We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging
Certificate of Excellence
London, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Everything from the location, amenities, privacy and the friendly atmosphere made the stay exceptional. Maria and Bernie are quick to help, offer advice and ensure that their guests are well taken care of. A great location in close proximity to fantastic beaches and activities along the beautiful North Shore. I would love to visit again.

Room Tip: I was fortunate to stay in the studio which provided the space and privacy I wanted. In the house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    15
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
20
46
58
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fermo, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Simply amazing. For me a second home, and a second family (Bernie "Ten Minutes", Maria and Kalani)… impossible to say more, about something which is just perfect as it is. If you are searching for beautiful beaches, quite places, and amazing people, this is the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonardo_7seas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Stayed in Yellow Ginger Loft (the one with balcony, view of the ocean) for 5 nights in mid-June. Liked everything, the peace and quiet of North Shore, amazing beaches (Waimea, with the rock from which you can jump down) was my favourite - with a rented car, it was less than 10 min drive.... It was sunny every day, except for few 5-min showers here and there. The previous reviewer said it right, it's a mix of B&B and really nice, clean hostel. All the people visiting were very respectful of each other, everything around cleaned on a daily basis. Both owners really nice people, will talk to you/answer your questions/concerns, then leave you alone, just perfect. You're not in the room during the day anyway, then you come exhausted in the evening from all the sun, fun, ocean, have a refreshing bath/shower in one of the shared/renovated bathrooms, exchange stories/suggestions of what to do with other guests near the kitchen when eating, have a good night sleep, and the adventures start again next morning. Kalani is better when you see it with your own eyes than what you see in the pictures!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvetteG970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Arriving on the O'ahu North Shore from Waikiki, what did we expect to find out ? A remote, wild place. A long road, Kamehameha Hwy, houses all along... Not so wild ? But when we went on the beach at Rocky Point it was just a new world, Pacific Ocean, waves, white sand no-end beach, on that mythic place, Banzai Pipeline. It was just across the road of our new home away from home, Kalani Hawaii, where Maria and Bernie welcomed us with such warm and kindness, giving us tips for our stay and... surf ;-)
Everything here is gorgeous, the house, déco, lanai, garden. All is fit for guests to feel at ease and perfectly comfortable. We spent at Kalani a truly great time. Mahalo nui loa Maria and Bernie for this. We will be back, for sure ! Aloha !

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MoanaMartine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

really great place to stay. it's like a big beach house - small enough that you get to know the other people staying there, and there are so many different areas to chill out. the whole house is spotless - it's cleaned every day. bathrooms are super clean, as is the full sized well stocked kitchen. there's a car park and a surfboard room.
just one word of advise - north shore is a bit dodgy. never leave anything in your car EVER! we left our car in a car park for 15mins only to return to find the back window smashed and a snorkel set stolen. the valuable stuff was in the boot - it was gone too. so be really careful because apparently car break in's are really common on oahu but ESPECIALLY on the north shore!
don't let that put you off though - north shore is a really pretty place to visit, and is super chilled out. the locals are generally friendly.
The staff at Kalani are super friendly and really helpful with local knowledge. Stay here for a week, you'll love it.

Room Tip: we stayed in Heliconia. A bit cramped but it's nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aquablue4225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

This property is in a great location on the North Shore. Everything was very clean, bathrooms, kitchen, etc. I had a really great stay here. The owners are beyond accommodating and love to help with anything you may need. They got in touch with the company I was diving with to set up transportation so I didn't have to drive over an hour to the dive site.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarlyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Hi! Sorry it took me so long. I was at the Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging last year (may 2012) and i just loved it. Being in this place is like being in the paradise. The garden, very warm decoration, the people, Bernie the host knows very well the islands and can give good advise of were to go and what to do. Very friendly, all excellent. Greetings from NYC!!!
I wish i can come back some day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dav_Solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haleiwa
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,955 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging

Property: Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging
Address: 59-222 B Kamehameha Hwy, Sunset Beach, Haleiwa, Oahu, HI 96712-8624
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Haleiwa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Haleiwa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Kalani Hawaii are not your typical "place to stay." As a fusion of all accommodation styles we are a unique, boutique Private Lodging offering our guests the finest accommodations on the North Shore. What you will experience at Kalani Hawaii is an escape from the everyday rush, a peek through the palm trees to see how life exists when you're on island time. We offer once in a lifetime memories, beautiful vistas, short strolls to beaches, breathtaking sunsets, snorkeling, world class surfing, and much, much more. For the privacy of our guests we do not take walk-ins and are reservation only. This being the case, we do try our very best to book last minute accommodations when space is available. If you have any questions or would like to book a reservation, please contact us through our website. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalani Hawaii Hotel Haleiwa
Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging Oahu - Haleiwa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing