We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good memories”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haleiwa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sharks Cove Rentals
Deux-Montagnes, Quebec, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good memories”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I stayed there for close to 2 weeks with my fiancé in 2012.
We were looking for something affordable, close to beaches locations with a shared area to cook and that is exactly what Sharks Cove Rentals had to offer.
As long as you are a little resourceful (to go get your own food, be able to prepare it and share amenities with others, etc.) it will make for perfect destination to enjoy the area at it's full since
any other places around there are unaffordable beachfronts.
Sharks Cove Rental has a wonderful view on the ocean because it is located in front of a protected zone that allows snorkelling.
So wether you're looking for your own apartment, a bed, a room with TV and internet or a suite the owner John is the man to get in touch with on the North Shore !

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancisBarbotin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    18
    6
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
25
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Everything was easy and comfortable. No complaints. Fabulous spot opposite great snorkelling, and about 5 doors from a supermarket. We made ourselves right at home. Thanks John for a lovely stay, Mark and Jane - those ukulele players from Australia.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank voicepopfoible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our entire experience was horrible. First, no one to welcome us when we arrived. Then the flat and the room were not even close to cleanish. At night, we banged our head in the metal and low mezzanine bed. The bathroom & kitchen were really dirty and missing basics products and dishes, such as salt, pans, etc... The wifi connection was extremely slow, when it worked at all. We wanted to leave sooner than expected (we stayed 1 night). The owner tried to make us pay many additional fees such as cleaning and the sum we had already paid to hostelworld.com. So we absolutely recommend not to get there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aurélie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

no one was there when we turned up. never once saw the owners. we were paying in cash and had no idea who to pay as no one was there, ever. called the owner, no one picked up. waited around for 2 hours. no return call. called him again, finally he picked up. over charged us $30. tried to get a $5 discount because he was so unprofessional. wouldn't do anything just said leave the money in the envelope on bed. he doesn't realize we were being honest and trying to pay him, any other couple would've just run off and kept the money. so very unhappy as to how he dealt with everything, no apologies or anything on his behalf. all you are paying for is the location. NOT HAPPY AT ALL.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie_Schollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

We needed a place last minute and were able to get room 100 for a night. John, the proprietor, could not have been nicer. This is a big house located on the highway, but also right on the ocean. You can either rent the whole place or just an individual room. There was a microwave, fridge and coffee maker in our room, but all the dishes and necessities are in a common kitchen downstairs. You can use anything, so that's really nice. And if others are in the house, you just have to hope that the other guests clean up after themselves. Our room was at the top of a steep staircase. Downside: if you get the balcony room it is on the highway and there were ants in the room kitchen area and in the main kitchen area- but then again, it is Hawaii!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dostreic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I think I said it all there….

The owner was super helpful with directions, instructions and everything else.
The staff pointed out all of the fun stuff to do.
You are super close to all the best surf beaches…
A few cute, friendly cats who lived on the property and purred at will.
A close walk to the Shark's Cove grill (best food in the North Shore), the supermarket and the surf/snorkel rental spot.
Nice outdoor wreck room for people to hang out and chill at night, it was in the back and didn't disturb anyone from sleeping.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vito F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballwin, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

My husband, two daughters and I stayed at Sharks Cove Rentals back in July 19-21st. We had an awesome time. We rented the 2nd floor, front room that had a lanai that went all across the front and looked right out into the water. The first morning as we were getting ready to snorkel, dolphins were surfacing just off shore. The Mexican food truck right next door had incredible food, the grocery store was a short walk (as was the Catholic church). The snorkeling was wonderful (but go early, the water gets crowded). My husband and I even snorkeled out of the cove and then down to the next beach (and walked back). You really are RIGHT across the street from great snorkeling (we saw sea turtles every day in the water). Highly recommend in the summer for families (waves are quite different in the fall/winter/spring). Thank you for a making the end of our vacation so memorable!

Room Tip: 2nd floor, front (by the street)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highschoolteacherMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haleiwa
9.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
22.4 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
21.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
5.5 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,969 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers Vacation Inn and Plantation Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharks Cove Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharks Cove Rentals

Property: Sharks Cove Rentals
Address: 59-672 Kamehameha Hwy, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712-8630
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Haleiwa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Haleiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a vacation inn with 4 separate homes situated closely together, ohana style. Located just 75 steps to Pupukea Marine Preserve, directly across from preserve a.k.a. Sharks Cove, excellent for diving and snorkeling in summer months and whale and wave watching in winter months as well as swimming. Haleiwa town is just a 10 minute drive and has beautiful Harbor, restaurants, water activities, surf and dive shops. Within walking distance of rental are surf/snorkel shop, two lunch wagons, large grocery store with Starbucks and deli, bike shop as well as several white sand beaches; Waimea Bay, Three Tables Beach, Keiki Beach, Pipeline and Sunset Beach. We rent private rooms in these homes with shared common areas of living room and kitchen. Two rooms are deluxe suites with queen beds and private bath, one is basic queen bedroom with private bath. The other ten rooms have bunk beds to accommodate couples or singles and share kitchen, living area and bath. No cleaning deposit. Free Washer/Dryers. Free use of snorkeling gear. Free daily housekeeping services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sharks Cove Rentals Hotel Haleiwa
Sharks Cove Rentals Hawaii/Oahu - Haleiwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing