We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local institution”
Review of Aoki's Shave Ice - CLOSED

Aoki's Shave Ice
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Warren, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great local institution”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Aoki's has great shave ice. We were lucky to be there on their last day of business. Sad it has closed but hopefully they will open in a new location. Friendly owner.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SCheng46855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    38
    20
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Best Shave Ice”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We visited Aoki's twice in the last week of August prior to their location shuttering down until their move across the street. By far the best Shave Ice we have had. The consistency of snow (something we know too much about!) great flavour and friendly staff. We hope to visit their new location across the street on our next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CordeliaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Better than Matsumotos!”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Locals know the shave ice here is much better than Matsumoto's. Delicious, soft and great flavors. Get the ice cream and the beans in the bottom as well, its so good. The are closed down now, moving across the street and down a little ways hopefully will reopen soon!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisabdh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very soft shave ice”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

On our last day on Oahu, we were in Haleiwa and stopped into Aoki's. The consistency of the shave ice was much finer than anything we'd had before. It was like snow. My daughter got ice cream in the bottom, but I just got the plain shave ice. We both really enjoyed this treat. It was the best shave ice we had the entire vacation.

The line was out the door when we arrived, but it moved quickly. I'd definitely go back here. In fact, just writing this review is making me crave some shave ice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mas050472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
denver, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Seems like a winnner”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

not a long of line as Matsumotos, so i went here for what I assume is a pretty comparable shave ice experience. it was great, nice workers, and a good selection. make sure to get the ice cream and beans with your ice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing