We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The kitchen burned down two years ago, so...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hula Shores

Hula Shores
Ranked #11 of 20 Restaurants in Kaunakakai
Price range: US$0 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Anchorage
Level Contributor
137 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The kitchen burned down two years ago, so...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

...how could this be such a highly rated restaurant. They now offer food that is cooked on the grille - mahi mahi, chicken, hamburgers, & a deluxe hot dog - sandwiches or a dinner plate. Limited fare, obviously, but tasty and good quantity.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orangegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    31
    23
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“THE place for Aloha Friday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went to the Hotel Molokai for Aloha Friday. It's THE place to be Friday, from 4 to 6. We each had a blended lillikoi margarita ($10.50). I had the grilled chicken and my wife had the grilled mahi sandwiches. They came with onion, tomato, lettuce, pickle spear and a bag of chips. They were good but not exceptional. The location is exceptional. You are looking across the channel to Maui, sitting around the pool, listening to authentic Hawaiian music. It's worth it!, Parking can be a problem, we had to park on the side of the highway.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wingboyOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHotelMolokai, General Manager at Hula Shores, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
I’m pleased to hear that you enjoyed the music and the view during your dinner with us! Thank you for posting your review, I appreciate it. Aloha Friday is extremely popular (as you stated it is THE place to be on Fridays!) and we recognize that the complimentary parking can be a challenge during this time period. Spaces do become more readily available after 6 p.m.

Thank you again!

Mahalo,
Michael Drew, General Manager
Phone: 808.553.5347 x 3398
Email: mailto:mdrew@hotelmolokai.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Friday Evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

This is obviously THE place to be on Friday at 330-4 pm. Parking lot was packed. You walk in the front of the Hotel Molokai, a little ways east of the main town. In the courtyard, local ladies have tables set up selling locally-made soaps or jewelry- preview for the Farmers Market on Saturday, it seems. Some nice things, but I didn't buy anything. The leis made from nuts and shells were very pretty. We meander back to the bar area by the water. The band plus every local with a Ukulele is there playing and they are good. The guy that's serving as MC is fun and gets the crowd involved, asking where people are from and encouraging crowd to sing along with some songs. They do a mix of traditional hawaiian and what I call "jimmy buffet style". The players range from age 7-80. A local lady gets up to hula in her mumu to a traditional song. The drinks run about $9, as Friday isn't happy hour. The mixed drinks are weak so stick with beer and wine if you care about alc. content for the price. Our waiter was the best and friendliest that we encountered on the island. His name is Dave. See pic. Anyways, a fun way to spend a few hours on Friday evening before dinner. We didn't try the food, as all they had was grilled sandwiches. But they say that the rebuilding of the restaurant will begin soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Danyel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
212 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Think: Hotel Moloka'i (Restaurant coming back)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I was recently here without knowing I was here! I mean: Since the restaurant had been closed for a long time, which I'd known in advance, I was thinking I was just enjoying the bar and Friday evening Music gathering with Lono and Kūpuna at Hotel Moloka'i. And I was in fact 'here'!

Now what can I add to reviews of a closed restaurant with a great reputation? First, this is part of Hotel Moloka'i, the prime (sort of only) hotel around, and a favorite place of visitors and locals alike. Late July 2013 I was there and happened to learn that on that very day, the plans to rebuild the kitchen had officially been approved, and the hotel said in fact they were already on it, with construction beginning imminently. So it may be back soon - the restaurant, Hula Shores. For now there is a wonderful poolside bar and seating, and they do serve some very tasty sandwiches and a few light dishes. For a bigger meal, well, it's just up the road from Paddler's and not far from Friendly Market. For hotel guests, it certainly had been a convenience as well as a great spot for a very local meal - there are very few full-bore restaurants - or food markets - on this tiny island.

But aside from the convenience, everyone I spoke to who has been to the hotel during the restaurant's operation, says it was great food. And missed. Meanwhile, it's looking good as a oceanside bar with hula and fun modern/traditional style music on Fridays. It's a lovely spot to enjoy a tropical drink and/or lunch or light dinner. So the good news: It looks to be true, it's right on track, and the restaurant *is* coming back (they say by year's end). Until then, this is not so much a 'restaurant' destination - like the Cookhouse, the new Pork House, or Paddlers.

Still, the hotel and outdoor bar/restaurant are sweet spots, even without the full-menu restaurant operation. But it's coming back soon! And the Friday music/dance fest is terrific.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drmikenyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
365 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
“great for Aloha Friday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a must if you are on Molokai on a Friday afternoon as the Aloha Friday spirit is definitely here. They have entertainment by the group, Na Kapuna which consists around 10 members who play the slack guitar and/or ukulele and there is a lead singer who sings to many familiar Hawaiian and American tunes. He dedicates songs to members of the audience who are celebrating an event, having a birthday, etc. as well as to events that are taking place in the world. Great location as it is beside oceanfront. The Hula Shores also serves light dinner- grilled chicken, mahimahi and drinks as well. The main restaurant suffered a fire a year ago and was not open yet but Hula Shores was a great place to have a nice dinner during one of our evenings on Molokai.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank karenpammy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hula Shores also viewed

 

Been to Hula Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing