We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed Review: Beware of theft on outside lanai at cottages!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Turtle Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Westfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Mixed Review: Beware of theft on outside lanai at cottages!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We just returned home from our three night stay at TBR. Traveling with kids ages 13 and 15, we booked a cottage room and found it to be very spacious and the bathroom was beautiful. Sliding doors have an option for either glass or screen and opens up to a rocking chair, small table and 2 chairs. Pretty lawn area with hammocks and view of ocean are serene. Beware of leaving anything outside to dry. We did, and learned the hard way. My husband's BRAND NEW bathing suit AND swim shirt were stolen. They were left outside to dry while we went to dinner, and were gone when we returned. This was very upsetting, and to think I wanted to sleep with the screen door open! We informed security, and they filed a report. My husband informed the manager, and was given 20 percent off dinner at one of their restaurants. Ha! So, the big consolation here was to have to spend more money at one of their restaurants and receive NO compensation for their lack of security at their hotel. I then went to speak to management, and got Rob, who looked me right in the eye and told me he would find a way to compensate us. I actually took him for his word, but no such compensation occurred. And we never did use that restaurant coupon. I didn't feel safe sleeping in the cottages. And now we had nowhere to dry our stuff. Plus, the lighting is poor on the way to the hotel, and you have to cross a bridge in which we encountered obvious locals. I wouldn't allow my teens to go out without us once it got dark, and this was a total drawback to staying in the cottages! I voiced this to Rob as well. The public also uses the lawn by the cottages to access the water, so we knew after we were stolen from that we couldn't truly feel safe in that area. After being robbed, I went on trip advisor and read that there was another theft of shoes taken right before our stay. Why no warning to us in the cottages? This is remiss on the part of management at TBR. If I am staying on your property, this should be made known to me so that I don't experience it as well. I don't go to a resort on vacation expecting to be stolen from.
The construction did occur all day with jack-hammers, etc....by the pool area. We could even hear them under water. The beach was beautiful, but shade comes at a price if you want a shaded chair. The segways were a hit, but we got a text the next day that they were being discounted, so ask before you book! The Shaka kayak tour did have waves with high tide in the morning. And turtle visibility was difficult, although we all managed to see at least one. Surfing lessons were the best, but spend more to get the one on one time with an instructor. If not, you will wait to catch a wave while lined up in the water. Restaurants are all pricey. Left one day for shrimp truck lunch. Had pb and j in the room as well as cereal. Muffins by the pool much cheaper than upstairs. VERY beautiful property. Not hard to get chairs on beach or by pool. Cool vibe to hotel. Lobby under construction. Tutu Janet gives a wonderful ukelele lesson. She is a sweet lady. Maybe I'd stay there again when construction is over and there is better security, but never in the cottages, unless they were gated which they can't do because the beach is public. The actual hotel staff are all very nice, especially the guys out front, and concierge. The cleaning staff are all very pleasant and friendly. The sunsets are amazing! Go early for a seat on bench. If not, lots of places to stand near pool area.

Room Tip: Don't leave anything outside at cottages. Theft is occuring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NJ_Familee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We’re very happy that you enjoyed the destination of the North Shore and that you found your accommodation to be beautiful and comfortable. We’re so pleased that you got to enjoy some of the resort’s activities and ukulele lesson.

In striving to always improve our resort, we are undergoing renovations which, unfortunately, do cause disruptions from time to time. The renovations you experienced were Turtle Bay’s green roof project and the new Guide Post. The new roof will enable us to save substantial electricity and the Guide Post kiosk is being introduced to help guests plan their stays and enhance their experiences while staying with us. All projects will be completed within the next months.

We are extremely sorry about the theft of your husband’s bathing suit and swim shirt and that the dinner compensation was not adequate. We are currently checking with Rob to make sure that our security team was notified and to see what his follow-up action was at the time.

We at Turtle Bay would honor the opportunity of speaking with you in regards to your experience and stolen bathing suit. Please give us a call at the below number. Your experience and memories of your stay are very important to us. We want you to treasure them and want you to return.

Warmest aloha,
Danna Holck, General Manager & Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
808.293.6000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,275
    843
    321
    108
    86
See reviews for
1,246
1,697
66
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were at Turtle Bay during our wedding down the road. I thought it was a very nice resort - quiet and with some good access to beach and pools. The golf courses were very nice - I only played the Fazio, but others I was with played the Palmer and very much enjoyed - though the bunkers were awful on both courses. The rooms were very nicely appointed - our suite upgrade for the wedding was fantastic, very luxurious.

One of my bigger complaints about the hotel is the service at the restaurants. They were, without exception, incredibly slow. Both in taking and delivering orders to tables. This was over multiple days and kept me from eating at any of the restaurants again (and we were there for 5 nights). There is too much good and fresh food on the north shore to wait for 90 minutes to have lunch delivered to the table.

But overall I really liked the hotel. It's not a 5 star luxury resort, but it is as nice as a place like the Royal Hawaiian, I think. I wish they'd go SPG.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Aloha,

Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for spending time with us at Turtle Bay and sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor. We’re happy to learn what you enjoyed as well as the areas you believe we can improve. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to review and improve our processes. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back to Turtle Bay someday.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck, Turtle Bay V.P.
Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Beautiful ocean view and lots of amenities, but a pretty generic resort experience. Felt like we could have been anywhere. And everything Is expensive, even for Hawaii.
The service was good though. We ate at Kula Grill and the food was very good. The buffet was good for our kids (under 5 eat free) and our waiter, Redmond, was very good. We also ate at the Hand 10 Pool Bar one night and while the food was only mediocre, our waiter Kione, was working very hard! This hotel has a turn- down service which is really nice when you have been in the room--as we were--in the afternoon, messing things up. Lourdes and Teora came and remade the beds, closed the shades and took out our trash. We had a really nice trail ride experience with Christina and Carlos. Overall, if a resort is what you're looking for on vacation, this is a nice one.

Room Tip: All rooms have great ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for staying with us on the Fabled North Shore and sharing how great our service is on Trip Advisor. We know other resorts may have similar activities to what we offer, but it’s our amazing staff that truly sets us apart from the competition. We will pass on your review to Redmond, Keone, Lourdes, Teora, Christina and Carlos as well as thank them for their great service. Overall, we’re glad you had a nice vacation and hope you know we would love to welcome your family back to Turtle Bay in the future.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck, Turtle Bay V.P.
Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

TBR is set in a lovely location with a beautiful beach/lagoon as well as a nice pool area. It is a lot quieter than Waikiki hotels. My husband loved TBR and wants to return whereas I thought it was nice but wouldn't necessarily return. The hotel is set up so I think all rooms would have a view. We had a family room on 5th floor (an end room) which has an extra little annex with sofa bed/TV. Room size and bathroom were great, loved the rainforest shower. Did not like the constant broken elevators, each day it seemed different elevators weren't working and I think we had only one day when all 4 were working. Renovations going on in the foyer made the place look shabby. Hotel handled hurricane well with ample communication. Buffet at restaurant was awful for breakfast, would not recommend. However you can buy fruit, croissant, etc from the lobby lounge or shop which was sufficient. Experienced both good service and poor service when dining. Loved the cabanas at the beach (they cost but normal chairs didn't), loved the pool, loved the smoothies, loved the Northshore. But you could just hire a car from Waikiki and drive to the Northshore for the day without having to stay there. Daughter did the pony experience which she loved and we thought was good but otherwise think the resort is more about couples (no playground) lying by the pool/beach all day and relaxing. If you stay, do visit Hale'iwa (maybe 20 minutes in car) and Laniakea Beach with the turtles.

Room Tip: Higher the better the view, family room is good for some separation from kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MKJS-A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us on Trip Advisor. We understand your disappointment with our recent elevator problems. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that may have caused you. We have contacted our Restaurant managers concerning the mixed service you received while dining with us. Management will review with their teams and make sure all employees are serving our guests with aloha. We can only hope to have the honor of serving you again someday.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck, Turtle Bay V.P.
Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This was my 3rd stay at Turtle Bay and my first stay in the beachside villas ... absolutely wonderful. We were there on the day of the 'hurricane' ... I lay in the hammock, listening to the waves on the beach and the wind in the palm trees, while watching clouds scoot overhead ... it was as if I was in another world!! There is so much to do at the resort ... or you can do nothing!! Have never been slightly disappointed in my 3 stays.

Room Tip: Beach side villas were amazing and very private ... hammocks were great!!
See more room tips
Green Features: Great to have the choice of clean towels and linen
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Aloha,

Mahalo for the perfect rating on Trip Advisor and for continuing to visit us at Turtle Bay. Our resort is a great place to do everything (surf, kayak, hike, bike, segway, fly in a helicopter, horseback ride, golf and more) or nothing at all but relax on the beach or at Nalu Kinetic Spa with a massage! We look forward to the honor of welcoming you back a fourth time and appreciate your kind words!

Mahalo,
Danna Holck, V.P. Turtle Bay
Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Pros - the oceanside cottage was very nice (spacious and comfortable), pool side restaurant good, and pool and beach were very good. Cons - our suits were stolen from the patio, it took 45 minutes to check in, the snorkeling was not good (zero visibility), and the cold water came out hot in the evenings (which makes for a very hot shower). For the price, it seems like they should provide some security, a better registration system, and they should fix the plumbing. Their advice - run the cold water in the bathtub before showering, until it comes out cold (about 5 minutes). Oh - did I mention again that our bathing suits were stolen from our patio? We're not very happy about that.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frog001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for visiting Turtle Bay on Oahu’s fabled North Shore. We’re thrilled that you enjoyed your oceanside cottage, and were able to have fun in the pool and at the beach. We are extremely sorry to hear about your bathing suit. We are investigating this with our security team. Our Engineering Department is also researching the hot/cold water issue in the cottage and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.

We want you to return and to enjoy one of our cottages again. These accommodations are scheduled to be beautified this Fall and we would be honored to have you return and experience these enhancements firsthand. Mahalo for your communication.

Warmest aloha,
Danna Holck, General Manager & Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The resort was in a great area with lots of great food trucks and shopping areas nearby. The beach was also great and the 4th of July show/setup was awesome! So much to do and explore on this resort! Always clean, always refreshments in the lobby! Drinks and food on the resort were pretty expensive but there was a nearby grocery store and always places to explore for new foods!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madeline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Aloha,

Mahalo for celebrating Independence Day with us at Turtle Bay! We’re thrilled you enjoyed our festivities as well as our great location on the Fabled North Shore. We would love to serve you again in the future and appreciate the perfect rating on Trip Advisor!

Mahalo,
Danna Holck, Turtle Bay V.P.
Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahuku
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,186 reviews
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Property: Turtle Bay Resort
Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731-2149
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 850 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. All rooms provide an ocean view. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 452 magnificent beach cottages, ocean villas and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, snorkeling, turtle tours, kayaking, four tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails,helicopter tours, segway tours, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. An official partner of GoPro, all guests can enjoy free GoPro rentals to capture their North Shore adventures. Ideal for weddings and romantic getaways with miles of breathtaking beaches. Swaying palms. Astonishing scenery. Turtle Bay is THE setting for your most special day. Ranked among the Hawaii's Top Ten Honeymoon Hotels, each year over 350 weddings are booked to the delight of both newlyweds and their guests. Yours could be just as amazing. AWARDS & ACCOLADES: "World's Best Resorts: Hawaii: No. 7 ranking- Travel + Leisure •"Best Family Hotel/ Resort, Hawaii" - Travel Pulse, Travvy Awards •"Better World Award"- World Centric, For Helping to Create a Better World •"Inaugural Leader in Sustainability Award"- Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Association •"Best Hotels of 2016: No. 7 in Best Hotels in Honolulu-Oahu and No. 25 in the Best Hotels in Hawaii category"- U.S. News & World Report •"Top 25 Hawaii Resort" - Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice •"Top 20 Venues in Hawaii Hotels & Resorts" - Wedding Spot Awards •"Platinum Greenleader"- Trip Advisor •"10 Beach Resort Spas For a Romantic Getaway"- USA TODAY TRAVEL •"Best Courses You Can Play" - Golfweek Magazine •"Top 100 Public Courses in the US" - Golf Digest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing