We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review is for condo, not hotel”
Review of Turtle Bay Condos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kahuku
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Turtle Bay Condos
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed in one of the Turtle Bay condos next to the hotel. The condo allowed us to use hotel amenities such as the pool and beach. However, a great thing about renting a condo was that there are smaller pools next to the condos, and they are often deserted, rendering them private pools for us.

The hotel has an open lobby that seems spacious and relaxing, although a bit dated. The beach is rocky---not a walk in beach, as there are many rocks on the bottom. However, once into the water, there are many fish and other sea life, including urchins, coral, sea cucumbers, snails. The site is away from other hotels, so the overall sense is one of silence and calm.

Our condo was rented from a private owner. The condo was a one-bedroom loft, and was extremely hot and uncomfortable. Do not let anyone talk you into renting a "breezy" condo without air-conditioning. This condo advertised air-conditioning, but it was a single window unit for the whole condo, and everyone in the family wedged our bodies around the unit every night, dripping sweat off each other.

To the east of the hotel are a few shrimp trucks serving lunch. These places serve shrimp either deep fried, sauteed, grilled. The standard accompaniments are macaroni salad and rice. About $8 per plate. The trucks are next to the aquaculture farms that grow the shrimp, so the shrimp are guaranteed fresh.

To the west of the hotel is the famed Oahu north shore. If you park on the street, beware that theft from cars is very common. We had locked backpack and ipods stolen from the trunk of our locked car. Ted's Bakery is an institution in the north shore: excellent value for plate lunches and pies. Do not leave without sampling the chocolate haupia pie. The pie crust is homemade and it is worth its price in gold. Seriously. The meringue pies are good, too, but the haupia is priceless.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank anonymousfortwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2013

We really, really wanted to stay at Turtle Bay Resort, couldn't/wouldn't afford it. So we got the next best thing by staying at the condos right next to it. First, I'll say the setting is dramatic and beautiful. The North Shore is stunning in it's beauty. We came in Feb when it was pretty windy, and made for watching the huge waves on the north shore mesmerizing.

The condo itself was adequate--one bedroom (the bed was surprisingly comfortable and supportive)--with a living and kitchen area--but not luxurious. It worked out pretty good for our family as it was quite a bit bigger than the resort room would have been, and I liked the idea of cooking meals without having to go out to eat every night (there are not many restaurants in Laie).

We spent a lot of time walking around the grounds, turtle bay resort, and rented bikes at the resort shopt and rode up and down the many miles of paths along the shore. We found a jut and watched the sunset over the waves, very nice and romantic. The resort has a stunning golf course that although we don't golf, loved to walk and enjoyed the scenery.

The one downer about the condos is that we felt like we had to scrimp on electricity and water, and still got charged for electricity overage. However, the cost savings of staying here over the resort was over $100 per day difference which is waaaayyyy more worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank showlowdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We found a well priced rental here for our visit to the North Shore. Turtle bay is easy to find and secure (which becomes important on the North Shore). It is about fifteen minutes from the Polynesian Cultural Center in one direction and thirty minutes from Haleiwa in the other direction. The condo's have a pool, but no spa (though I won't tell if you sneak into the resort's pol/spa). The walk down to the resort (and its two beaches) is five minutes. I am sure the condos vary, but ours was large and comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianSix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Beautiful location, condo is dated. The fridge was clean on the inside but unsightly on the outside with a very rusty door. Came in late one night to find that the cockroaches had taken over. I killed 3 then reported the next day and maintenance came in and sprayed. Left all the lights on for the rest of the stay.

Will not return ever!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Family of six stayed in this unit that has two bedrooms and a loft. It is nicely decorated with all the needs of home (new appliances, washer-dryer, dishes, etc.) and a great location. Pool right outside the front door, gated parking with a numbered spot in front of the condo and the back door opens onto the third fairway of the Fazio golf course. Access to all hotel amenities and restaurants at the Resort. Shrimp trucks, Brigham Young University, Polynesian Cultural Centre and local faire heading north toward Laie (10 minute drive) and the best beaches (Sunset, Banzai, Pipeline, Shark's Cove for diving, Waimea Bay, etc) on Oahu less than 10 minutes heading south the other way. Surf town Haleiwa and the Dole Plantation within 15 minutes on the way to Waikiki which is no more than 45 minutes away in traffic. The owner was great to deal with, excellent communication. Would rent this unit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

in January 2012, we stayed in the Ocean Villas right on the beach, next to the hotel. These are the primo location for the resort! There was a pool for our use just 20 steps from our first floor condo and the beach was just another 75 yards. The beach in front of our condos was never crowded and we even saw whales in the distance one day.

Our condo accommodations were great, it was a 3 bedroom/2 bath with good kitchen and living space. Every morning we ate breakfast on the patio listening to the waves and seeing the beach. We came back to the condo each night and cooked dinner and saved a lot of money on food with doing two meals at the condo.

The Turtle Bay resort was immaculately kept and looked beautiful. We were able to go onto the resort's trails for running and walking. We made our way to the banyan tree that was used in Lost, which was really cool. There are also some more private beach areas over on the west side of the resort. You'll want to catch a sunset from the west side of the resort.

Be aware that the main 2 lane road around the beach areas gets VERY crowded and slows down considerably on the weekends, allow for 30-60 extra minutes to get through.

Room Tip: The first floor was great since we could walk right out to the pool or beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank akate22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012 via mobile

What an amazing place! Love the condo, was set up with everything we needed when we arrived. The beach is nearby, and beautiful. Three air conditioners make every room comfortable. Don't want to leave, will definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie012345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahuku
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,187 reviews
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Condos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Condos

Address: 56-565 Kamehameha Hwy, Kahuku, Oahu, HI
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Kahuku
Price Range: £100 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Condos Hawaii/Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing