We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
28
19
7
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
19
7
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews north shore across the street sunset beach short walk full kitchen foodland waimea surf hawaii roomy
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2012

My girlfriend and I live in Honolulu and wanted to get out of town for the weekend. After dealing with several other establishments and getting nowhere, I called Sharks Cove. Not only did they have a private room and bathroom available, but they also did not have a 3 night minimum stay as most places in the area require. Pricing was great, and I was able to get a Kama'aina rate, which made it that much better. The place was super clean, the bed was very comfortable, and the room was upstairs in the back of the house, which was pretty quiet. Our room had a minibar and fridge, and we also had an entire common kitchen and living area available downstairs, which was great. Sharks Cove is directly across the street, which works well if you plan on diving or snorkeling. No need to fight for parking, just a quick walk across the street. A great place with easy-going service. We will go back again

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zmontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Was staying at the Turtle Bay Resort last year and in my wanderings (Starbucks and Foodland and beaches), saw this compound right at the corner of Foodland and the highway...at the snorkeling beach! Sign showed a vacancy and not knowing what to expect, decided to investigate (just nosey). After meeting the owner (who is great), he pulled back the stockade fence and lead me on a tour of a number of different types of accommodations from a single room with shared living area to an entire 3 bedroom home. It was clean, completely furnished (silverware and all) and surprisingly affordable (especially after paying Turtle Bay prices for two beds and a bathroom). I've been staying there every since and am going back in August. The owner and his family are wonderful and I really like this place. It's SAFE. You're behind a stockade fence so you will not get your car broken into (a large problem in Hawaii). Go and have a great time.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cidkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Three of us stayed for over 3 weeks in a room share. We use it as a base to surf throughout the whole island. Great location and we met some fantastic people during our stay.
Good simple homely accommodation that suited us. Access to washing machine and drier was brilliant. We cooked most nights in the house kitchen and when we chose to eat out great pizza truck across the road (tip: telephone your order in earlier in day cos they sell out). The Pukakea grill (van next door) open from 11-5pm does the most amazing spicy tuna bowl with rice amongst other yummy treats.
The house was friendly, low key and a great base to explore the amazing surf highway. The owner put on guest drinks a couple of nights in the common area which was a great way to meet everyone else on the property.
We will all be coming back here again. Thank you guys.

Date of stay: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

I'm shocked by the negative reviews and imagine these folks know nothing of Hawaii or staying places out of "tourist cental", especially when it comes to the North Shore.

We used to live on the North Shore and came back for a vacation. Anyone, who thinks Turtle Bay comes anywhere near the pricing here has no idea what they are talking about, especially as this rental is walking distance to all of the best beaches on the island ( Waimea, Table Tops, Sharks Cove, Sunset, Pipeline) and has a grocery store next to it. This is the Northe Shore, there are not Hiltons up here, so yeah, a few ants may happen like in any apt up here.

When a Hilton does open up here ( Boo!!!) you are welcome to to pay $380 a night like Turtle Bay and still be a 15 to a minute drive from any of these famous beaches.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

fun floor plan very inviting close to the best beaches , housekeepng daily all around fun in the sun.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews