CLOSED

Molokai Roast Pork House
Cuisines: Asian, Philippine
Dining options: Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating
South Amboy, New Jersey
Level Contributor
239 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“we made a pit stop here after our trip from Kalappa and got a pork dinnner and took it to go and had it on our lanai ove”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

staff was great and we didn't wait long for service and portions were large enough to had some for the next day prices were not to expensive

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
1 review
“great sevice!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

I got a warm welcome to this amazing restaurant and they are so friendly..the foods and service is excellent.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Keneth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Depressing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013 via mobile

Desperate for a restaurant on Molokai we went here tonight. One of two tables. Young waitress in what appeared to be pajama bottoms or bad tights. Se was bored out of her mind and gave a huge opened mouth yawn behind the cash register. I had a bean and pork entree that had three fatty pieces of pork in it. The rest was watery rice and beans and tons of ginger. The salad dressing came in a plastic container (great sustainability) and had been filled by the waitress squeezing a large container of prepared dressing within sight. My wife had a chicken teriyaki dinner that was ok. I thought it was too sugary and the croutons were obviously imported. Tables with large numbers on them. No beer or wine. Totally depressing.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HChasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
480 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Good local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

This place is now known as Elsa's Kitchen. Elsa bought out her partner a year ago and recently changed the name. This was our 1st meal after arriving on Molokai. Good to average plate lunch food. Waitress was very warm and told us about moving to Molokai after finding her birth mother. Quite the story.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, FL
Level Contributor
67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Friendly waitress, but average food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

On Friday, January 17th, 2013 our family (4 adults and 2 children) lunched at the Molokai Roast Pork House while waiting to check into our beach rental. Our orders included baby back ribs ($12.50), roast chicken platter ($12.50) , roast chicken salad plate ($7.00) and the roast pork platter (12.50). This restaurant does not serve beer or alcoholic beverages. Soft drinks in cans and plastic bottles are available at a self-serve refrigerator. The waitress was very friendly and took our order promptly, but the food was average at best. The roast pork platter was served cold to lukewarm. The "baby back" ribs appeared to be more like regular ribs, and they were a bit tough and flavorless. The ribs were accompanied by sticky white steamed rice (served cold) and a tiny mixed green salad. The chicken on the salad plate was oven roasted and average. The waitress forgot to bring the roast chicken platter so one of us had to wait until the rest of us finished our lunches before she could eat. There is very little ambiance in this restaurant as well. Our bill totaled $58 with tax and tip.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich_Debbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molokai Roast Pork House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing