We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent B & B - Good Value, But Not Much More”
Review of The Blue Goose B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Maunaloa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Blue Goose B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Maunaloa B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I would echo the prior review - this is more like getting a room in someone's house than a true B & B. Our room was very spartan - small, no night stands or dresser, just a small desk. Don't expect much in the way of amenities (not even a box of Kleenex). The breakfasts were okay, but not anything particularly special. One morning it was waffles with frozen strawberries and the next was blueberry pancakes with a bit of local fruits (small point - pretty bland coffee in a land where coffee is king). Two other points. First, you have to drive all the way back to the main town for any groceries or food - there is nothing near the B & B. It's only 15 minutes, but you need to plan for it. Secondly, the owner does share his political views quite freely. I'm not on vacation to argue politics, and I found myself just wanting to divert the conversation elsewhere. He also purports to know what's really going on with the locals and seemed very dismissive of their cultural and polticial values. I've been to Hawaii enough times to know his views are not the predominant ones shared by most transplants.

Stayed: April 2012
10  Thank BanSlug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2011

A fine base from which to see the island, this B&B seems more like a hostel/B&B hybrid - rooms are a little bare, but clean. There is a kitchenette with a fridge (no microwave). The owners were very accommodating and provided an excellent breakfast (warning, the owner did feel free to share his political and social views). On-the street parking is free. It is a 15 minute drive to Kaunakakai for groceries and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sunnygrrlSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Holthoff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 荒野好き
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank keauhou-kona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johanneh852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank lucatala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maunaloa
14.5 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#1 of 4 in Kaunakakai
547 reviews
24.7 mi away
MVP - Wavecrest
MVP - Wavecrest
#1 of 3 in Kaunakakai
21 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ke Nani Kai
Ke Nani Kai
#1 of 3 in Maunaloa
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Castle Molokai Shores Resort
0 mi away
No photo provided
MVP Kepuhi Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in Maunaloa
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blue Goose B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blue Goose B&B

Address: 98 Pu'unana Street, Box 142, Maunaloa, Molokai, HI 96770
Region: United States > Hawaii > Molokai > Maunaloa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Maunaloa
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
The Blue Goose B&B Molokai, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing