We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Two Weeks at Cottage 5A”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage 5A
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage 5A
Kitchen and dining area Bedroom view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Cottage 5A
Kitchen and dining area
Bedroom view
Bath sink area
View inside living room
View from lanai
Cottage 5A
View from bedroom
large lanai
Cottage end view
Beach in front of Cottage
Sunset from the lanai
Sunset
Sunset
Beach view from Cottage
Arial View of Complex
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Maunaloa, Molokai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ok547
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Two Weeks at Cottage 5A”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

This past January, my husband and I spent a wonderful two weeks at Molokai’s beautiful, lightly traveled west end. It was exactly what we were looking for—a quiet, comfortable, and very private place right on the ocean. This is what we found at Gene’s Cottage 5A:

- Excellent location, half an hour from the airport, 40 minutes from Kaunakakai, and a minute’s walk from the beach
- Big comfortable bed, with a view of the ocean
- Spacious vanity/bathroom/laundry area with lots of closet space (and washer and dryer)
- Kitchen with full-size appliances and lots of pots, pans, dishes, utensils
- Nice indoor living and dining area (which we didn’t use because we spent all our time on the lanai)
- Large lanai with dining table, comfy chairs, and loungers
- Direct view of Kepuhi Beach and the ocean from the lanai and from the bedroom and living room windows
- Abundant sunshine with occasional tropical rain showers
- Lots of good walking paths on resort grounds, bluffs, and beaches, including Papohaku Beach
- Short drive to the swimmable Dixie Maru Beach
- Limited but adequate grocery shopping in Kaunakakai, Kumu Farms, and a convenience store at the resort
- Fast, reliable wi-fi
- Well-kept grounds and tropical flowers, including a plumeria tree in front of the lanai
- Visiting wild turkeys
- Gorgeous sunsets

What is missing from this list is fancy restaurants, traffic jams, and crowds of tourists, but if you like waking up to a view of the ocean, watching the sun set over your dinner, and going to sleep to the sound of the surf, this is your place. We truly felt that we had found our own little paradise, and are already thinking of going back.

P.S. For great rates on an older model car, go to Molokai Car Rental. Their office is in town, but they drop off and pick up the car at the airport.

Liked best: Privacy, natural beauty, and closeness to the ocean
Liked least: The 40-minute drive to Kaunakakai (but it wasn't that bad)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gordonweb...
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very peacfull ocean front cottage”
Reviewed 22 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A lovely cottage with incredible views from the bedroom and living room. The cottage is fully equipped with all the essentials for easy living. (oven, microwave, dishwasher, coffeemaker, toaster, utensils, washer, dryer, cable TV, ceiling fans and beach towels!)

Nice lanai with table and chairs plus, two lounge chairs.

We enjoyed our stay immensely and would highly recommend it to others looking for a very peaceful, ocean front vacation.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachKare...
San Clemente, California
1 review
“Rest & Relaxation Old Hawaii Style”
Reviewed 18 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

One doesn't visit Molokai for fine dining & 5 Star accommodations. You go to experience the magic of old Hawaii. Cottage 5A is nestled on a hill above the most beautiful, pristine HI beaches you will ever see. Quiet and clean, the cottage is nothing fancy. But the pantry is stocked with staples, the linen closet has plenty of fresh towels, the bed is first rate, washer & dryer look brand new, & there's beach chairs in the closet. Bed pillows were way too "high" for our liking, but we found suitable ones up in the loft. The resort, pool & grounds are getting a bit "run down," but where else will you see wild turkeys strut across the lawn in front of your lanai?
Might be nice if a list of local eateries, food markets & recommended places to buy fish & produce was provided. We visited a local farm & lucked out on buying papayas & salad fixings. Overall, our stay was most satisfying.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Resort is becoming quite rundown.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheryl D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was fantastic --- Beautiful and Relaxing”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We just returned from our fourth trip to Hawaii--which is always wonderful but this time we added Molokai. It was our last stop and a fantastic way to end our trip. We were very lucky to choose Gene Hill's property because we couldn't have been in touch with anyone nicer and more helpful in planning our stay there. Cabin 5A has a lovely view of the beach and nearby cliff. The beach was great, as were several nearby beaches. Our last night there was spent lying on the beach marveling at the amazing number of stars we could see and being dazzled by the shooting stars from the annual August meteor shower! Gene's Cabin 5 was a perfect place with many amenities. We were comfortable and able to relax and enjoy. Wifi was great as well as the tvs, but more importantly it was quiet and beautiful. I would highly recommend the mule ride to Kalaupapa and the wonderful morning ukulele music at Coffees of Hawaii if you go to Molokai. It's a quiet, undeveloped island with some of the friendliest people ever. You can't go wrong in staying at Gene's place on Kapuhi beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the quiet and access to the beach and comfort of the cabin
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLOcyn
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wow! What a relaxing vacation with an incredible view.”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Our vacation rental at Kepuhi Beach was wonderful. Very well equipped plus lots of extras. No need to think about what you might have forgotten at home. Gene has a basket of essentials like travel size shampoos, conditioners, etc. Kitchen has most anything you need to put together a meal. Basic spices, condiments, cookware. Everything in good working order. We love sitting out on the lanai in the morning and evening to enjoy coffee and a glass of wine. Plenty of towels, nice shower. Clean. An almost brand new washer and dryer. Bed and linens nice. Also, cleaning essentials, paper towels, dish soaps, etc.

Wifi is better than we have at home, lovely Sony flat screen. We brought a streaming device and watched movies in the evening after dinner.

The grounds are well kept, nice pool, gas grill area and picnic tables if you choose to eat near where you are cooking. Nothing seems to be crowded. More wildlife than people.

Definitely would come back. This is a perfect spot to relax and rejuvenate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: Ocean front, non obstructed views.
Liked least: It was windy the week we visited but it kept the humidity down
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
298dick
Gwinn, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A very quite and relaxing month.”
Reviewed 6 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

A very nice place to spend a relaxing month away from the artic weather of Michigan. The only draw back to our' stay was lack of transportation, as church goers we would have liked access to auto transportation on the week ends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Birds singing in the morning, and whale watching.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikaGRyan
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Blue skies, golden sands, and starry nights”
Reviewed 20 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
8
people found this review helpful

My husband and I are seasoned travellers who work in the tourism industry, and our trip to Molokai was one of our best vacations ever. This lovely bungalow was the perfect place to stay in West Molokai, here's why:

- Great location, including a lanai with an un-impeded ocean view, and perfect for viewing Molokai sunsets!
- within walking distance to several beautiful, secluded beaches
- Spacious, clean and comfortable (the photos don't do it justice).
- a well equipped kitchen and access to a communal outdoor grill
- excellent WiFi / two TV's
- washer and dryer
- great shower with plenty of hot water
- the owner Gene was lovely to work with
- very nice neighbours who were happy to offer local tips
- great nature viewing, i.e. wild turkeys, black witch moths (good thing), birds, monk seals, humpbacks, and sunny skies!

If you and your better half have ever said, "Honey, let's escape the crazy crowds of Waikiki and Maui, and find a special beach for just the two of us" (and meant it) - then West Molokai is the place to go. Leave your loud Hawaiian shirt at home, snorkel the 'turtle highway', play a round of golf (local style), and ride a mule alongside a jaw-dropping cliff. You won't be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: pool was closed for repairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing