We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“turrrrrrtles”
Review of Laniakea Beach

Laniakea Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
US$420.00*
and up
Luxury Convertible Tour to Oahu's North Shore
Ranked #4 of 57 things to do in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“turrrrrrtles”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

lots of sea turtles! massive ones too! very popular so won't miss it! Worth seeing as its free and relatively easy to get to if you have a car!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophie_Schollum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    210
    75
    19
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“chance encounters”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

stopped off hoping to see the green sea turtles. Was not disappointed. Once we found parking which is limited to what's along side the highway, we made our way down to the beach. It's a smallish area where the turtles come ashore to steal away a land based nap. There were a few in the water swimming about; one came within 3-4 feet as he swam by while I was wading through the low surf to change vantage points of the napping turtle. This place gets lots of visitors so expect parking to be difficult. Likewise expect a few idiots trying to get too close to these protected creatures. Conservationists do their best but have a tough job protecting them with the thousands of visitors each day; glad to see someone doing it though as some act stupidly around the endangered species. It was impressive to see the size of these majestic creatures and see how effortlessly they glide through the water. The beach was very crowded with other onlookers as well as many who were snorkeling through the surf and viewing them in their natural environment. This stop turns out to be one of my personal favorites of this north shore excursion. We drove out on our own as the tour we did later did not feature a stop here and I really wanted to share this with my wife. She enjoyed it too. If every in the area and you haven't done so before, stop in. Its worth it. Just keep your distance and be respectful of others.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank j3mmr71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place for the family to see the turtles...”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had the family, myself, daughter, son-in-law, and four grandkids ages 4-16 and we had a great time. The beach is decent, though parking is along the road and you have to cross over...traffic is heavy but its easy. Swimming and snorkeling was good, and we all saw turtles. There is a volunteer there to answer questions or point out turtles if people are not really aware of their surroundings....

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dnkrodgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Saw lots of turtles”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

If you love turtles this is the place. I don't know the time of year or day they come to shore but we were fortunate enough in May 2013 to see three large turtles on the shore. Volunteers rope the area around them off so you can't touch them although people do try and jumped on the, and it's sad that some tourists are so disrespectful. Ask the locals before heading out to make sure you are there at right time of year. There are no signs and we had difficulties finding the right spot but we followed the hundreds of cars

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank dan801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Turtles Galore”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Laniakea Beach is home to about 24 Green Sea Turtles. You will easily see a number of them in the water or basking in the sun on the sand. Later in the day will increase your chances of seeing one ashore. The turtles feed on algae and weed near the breaking waves so you don't even have to get your feet wet to get a great view of them. Volunteers monitor the behaviour of the turtles and will keep people at bay once the turtles show signs of wanting to come up on the beach. You are free to swim with them but during the three occasions we visited, the beach was a little rough and the entry is rocky. As a protected animal, you may be prosecuted for touching or harassing one of these gorgeous creatures. It is not sign posted but you will see a lot of cars parked on the side of the road. Parking availability is a bit of an issue but a little walk was all that was needed. Don't leave anything of value in the car. They have limited parking spaces to stop large vehicles from parking on the road and huge groups accessing the beach. You will have to cross a busy road to get to the Laniakea beach but most drivers show the aloha spirit and let you pass. Don't park in the signposted tow away zones as the police are often waiting for that to happen. This is a great opportunity to photograph these turtles up close.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Louisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Laniakea Beach also viewed

 

Been to Laniakea Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing