We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not much going on at the Moloka'i Harbor” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Molokai Harbor

Molokai Harbor
Book In Advance
More Info
US$122.58*
and up
Pali Sea Cliff Kayak Discovery
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Kaunakakai
Attraction details
Anchorage
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not much going on at the Moloka'i Harbor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

We have found that at any sea-faring port you can usually go down the late afternoon and see the fishing boats coming in, and you can buy fresh fish. Not here - what a disappointment - no boats coming in = no fresh fish. We were able talk to couple of guys on one boat - but they weren't doing much. They said there wasn't much action around the harbor. Unless we missed something, don't waste your time

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Orangegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    13
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Cool place to sit in the evening”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

We took our Icecream from Dave's down to the dock , was surprised to see about 20 people down there (around 7.30pm and dark) all chatting etc, is obviously the place to go on a Saturday night..
Had a nice little sit and looked at the boats, quite nice actually.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank rosielamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
189 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Laid Back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

The Molokai Harbor is very laid back. It's not a huge harbor but what space there is available is all you need. The Maui and Molokai Princess ferries were the only ones docked here during our visit. Visiting this island from Maui is very refreshing. Nobody was in a hurry except those of us who are here for a day trip and ready to explore the island.

Catch the first ferry to come to Molokai and take the last one back to Maui. Sunset was beautiful but hard to take photos of due to very "rocky" trip in February. Be prepared to get soaked (we wore Gore-Tex parkas). My husband and I preferred to stay on the top level. The soaking was worth the trip since we spotted lots of whales on the way home.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MimieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice views at sunset”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

You can drive out to the end of the long wharf and see the small marina and working docks where goods are shipped in and the Maui ferry docks. Parking and washroom facilities but no restaurants or other services. A few people fish off the wharf and a boat launch facility and moor age is provided. Great place to watch the sunset.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
207 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Go at sunset!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Its a wharf. A nice heavy breeze. The winter sunset is so lovely and is unencumbered - meaning the sun sets on the ocean. Then after the sunset, have dinner in town.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tarainjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molokai Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Molokai Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing