We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Week of Surf Lessons”

Surf Hawaii Surf School
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Let surfing enhance your life! Surf Hawaii - Surf School is one of the most respected surfing school in Hawaii and on the North Shore of Oahu. The owner Edison de Paula is the head coach, with more then 25 years of experience. We teach surfing lessons, stand up paddle lessons and we run our Surf Camps designed to enable surfers of all ages and skill levels to live the dream of riding waves on the beautiful beaches of Hawaii. Surfing with Edison and his team of professional instructors is an exhilarating, healthy and natural experience available on the North Shore of Oahu. See what a difference professional surf instruction and the latest technology can make. Edison's surf school, a qualified professional surf coach that will make your dreams of surfing a reality! They are carefully selected, experienced instructors and experts in surfing. Our surf instructors are Lifeguards, CPR and First Aid certified.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One Week of Surf Lessons”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I have spend a full week with Edison and Jenni. The accommodations are in super conditions and are located right behind Haleiwa on a small river. The house and backyard are just lovely and can be used for relaxing or maybe for a trip Stand-Up paddling on the river into the ocean.
The main reason to come was to learn surfing. The teacher was awesome and so I was able to pick up the basic steps within one week. In the end I managed to ride about 30 - 40 waves over a span of 7 lessons. The surf locations are great for beginners.

All in all, I can totally recommend the surf school. I hope I'll come again next year!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank chhenning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    1
    0
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
surfhawaii
1 review
“Damien Anderson”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

I have be to edison camp twice now i find that very one was helpful and amazing. He focus on the thing u need to improve on your surfing. Everything was in good walking distance from the laid back haleiwa town can not wait to go back for the third time your friend form Australia Damien Anderson

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank damoanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed 25 November 2012

If you want to improve your surfing skills there is no better place than Surf Hawaii Surf School! If you are a rank beginner or have tons of experience and trying to up your game, this is the school. First, Haleiwa and the North Shore are the fantastic. Laid back but world class waves. The cute village is within easy walking distance of the property. Next, the instructors are skilled at everything from big waves to stand up paddling on the rivers. Edison and Bruno will determine what you need and they'll take you to just the right spot to work on the key skills to get you to the next level. They are a delightful team who clearly enjoy what they are doing and take the time to get to know you. Finally, Jenni and the camp are awesome too! She makes you feel like a house guest not a customer. The accommodations are spacious and clean. Located on the river, you can paddle out to surf. Where else are you going to pick wonderful and bananas and mangos outside your back door? I was introduced to the Surf School through a dear friend who has been coming here for many years. Now I understand why! If you want an easy going vibe, some outstanding surfing and long to appreciate Hawaii like a native, this is the place to go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best vacation in the best place of the world”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We planned to go to Hawaii several times before, and this year, in November, we finally managed to do this! And that was really the best vacations in the best place of the world -Haleiwa! To start with – it was a long trip for us from Moscow (Russia), but at the end – we got all we expected and even what we did not expect: surf, fun, motions, realized dreams! The camp, its location and people there, all these things gave so specific and unforgettable feelings and experience, that once we found ourselves in the big touristic place (Waikiki), we wanted to return to Haleiwa. So, if you want to feel and try to understand what is surf, what is the freedom, this camp could give you the best chance. Certainly, it could not be possible without human efforts and for these we could not not to express our big and special thanks to Edison and Jenni who makes the camp as such, and for feelings of the power of waves and ability to catch the waves in all its sense – to our terrific instructor- Bruno! We love you, guys, and I hope we will be back sometime. I even think that now if it is a choice between skiing and snowboarding, we will choose surfing!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
“Great time!”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We spent 6 days surfing with Edison and Bruno and loved each one. I hadn't anticipated being able to keep up with the pace, but I got help and encouragement at every step and ended up not wanting to miss out on a day in the ocean and surfing. Who would have thought!
The accommadations were very clean and in a peaceful location.
Made for an active and rejuvenating vacation. Would love to do this again in the future!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Surf Hawaii Surf School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing