We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous park & waterfall”
Review of Waimea Valley

Waimea Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.00*
and up
Go Oahu Card
More Info
US$136.12*
and up
Small-Group Oahu Ultimate Circle Island Eco-Adventure
More Info
US$104.50*
and up
Oahu Coach Tour Including Dole Plantation and Waimea Falls
Ranked #4 of 57 things to do in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience Hawaiʻiʻs Living Culture in Waimea Valley, deeply rooted in authentic Hawaiian History, Culture, Spirituality and Tradition. Waimea Valley is a world apart from Waikiki, be in the quiet of nature, beautiful flowers, rare plants, cultural sites and a beautiful waterfall for swimming.
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Gorgeous park & waterfall”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just across the street from the North Shore, Waimea Valley park & waterfall turned out to be one of my family's favorite places on Oahu. The minute we started our walk through the park, we were blown away by how beautiful it was. Being the picture taker in our group, I was practically jumping up and down with excitement at all the photo ops there. We started with a nice, little lunch at the cafe near the entrance and enjoyed seeing posters of all the movies filmed in the park. My husband and I and our kids (11 & 8) took the wide, paved path to the waterfall, which was a very doable, easy "hike." We took some more beautiful pictures at the waterfall and then got a ride on a golf cart back to the main entrance. This is a must-visit if you're on the North Shore!

Helpful?
Thank beachbeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    582
    343
    101
    29
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Poulsbo
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Bring a picnic and TAKE YOUR TIME! The Gardens are BEAUTIFUL! Be aware that it DOES get a tad muddy after rains, but worth it! Call ahead if you want to swim in the water falls. It may not be possible if there was recently poor weather.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cergy, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“worth the detour”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The valley is really beautiful and for those loving parks, trees and flowers it is fine.
Falls is the main attraction though and really worth the trip. Waterbis really great and life vests for those like me who are not great swimmers .

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Guelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden and waterfall”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a lovely botanical garden with a very nice walkway that leads to gorgeous Waimea Falls, where you can swim if you'd like (presuming it's open for swimming...if the bacteria levels in the water are too high they will close it). They do make you wear a lifejacket (which they will provide) and the entry is tricky (the rocks are very slippery!), but it's a nice way to cool off after a pretty muggy walk. Be prepared though, the water is COLD!! Yes, there is a charge to get in, but that's how they are able to keep the park maintained, so I didn't mind it a bit. There's also a nice gift shop and a place to eat at the entrance (which we didn't eat so I can't comment on that). Overall a lovely way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TxMama414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floral Park, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Nature Conservancy”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The waterfall in Waimea Valley was recommended to us by a few people, and was a nice way to spend our time. The park charges an entry fee ($15/adults, $7.50 for kids 12 and under) which we hadn't expected, but once inside walked the 3/4 mile trail up into the valley through a lush tropical rainforest. At the end of the trail is the waterfall, with a swimming hole (with life guards and free life vests for all ages). We were not prepared well - - should've brought swim shoes (for the rocks), bathing suits and towels (there's a changing room available), but two of our kids went swimming anyway and really enjoyed it. The gift shop had lovely locally made items, and reasonable prices for many souvenirs.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KDeegs423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waimea Valley also viewed

 

Been to Waimea Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing