We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, convenient, and welcoming”
Review of Rainbow Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aiea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Aiea B&B and Inns
Tacoma, WA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Comfortable, convenient, and welcoming”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week in Oahu, staying at the Rainbow Inn. This is an apartment in the lower level of Mike and Terri's home, about 20 minutes (without traffic) from downtown Honolulu. It is very convenient to the airport, and, of course the whole island is not a difficult drive away.

The apartment has a beautiful view overlooking Pearl Harbor. It is a roomy, very comfortable studio with a huge bathroom/changing room and fully stocked kitchen. The bed is super comfy. The place is not fancy, but meticulously clean. The swimming pool right outside is delightful and essentially for the private use of guests.

Terri and Mike were gone for most of our stay, but are as nice, friendly, and helpful as can be.

We highly recommend the Rainbow Inn for anyone wanting a comfortable, convenient, private, scenic location from which to explore Oahu... much nicer than a hotel room for our purposes.

Room Tip: Just one room at the Rainbow Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honest4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    2
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We booked the Rainbow Inn a few months in advance based on TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.

Firstly, the photos here and on the VRBO website don't do the place justice. It is a complete, LARGE, one-bedroom apartment. You have a large sleeping area, a sitting area with what I think was a futon that could sleep another person, a complete kitchen (everything but an oven and who needs that on vacation!), a LARGE closet area along with the LARGE bath, and, of course, the pool area. The view down to Pearl Harbor and the Arizona Memorial is spectacular. Wish I had my tripod to get some photos of the night scene.

We arrived with 5 bags (we were stopping on Oahu to get over jet lag on the way to Sydney) and Terri and Mike insisted that we store the "extras" with them so as not to be tripping over them in the apartment. BTW, Terri and Mike were exceptional hosts - unlike a lot of B&Bs, you weren't forced into awkward conversations by living in their house. But we made a point of talking with them in our free time and they were both a joy. Great hosts! The apartment has a completely separate entrance so you can maintain your privacy if you'd like.

A few months before our arrival, Terri eMailed me with a request for what breakfast items we wanted - things like what kind of milk, juice, cereal, Danish, fruit, etc. we liked. When we arrived, everything was exactly as we had requested (remember, that unlike a traditional B&B, you don't eat with the owners or other guests - there are no other guests! - you make your own breakfast as your own time and place). There were also additional items in the fridge, perhaps from previous guests and even some soda.

The bathroom goes way beyond what you normally find in a B&B or hotel. Terri and Mike have stocked it with countless soaps, shampoos, and other toiletries so that you really feel right at home.

We had been looking for a hotel in the area for our time there, and all we found were plastic Waikiki accommodations - expensive, rarely a beachfront, and decidedly unfriendly. While the Rainbow Inn doesn't have a beach, the pool with that view sure make up for it.

If you're on Oah'u for a few days or more, do NOT miss the opportunity to stay here - book early, since it appears to book up quickly. You will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: There's only one room (!) but you will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SabreSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed at the Inn for three nights and highly recommend you do the same. The view is phenomenal over the whole Pearl Harbour area. You can see the Memorial and the Missouri from you room and you do not have to fight with Honolulu traffic. The apartment is brilliant with everything you need to hand, spacious and very quiet in a lovely neighbourhood. There are plenty of shops and restaurants close by and easy access to the highway system to whisk you off to North Shore or even Waikiki if necessary. The pool is a real bonus but the beauty of this place is the owners Terri and Mike who are always helpful and will assist with anything but also leave you in peace to enjoy their fantastic view.

Room Tip: Enjoy the view. Give Tony Roma's Steakhouse a miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Quiet, peaceful, stunning views and very private. Most relaxing place to stay, away from the crowds. Hosts are wonderful and non-intrusive. Pool is wonderful. Stay as long as you can!!!!!
Easy access to Honolulu or the North Shore

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seekingpeaceandquiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Certainly going to Hawaii you'd like to stay on the beach, but if you are venturing to other Hawaiian islands do it there. On Oahu, which has some nasty traffic around and within Honolulu, staying just outside the city, with a beautiful hillside view of Pearl Harbor, Rainbow Inn can't be beat.

The views from the hillside are unobstructed of the USS Arizona and USS Missouri, which are also lit up at night. It is convenient to travel throughout Oahu from here. The owners provide beach towels, chairs, umbrella, boogie board, etc., so enjoying the beaches is made very easy. Driving time to visit Pearl Harbor (10 minutes), Hanauma Bay Beach (35 minutes), and Waimea Beach Park (40 minutes), and the airport only 15 minutes away.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoMoreTuition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We were only able to stay 3 nights; TOO BAD! It was the by far the best of the 2 B & B's of our stay. Near Pearl Country Club Golf and in an upscale residential area. No worries of our vehicle safety and ease of parking spot. Wish it had been warmer to use the pool just outside our front sliders. but wonderful view and full of sunlight to wake up to every morning! Full kitchen and stocked refrigerator with breakfast items were very convenient. Internet availability and flat screen TV easily viewed from the bed. Desk area for laptop and business uses. Lots of room for suitcases, golf clubs. Bathroom with useful dimmer light for nighttime safety and avoiding disturbing a sleeping partner. Comfortable bed, spacious dining table area.
Grab this if it is available! Only 1 room! Drove to the finals of the Sony Open PGA tour at Waialae, great to be away from the commercialized area of Waikiki!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RZPhyxit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

This has been our 8th year staying at The Rainbow Inn. Quiet and peaceful, a private pool, kitchen and stunning view of Pearl Harbor. Close to everything Oahu has to offer! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Hawaii

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seekingpeaceandquiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aiea
4.1 mi away
Airport Honolulu Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
1,030 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
4.1 mi away
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
472 reviews
9.2 mi away
Manoa Valley Inn
Manoa Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Honolulu
185 reviews
22.0 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn

Property: Rainbow Inn
Address: 98-1049 Mahola Pl, Aiea, Oahu, HI 96701-2816
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Aiea
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aiea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Aiea
Rainbow Inn Hawaii/Aiea, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing