We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“condos are ok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turtle Bay Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kahuku
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turtle Bay Condos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“condos are ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed a week in mid September in an east ground level condo. The views are outstanding of the golf course. We arrived at 6pm after a nearly 3 hour drive from Honolulu via wahiawa. No one told us the bridge the was closed. Imagine la's 405 traffic narrowed down to one lane in rush hour for mile after mile. Even with police at the few major intersections traffic overwhelmed any effort they might have attempted. Checking into the condo after hours was a breeze. The rental agency had everything handled. The condo's grounds are beautifully maintained. A car was parked in our unit's space the first three days we were there. We parked in a spot that was actually closer to our unit. Greeting us day three was a notice on our car we would be booted, shot, or experimented on if the car was kept in the unauthorized spot. Lucky us, the one taking our spot magically vanished and from then on we parked legally. Beach access was either a short drive or 10 minute walk up to the hotel. There was ample beach parking and especially handicap spaces. The beach was never crowded and was totally relaxing. Food land, the supermarket, was almost equally distant easr or west down Kamehameha. Prices are 2 to 5times higher than on the mainland. Get their shopper membership to save s little. Do not by fruits from the local road stands. They are not cheaper and we wound up with bugs in the fruit we bought.

The condo was OK and had bare essentials. Almost everything except the bedroom needed updating. The screen door on the lanai was broken. The air conditioner was at floor level in the living room, a poor location for any AC uit. Worse, it was terribly under powered. thank goodness for the ceiling fans and it cooled off after secveral days.internet was flawless and there was a nice sized flat TV. However the cable only delivered non hi def video.

The fridge started making a buzzing noise every few minutes prior to our departure. We awoke the last morning to a flood from it in the kitchen and hallway. Shut the water valve to it and cleaned all up. We left and returned the keys to the rental office. I had to wait while the lady behind the counter finallay asked the person on her personal call to hold. I told her about the flood and as non caring as she could be she said, "oh, the refrigerator." No thank you for cleaning up, shutting the water off or sorry. no asking if we even enjoyed our stay which we did.no aloha from this person and the only non friendly person we met.

With modernizing the condo could have been really nice.

It's location could not be beat to sunset and the other beaches.





Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    15
    12
    8
    12
See reviews for
38
21
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

Absolutely the nices place I've stayed at away from home!

If you're looking for a nice relaxing time with a group of people (we had 6) this is the place for you. We stayed in unit D114 when first entering we were blown away. It was way better than I thought it would be. Bottom floor was ideal. 10 paces to the private pool. 20 paces through secure gate to the beach. Paradise!!

Room had everything we needed including a blender for cool drinks. Fully modern everything. Part of the deal was we had all access to all turtle bay amenities as well

The only issue I could see staying anywhere on the north shore is the fact that it is a drive from the bust spots on Oahu (Waikiki 1 hour)

11/10 1 week is not long enough! Would go back to the same spot in a heart beat

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTW81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Uintas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

Wow, where to start? This place is amazing! Our only regret was that our stay at our 4-bedroom Turtle Bay Villa wasn't for longer. The Villa was HUGE , VERY nicely appointed, & was stocked with all the beach amenities one might ever need. The Villas owner , Mike Jewell ( who, as opposed to many of the other Villa owners is a private , non-Turtle Bay affiliated renter which saves you $$$!), supplied us in advance with a thoughtful overview of all the areas restaurants , grocery stores, etc. Mike also provided us with an on site facilitator , Jacinda , who was most helpful in answering our questions. Check in and check out were both a piece of cake. Top that off by adding that we accidentally left a couple of our phones accessories there after check out which Mike volunteered to send t us no charge , and you get the picture! A truly first class experience !

Room Tip: There's only 1 close parking spot per villa. Additional cars must park in an adjacent lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deroney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Arkansas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

My family was planning on visiting the Polynesian Cultural Center (less than 15 minutes away) and staying the whole day. Since we had two little ones we did not want to make the trek back to Honolulu so late. There were other family members who were staying with us so I started looking around in the area.
Turtle Bay Condos was the first website I stumbled upon. Compared to the other websites this one did not have all the flashiness, but I spoke to a representative numerous times on the phone and she was extremely helpful and sympathetic to what we wanted to do. She gave us a wonderful rate and it seemed too good to be true.
We arrived on a Sunday and received our instructions from the office. The condo was incredible; updated and beautiful. This was a two bedroom unit with a pull-out bed from the couch. The second room was an upstairs loft with a door and window looking down on the living area. It had its own bathroom. The back porch looked out onto the golf course and was supplied with all sorts of beach items. A swimming pool was a hop, skip and jump away. The unit easily accommodated all of us. The only issue was that the front bedroom did not have air which made it rather warm. We used some of the fans found in the unit to make it cooler.
The beach was very close and we spent some time there. For those who have stayed in Honolulu, North Shore is quite a bit different. You are not going to find shopping areas and hotels. Turtle Bay Resort and PCC are the biggest things around. Period. This is a relaxing getaway area.
We used our wonderfully supplied kitchen to make breakfast. There was a Foodland in Sunset Beach (minutes away) and Ted's Bakery was also close. For dinner we ate from a shrimp truck which was also nearby. As already stated, PCC was extremely close.
We stayed two nights and would DEFINITELY stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackalopeSighting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn Hills
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2012

I want to take the time now to reiterate that this was for the Turtle Bay Condos, not the resort. We stayed here for our friend's wedding to save some money, instead of the villas they had chosen down the road. Our flight was delayed and we missed checking into the condo before the office (which is OFF-SITE), closed at 4 pm. They left the keys and key fab inside of the condo we had rented. I was told that they were going to include rules for the condo rental, however nothing was given to us. When we finally figured out where our condo was, we gained access into the property. Upon entering the condo (25 East), were were greeted with the smell of must. In a corner of a window and the sliding door, there was either a) an accumulation of dirt or, b) black mold. On the ceiling, there was obvious water damage from the unit above us. This was not a great first impression at all. Over the duration of the week, we found four cockroaches (2 dying, 2 already dead) in the condo. We had read a review about blackout curtains (for those that are not used to the sun coming up at 5:30 am), hair dryers, and great amenities. That was not the case in this specific condo. We had curtains that were rusted onto the curtain rods, one set of towels, and curtains that blocked nothing out. If you really just want a place to sleep, this might be your place to flop. If you want something a little nicer, stay at the resort. One positive about property was that it was mostly quiet.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spartan0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kahuku hotels

Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Found it on VRBO http://www.vrbo.com/121614.

Date of Stay: 12/30/11 - 01/06/12

We stayed (2 adults & 2 teenagers) in the Condo for a week for the New Year's holiday. Very quiet location! It is located on the Turtle Bay Resort property, which is very quiet & peaceful. I heard one siren on New Year's Eve night. The Condo isn't fancy, but it was very clean and the beds were comfy. I have had numerous back injuries, so I'm very picky! :) The property is well maintained! We will visit again and refer our friends & family. We booked the condo through the owner, who was very helpful before & during our stay. It was very easy to find great beaches & places to eat. There are public beaches on both sides of the hotel that you can use. We also drove and visited several other beaches during our stay. Our first night we ate & watched the sunset at the Turtle Bay Hotel's Hang Ten Bar & Grill. The hotel has the best Ahi Sashimi. We ate at their Lei Lei's Bar and Grill on New Year's Day. BTW they have the best Mai Tai! I heard from friends that the hotel has a wonderful brunch on Sunday, but we didn't want that much food. We picked up food to go from one of the shrimp trucks (Romy's Kahuku Prawns & Shrimp) and a Sushi resturaunt in Haleiwa (Banzai Sushi Bar). We picked up fresh fruit & veggies from the fruit stands located close to the resort. There are Foodland Super Markets about 5 miles to the right & left of the resort. The one in Laie is newer and bigger. We also ate at Surfin' Tacos in Laie. We liked their shrimp tacos.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ReneeFavoritePlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

If you want to stay in Turtle bay without breaking the bank at the resort, the Kuilima Estates condos are a good less expensive alternative. The condos are located a 5-10 minute walk away from the beach, and surround the world famous Turtle Bay Golf Course. This is not a high-end resort atmosphere, and it appears that half of the residents are long term stays or even living in the condos. We enjoyed this aspect greatly as it seemed slightly more authentic (although still touristy). The condo complex is not fancy, and it is definitely made up of older buildings. The pool was nice enough, and there are tennis courts on site. Parking is free and it's a secure gated area.

The condo we stayed in had been upgraded, and was very nice inside. The kitchen was a bit small, but it had nice granite counter tops and stainless steel appliances (including a dishwasher). The bathroom was good as well, and it had a washer/dryer in the closet. The living room had a beautiful view over the golf course to the ocean, and it was tastefully decorated in Hawaiian decor. There was a large flat screen TV and wireless internet. The only downside of the living room was that the sofa was looking a little tired. The bedroom was an upstairs loft, and it had a queen-sized bed. The loft was stylishly decorated as well, but it got super hot up there during the day, and it took until midnight for us to cool it off with the AC running. If you can't handle warm sleeping temperatures, this might be a deal breaker for you, but we viewed it as only a minor setback.

As a side note, I wouldn't want to stay in this condo if we weren't into cooking our own meals as the restaurant choices are limited on the North Shore. We bought groceries from Whole Foods in Diamond Head, and Foodland on the North Shore. There are a couple of decent places to eat out nearby, but be prepared to drive.

Turtle Bay was our favourite beach on Oahu, and it was wonderful to be able to stroll down there from this condo instead of driving. This is a great family destination, and the North Shore location is hard to beat as long as you don't want to be directly on the beach.

We stayed in Kuilima West unit #88 for a negotiated rate of $105 per night. This was the first of two weeks in Oahu, and we spent the following week at the Sheraton Waikiki Beach. It was great to have the juxtaposition of the quiet laid back North Shore with the bustle of Waikiki Beach. We would definitely stay at this Kuilima condo again, and would recommend it to others as long as they aren't looking for a luxury resort setting.

Room Tip: I can only recommend Kuilima West unit #88 and suggest that research would be necessary for other un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masterr8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahuku
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
Kalani Hawaii Private Lodging
#1 of 1 in Sunset Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Condos

Property: Turtle Bay Condos
Address: 56-565 Kamehameha Hwy, Kahuku, Oahu, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Condos Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing