We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shaka Kayaks

Shaka Kayaks
Ranked #9 of 14 things to do in Kahuku
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Paddle through Kawela Bay in an area that in ancient times was reserved for the Ali'i or hawaiian royalty. View beautiful coral reefs, tropical fish, and WWII wreckage just 3 feet below the Peekaboo™ window on your kayak. Stop at a honu "cleaning station" and watch as some of our green sea turtles get cleaned. For adventure seekers you have the option to surf your kayaks on small 1' waves or try out the sport your guides invented: Stand Up Kayaking! Explore the secluded Kawela Beach and hike through the jungle tunnel to explore the WWII bunker at Protection Point. Swim in the calm waters of the bay or bird watch for endangered species on one of the many hiking trails through the forest. Relax and enjoy the local refreshments provided for you by your guide. Your keiki will help you search for the buried treasure with the map they find on the trip. Along the shore you can see lava tubes, small sea caves and blowholes. While kayaking, watch out for the two dozen resident sea turtles the Turtle Bay is named after. Visit the "Lost" Banyan Tree where the hit TV show Lost, Pirates of the Caribbean IV and Hunger Games 2 were filmed. Optionally you can decide to stay longer at Kawela Bay and your guide can provide you with a walking map of the 2 mile trail back to Turtle Bay Resort.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Montesano, Washington
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

Wonderful time, our guides were wonderful, great stories, a few turtle sightings, mostly in a protected bay, we went out just a ways to the edge of the bay and rounded back to the beach for a snack and a drink, then a walk out to the end of spit to view an old war bunker. They took pictures of us all together and separate as well.

Excellent!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TamiA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    15
    4
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lawton, Oklahoma, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun activity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

Excellent activity. Started with a reservation at turtle bay resort. Took a 5 minute van ride, while watching a quick orientation and safety type video, to kawela bay where we were given our life jackets and ocean type flat top kayaks. We then were led out into the bay and shown some sights and went to turtle hot spots. Took a short break at the one hour mark for a snack, fresh cut pineapple, and juice. We took a short walk down a path where we were shown local flora and fauna and told some local folklore. Got back in the kayaks for another hour of paddling and fun. Ryan and John were excellent guides and made sure to answer everyone's questions. Really great guides and knowledgeable. Basically some kayaking in a bay, turtle viewing, 10 min snack break, 10 minute hike, and some more kayaking. The guides take pictures during the activity and email them to you for free which was a pleasant bonus. You also get a water bottle with their logo to take home with you. Overall a very enjoyable activity. About 100 per person if single kayaking but they do provide a military discount for servicemembers. They will provide a dry bag if you have items you don't want getting wet or will lock them in the transport van for you.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_Cashon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun and informational”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2013

We had a great time. I am an experienced kayaker, so this was pretty laid back for me. My husband is never comfortable in the water, so this was just right for him. The kayaks had glass bottoms so you could see the sea turtles under the water. They gave you the chance to try stand up kayaking if you wanted. They also took us on a little hike and told us about the native plants and what the Hawaiian's used them for.
The guys were laid back and so were the people on the tour with us.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant activity”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We were guests at Turtle Bay and signed up for ocean kayaking through the adventure center on Turtle Bay grounds. It starts with a quick 5 minute drive to Kuilima Bay, where we did our kayaking. The water is calm and the kayaks are sturdy enough for all weights--anyone can do this. Kids can ride along with their parents if they aren't big enough to paddle themselves.

We saw sea turtles, although I never got a really good view of one. There are windows in the bottom of the kayaks, but there's really not a lot of sea life in this bay.

After paddling around a while, we got out and were offered snacks (granola bars) and drinks, and we did a short walk. The kids got to do a "treasure hunt" and it seemed like they liked that.

Then we got back on the water and they taught us to stand up on the kayak (if you wanted to).

One great thing about this is that they took digital photos while we were there, and e-mailed them to us for free later that day. Also, everyone got a free water bottle (the souvenir kind) to take home.

My one complaint is that the guides were too soft spoken--they provided a lot of information that I couldn't hear unless I was right up next to them. Not good for hosting a group activity.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orange county, california
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not really much kayaking going on”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

They only take you out to a small little cove. You get out of the kayak and walk around to some sights - that's not really kayaking!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank catherine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shaka Kayaks also viewed

 

Been to Shaka Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing