We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely garlicky garlic shrimps!!”

Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
Ranked #7 of 89 Restaurants in Haleiwa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: The Original Shrimp Truck Since 1993
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely garlicky garlic shrimps!!”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Heard of this place from a friend who insisted that we make a special trip from Honolulu to try the shrimps from giovanni's Shrimp truck, and boy were we glad that we did!! We were lucky to get there just before 12.30pm to beat the lunch hour rush. If we had waited another 15-20mins that we would've been caught in a huge queue! So, get in between 11.30am-12.30pm if you can.
We ordered the garlic shrimps and chilli shrimps. The chilli shrimps packed a hot punch, though not unbearable (I love hot spicy food). But the stars of the show are definitely the garlic shrimps! If you love garlic, then you won't be disappointed, and if you also love shrimps then you will be in heaven! Truly worth a special visit!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kalpesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Make sure to thank your friend for us and we are happy you enjoyed your experience at the shrimp truck... Enjoy the island and hope to see you again in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    709
    488
    206
    65
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Killer road side food”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Don't let the truck fool you, this place has both affordable and good food tasting food. Had the no 1 and 3, both were amazing! A must visit!

Helpful?
Thank Steeda46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We think its killer as well.. LOL Happy you enjoyed the experience and the food at the location.. Enjoy the island and hope to see you again in the future...


Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
756 reviews
533 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Love it”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Worth the wait. My wife was here years ago and brought me here today. Damn good shrimp you have to peel them, but not a big deal. And cool old truck.

Helpful?
Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We are happy you feel it is worth the wait and we feel the same... Thank you for being loyal to us and visiting the location again for the shrimp you enjoy... Take care and hope to see you again in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Arezzo, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Shrimp truck”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Me and my wife we were reccomended by a friend of us to visit Giovanni's Shrimp Truck. The place is minimal and sometime the line is very long but it is worth the wait. They serve just 4 dishes and we just try the Scampi with garlic rice. Amazing.
Defenetly a nice and authentic stop if you are in Ohau.

Jod job Giovanni!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank buccia85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Make sure to thank your friend for us... We are happy you enjoyed the experience at the location and hope to see you again in the future..

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“previously frozen, chewy, pasty tasting, too big for their own good”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Try Titas just down the road from this truck. Fame and popularity have ruined Giovani's. The food simply is not any good compared to the many other places to get spicy or garlic shrimp. This place is surviving with large crowds of tourist, that like me, were most likely drawn in due to the large crowds standing around for 45 minutes waiting on the food. The young lady behind the counter was exceptionally polite and embues the 'aloha' spirit, but if you really want some decent food give this place a miss and go straight to Titas -- or try both, and then you'll see what I mean.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank flowal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gioshrimp, Guest Relations Manager at Giovanni's Shrimp Truck, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
I'm sorry to hear you had a bad experience at the shrimp truck, but am happy the staff was customer friendly... I will forward your review to the owner and hope you give us another chance in the future...

Jorge Amorim
Giovanni's Shrimp Truck
808-293-1839
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giovanni's Shrimp Truck also viewed

 

Been to Giovanni's Shrimp Truck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing