We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Aloha Aoki's”
Review of Aoki's Shave Ice - CLOSED

Aoki's Shave Ice
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Drinks, Parking Available
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
73 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Aloha Aoki's”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Aloha Aoki's. I have had your shaved ice on each of my trips to Hawaii and many times while I lived there. You will be missed by all. It has been a great 30 years. Hope to see you across the street soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    38
    20
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

There was a long line but the staffs were good with pushing traffic through smoothly. Waited 20 minutes and got our Meiji flavor snow cone. I am not a snow cone person but it was better than all the ones I had in California. Wondering if its the heat...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Shaved ice in haleiwa - check”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Wife loves these things so of course after dinner had to go to #1 rated place. Lucky for us it was right before closing so no wait. While she didn't complain and said it was good she followed up with don't know what all the fuss is. She has had as good in little ol South Carolina. I didn't get one but tasted hers and agreed. We can at least say we got one...next

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CUTiger1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Average shave-ice”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

They say that when you're in Haleiwa you have to try shaved ice, so my friends and I stood in line for about 10 minutes to try Aoki's, thinking that the line outside the shop meant the shaved ice was really good. They have tons of different flavors, but they're all made with bottled syrups, and I believe the shaved ice was not worth the wait. It was OK but nothing more, I don't know if I'll go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teen_traveler_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Apex, North Carolina
Level Contributor
416 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“It's shave ice”
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

These places are starting to seem similar. Dumpy little joint, long line, somewhat reasonable price - and you get shave ice. I wouldn't drive to this place just for their shave ice, but it is set amongst other shops and restaurants so hey.

Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Aoki's Shave Ice also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing