We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place!!”
Review of Rainbow Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aiea
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rainbow Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Aiea B&B and Inns
Smyrna, Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved this place!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

So glad we booked here. We stayed in Waikiki for one night before arriving at the Rainbow Inn, immediately upon entering we knew we made the right decision. It was so peaceful out there and very convenient to the beaches of Oahu. Pearl Harbor memorial is only a couple miles away. We loved the view and the fact that we felt completely at home. Mike and Teri thought of everything and made our visit so amazing! I will go back next time I visit Oahu and hope that is VERY soon!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    2
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
9
45
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Members of my family have stayed here two different times. The view is perfect - the Arizona WWII Pearl Harbor memorial is completely visible from the site. It is a pleasant, clean and nice accommodation at reasonable cost. We appreciated the ease in traveling to the airport and museums from this condo. The owner is very helpful and accommodating. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelcamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Our family of 3 began our Hawaiian vacation at the Rainbow Inn to see the Pearl Harbor and Oahu sights away from the crowds. Wow, we could not get enough of the views- just gorgeous! Saw rainbows 2 out of the 3 days we were there. Super clean, comfy beds, great pool and views, quiet, super friendly hosts and great location - highly recommend!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

The Rainbow Inn was a wonderful centralized accommodation for our stay in Oahu. If you do not mind driving to get to the nearest beach (about 30 minutes away) this is definitely the place to consider. (Traffic can get heavy, but that is typical all over the island.) Terri and Mike were the perfect hosts, and their studio apartment is the most well-stocked I have ever stayed in! Right from our first communication, Terri was so wonderful to work with. She was very responsive in her emails and helpful in providing ideas and links to various activities around the island. Not only did we find our breakfast preferences but a kitchen that was well stocked with so much more! Practically everything you may need is already at the Rainbow Inn. Mike and Terri informed us that we could use any of the beach equipment, chairs, snorkel, coolers, umbrella, towels, etc. that were there. The bathroom has a large assortment of soaps, shampoos and lotions.

A car is a necessity here especially since there is so much to see on the island outside of Waikiki. We loved exploring the beaches on the north shore.
The Rainbow Inn is not fancy but it is a comfortable, clean accommodation set in a residential area of Aiea. Their backyard is perfect – private, beautiful pool, barbeque and best of all the amazing view of Pearl Harbor. If you are looking for something other than a 'touristy' accommodation in Waikiki, the Rainbow Inn is definitely worth a try!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank jmf82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week in Oahu, staying at the Rainbow Inn. This is an apartment in the lower level of Mike and Terri's home, about 20 minutes (without traffic) from downtown Honolulu. It is very convenient to the airport, and, of course the whole island is not a difficult drive away.

The apartment has a beautiful view overlooking Pearl Harbor. It is a roomy, very comfortable studio with a huge bathroom/changing room and fully stocked kitchen. The bed is super comfy. The place is not fancy, but meticulously clean. The swimming pool right outside is delightful and essentially for the private use of guests.

Terri and Mike were gone for most of our stay, but are as nice, friendly, and helpful as can be.

We highly recommend the Rainbow Inn for anyone wanting a comfortable, convenient, private, scenic location from which to explore Oahu... much nicer than a hotel room for our purposes.

Room Tip: Just one room at the Rainbow Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honest4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We booked the Rainbow Inn a few months in advance based on TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed.

Firstly, the photos here and on the VRBO website don't do the place justice. It is a complete, LARGE, one-bedroom apartment. You have a large sleeping area, a sitting area with what I think was a futon that could sleep another person, a complete kitchen (everything but an oven and who needs that on vacation!), a LARGE closet area along with the LARGE bath, and, of course, the pool area. The view down to Pearl Harbor and the Arizona Memorial is spectacular. Wish I had my tripod to get some photos of the night scene.

We arrived with 5 bags (we were stopping on Oahu to get over jet lag on the way to Sydney) and Terri and Mike insisted that we store the "extras" with them so as not to be tripping over them in the apartment. BTW, Terri and Mike were exceptional hosts - unlike a lot of B&Bs, you weren't forced into awkward conversations by living in their house. But we made a point of talking with them in our free time and they were both a joy. Great hosts! The apartment has a completely separate entrance so you can maintain your privacy if you'd like.

A few months before our arrival, Terri eMailed me with a request for what breakfast items we wanted - things like what kind of milk, juice, cereal, Danish, fruit, etc. we liked. When we arrived, everything was exactly as we had requested (remember, that unlike a traditional B&B, you don't eat with the owners or other guests - there are no other guests! - you make your own breakfast as your own time and place). There were also additional items in the fridge, perhaps from previous guests and even some soda.

The bathroom goes way beyond what you normally find in a B&B or hotel. Terri and Mike have stocked it with countless soaps, shampoos, and other toiletries so that you really feel right at home.

We had been looking for a hotel in the area for our time there, and all we found were plastic Waikiki accommodations - expensive, rarely a beachfront, and decidedly unfriendly. While the Rainbow Inn doesn't have a beach, the pool with that view sure make up for it.

If you're on Oah'u for a few days or more, do NOT miss the opportunity to stay here - book early, since it appears to book up quickly. You will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: There's only one room (!) but you will love it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SabreSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We stayed at the Inn for three nights and highly recommend you do the same. The view is phenomenal over the whole Pearl Harbour area. You can see the Memorial and the Missouri from you room and you do not have to fight with Honolulu traffic. The apartment is brilliant with everything you need to hand, spacious and very quiet in a lovely neighbourhood. There are plenty of shops and restaurants close by and easy access to the highway system to whisk you off to North Shore or even Waikiki if necessary. The pool is a real bonus but the beauty of this place is the owners Terri and Mike who are always helpful and will assist with anything but also leave you in peace to enjoy their fantastic view.

Room Tip: Enjoy the view. Give Tony Roma's Steakhouse a miss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aiea
4.1 mi away
Airport Honolulu Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel
#59 of 84 in Honolulu
1,030 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
4.1 mi away
Best Western The Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
481 reviews
9.2 mi away
Manoa Valley Inn
Manoa Valley Inn
#1 of 7 in Honolulu
185 reviews
22.0 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Inn

Property: Rainbow Inn
Address: 98-1049 Mahola Pl, Aiea, Oahu, HI 96701-2816
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Aiea
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Aiea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Aiea
Rainbow Inn Hawaii/Aiea, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing