We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful North Shore”
Review of Turtle Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Turtle Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was our second stay at Turtle Bay; but first time with the babies. Our taste has changed. The first time we were here which was about 7 years ago, this place seemed so luxurious. But now, it's just a nice 4 star resort and not the Ritz-Carlton.

North Shore is also a lot more crowded. 7 years ago, it was much less crowded. Maybe it was because of the great recession. This time, it was jam packed - a lot of people, and a lot of cars.

The cultural experiences offered at the hotel was either non-existent or lame. No hula lessons as advertised. No one even knew about them. In it's place, there was this dude singing with some background music. Ukulele lessons were offered by this little old lady to a bunch of adults with tip money. Our kids were ignored. No lei making lessons since the flower shop closed. We pretty much gave up on hotel activities after that.

Location is what makes this hotel unique. But the lack of competition is probably what keeps this place from being a world class resort. If this resort was anywhere else, it would get a "3" rating, but the location is phenomenal.

Food choices offered by about 30 food trucks in a 10 mile radius is incredible. The food that you get at the hotel is comparable to what you would get in Orlando Florida or Dallas Texas. There is nothing Hawaiian about it. The drinks are good, however, especially at the pool bar.

I also loved my morning runs. The kids adjusted to the time change relatively well, but I did not. So I ran on the trails for 4 to 7 miles every morning. Don't go running too late, because then you're likely to get wacked by flying golf balls. I went at 5:45am, and it's breathtaking.

The staff was friendly, but not overly helpful as you would find at 5 star resorts. They're glad that you're there spending money, but they certainly don't go out of their way. I tipped $10 for the initial bell, and $5 for each time I got the car from the valet, so they were very helpful. Also tipped housekeeping $5 every day. Maybe I should have tipped the salaried employees.

Parking - just valet your car for $15/day. It's so not worth looking for a parking stop. I'm pretty sure all the locals park at the resort for free since there is never a parking stop during the day.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Chi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Aloha,

Mahalo for returning to visit us, now with your children. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the cultural offerings. One of our guests’ favorite experiences is the Polynesian show we have at the pool every Wednesday and Sunday. The show has hula, Tahitian, fire knife dancing and more. We’re glad you enjoyed our trails but it sounds like you only went running on the blue trail, which does go through some parts of the Palmer Golf Course. We have trails on both sides of our hotel. The opposite of our hotel has trails that lead to Kawela Bay, where our horseback riding and kayaking tours are. We hope to have the honor of serving you all again someday.

Mahalo,
Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
Danna Holck, Turtle Bay V.P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,451 - 3,457 of 4,154 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

After a booking fell through for a hotel in Waikiki Beach, we decided to pay the extra to stay for one week at Turtle Bay as part of our honeymoon. It was well worth the money. The north shore is simply stunning and a peaceful getaway from Waikiki, the beaches are stunning and the hiking routes reveal some spectacular flora. The hotel itself was beautiful, rooms are exceptionally well presented (stayed in an Epic Ocean View) and we loved the room decor and Beats speakers provided in each room. There is renovation work going on but this wasn't really any inconvenience to us. There are restaurants and bars to suit every budget. We loved visiting the Surfer Bar, especially when Paula Fuga performed. She was simply outstanding. The activities on site were brilliant, we kayaked and surfed and the instructors were so friendly and informative. A special thanks to Charlie on concierge who was amazing on our last day when our holiday company had incorrectly booked our airport transfer. She is a star and an absolute asset to the resort team.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Aloha,

Mahalo for celebrating your honeymoon with us at Turtle Bay! It’s nice to know you had a great time hiking our trails, kayaking and surfing! We’re thrilled Charlie had such a positive impact on your stay and we’re sure she’ll be delighted when we share your review with her. We would love to welcome you back to the fabled North Shore again someday!

Mahalo,
Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager
Danna Holck, Turtle Bay V.P.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed at Turtle Bay this month. We had a cottage with the ocean 20 feet away! Beautiful view of the ocean and great concierge service at our disposal. Also had an ocean view room in the hotel and it was also very nice. All of the rooms in the hotel have been remodeled. Location! Location! Location! Beautiful facility.

Room Tip: If you stay, choose a cottage. Well worth it! If not, get an Ocean view room in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcanav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Aloha,

We’re delighted you had a wonderful time staying in our beach cottages and main hotel. Our one-of-a-kind location truly separates us from the rest of the Hawaii hotels. Did you know we have a little more than 400 accommodations and 840 acres? That equals approximately 2 acres of green space to every room! We hope we have the honor of welcoming you back to Turtle Bay someday.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck, V.P. Turtle Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here from July 31-August 2 for the 'honeymoon' part of our vacation and stayed the rest of the week in downtown Honolulu. Could have not chosen a better place for that. We chose the Premium King Suite with an Ocean View. The room appealed to me because it was of the bathtub window that opened up to the balcony facing the ocean. Although our stay was brief, I'll include a review of what we did.

The room and decor was beautiful; view was stunning, facing the pool area and the ocean. Bathroom was very spacey, clean and in great condition. We showered and used the bathtub twice a day to take advantage of how beautiful it was! Bed was comfortable. I loved the 'aloha' pillows and the turqoise decor.

We purchased the bed and breakfast package so it was nice to have breakfast included (breakfast buffet at the grille was ~$33 pp, which was quite pricey). The breakfast itself was pretty good - good variety of different dishes and fresh fruit! The pineapple was absolutely amazing and so sweet and golden. I ordered a guava juice each morning!

The location of the property was good. Unfortunately, we didn't have enough time to explore to whole area near the resort, but we did manage to do some snorkelling (free for an hour if you are a resort guest) and took part in free ukulele lessons (with Tutu Janet!). We ate at the grille for dinner our first night there and it was quite expensive. The next night, we decided to venture out on our rented Jeep Wrangler and went to some food trucks parked on the side of the road. Can't remember the name of them but they had delicious sandwiches, namely the seared Ahi tuna burger with a taro bun.

We also went down to the gift store to see what they had. This was the first gift store I've been to in O'ahu so I sort of got sucked in to getting a few things...but be warned. A gift store in a resort is always more expensive. If you plan on staying in Honolulu, I would wait. Prices are a bit cheaper than the resort.

All in all we absolutely loved our stay. We payed extra $$ to get 'lei'd' upon arrival - that was a nice experience. Staff were very friendly and approachable; they went above and beyond! Our Jeep Wrangler needed the top up and for those of you who have rented one or own one, it's intricate to put it back together. The gentleman upfront did everything for us while we stood and watch!

I would recommend partaking in the free activities they have to offer. The ukulele lesson was fun with Tutu Janet; although she can go on with her stories. The resort was and probably will be for some time now, in midst of renovating. They were upgrading the lobby area so parts of it were blocked off. The staff were very nice - they must've known that it was our honeymoon and they delivered a bottle of free champagne when we were out for dinner! The only thing I didn't like was how we still had to pay for water in the room, especially the rate they charged us for the room.

All in all, I highly recommend this resort. In a great part of the island, the famed North Shore. Veer off the path and try the food trucks/stands on the side of the road. The food is delicious!

Room Tip: Definitely worth the upgrade to an ocean view. You can't come all the way to Turtle Bay and not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lollaRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Aloha,

Mahalo for celebrating your honeymoon at Turtle Bay. Thank you for sharing how our staff went above and beyond to make your visit worthwhile. We would be honored to serve you again on the Fabled North Shore and hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck, V.P. Turtle Bay
Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We just got back from our honeymoon yesterday. We were at Turtle Bay 8/10-8/18. Everything turned out so perfect. The room (378) was the perfect size for us, always very clean (thanks to Dela) and with a beautiful ocean view. The restaurants on site had friendly service and good food. My favorite restaurant was Lei Lei's, the ahi sashima was amazing and there was a decent wine selection :) It was never too crowded but never boring either, Thanks Turtle Bay.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view! It's so worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Aloha,

We’re so happy to read you had the perfect honeymoon at Turtle Bay! From our rooms, to our restaurants, we’re glad you had an amazing stay. We would love to welcome you back someday and hope to have the pleasure soon!

Mahalo,
Danna Holck, V.P. Turtle Bay
Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was the perfect place to come to after trying day of air travel. Great reception by the staff upon arrival. Quick check in and the renovated rooms were fantastic, Second trip in two years
and can't wait for trip number 3. Four of us 1st time and 7 this trip and we loved it. Thanks Turtle Bay for a great week. The Franklins

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kenny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Aloha Kenny,

We’re thrilled Turtle Bay is your perfect fit. We’re excited for your third stay as well and welcoming you back to the Fabled north Shore!

Mahalo,
Danna Holck, V.P. Turtle Bay
Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was the best hotel of our 13 hotel stay in America. The Epic King Room was stunning with a panoramic view of the ocean. I woke up early every morning to open the blinds and watch the sky change colours over the water. The room also had a generous bathroom with separated shower and toilet. The bed and room furniture was very comfortable and modern as was the colour palette and design. The hotel itself is flanked by ocean and truly relaxing. The onsite restaurants were surprisingly well priced and we ate at the breakfast buffet every day without protest –yum! The pool area was being renovated when we went but that wasn’t overly annoying. When you lie at the pool you can see the ocean and there is also a kids slide and small hot spa. The golf courses are also stunning and well-priced esp. during the week. For a hotel which monopolizes the North Shore, they haven’t gone outrageous on prices. The only place I was disappointed with was the spa. $180 for a pregnancy massage which was terrible. I advised the staff at the spa and they refunded 25% of the massage but still, so disappointing. It takes about 45mins to an hour to get to Turtle Bay from Waikiki airport which can be expensive. We used the discount taxi service for $100 (plus tips $125) and had a great lady Candy who also told us hilarious info about the island as we drove. You can catch a local bus to Haleiwa for about $2.50 USD if you want to go see the historical town- we didn’t think it was amazing but something to do on the North Shore. If you take a taxi to Haleiwa beware you will wait for ages and be spending $30-$40 USD. I would recommend going East of North shore to try the food trucks and to go to the Polynesian Cultural Centre. Overall would absolutely come back to Turtle Bay Resort and stay for a week if not longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TurtleBayResort808, General Manager at Turtle Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Aloha,

Wow- the best hotel out the 13 you visited in the U.S. during your vacation!? Thank you so much for the amazing compliment! Mahalo for sharing our prices are fair and our location is stunning. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Fabled North Shore someday.

Mahalo,
Danna Holck, V.P. Turtle Bay
Jeff Perkins, Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kahuku
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
2,569 reviews
Waikiki
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Resort

Address: 57-091 Kamehameha Highway, Kahuku, Oahu, HI 96731-2149
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kahuku
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kahuku
Price Range: £226 - £478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Bay Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 452
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 850 ocean-front acres of Oahu, Turtle Bay Resort is the only true full-service luxury resort on the island's legendary North Shore. All rooms provide an ocean view. Our guests enjoy the natural tranquility of the North Shore lifestyle and spectacular ocean views from every one of the 452 magnificent beach cottages, ocean villas and guest rooms. The resort features two lushly landscaped pools, two championship golf courses, snorkeling, turtle tours, kayaking, four tennis courts, horseback riding, hiking and mountain bike trails,helicopter tours, segway tours, a surfing school, world-class dining and shopping. An official partner of GoPro, all guests can enjoy free GoPro rentals to capture their North Shore adventures. Ideal for weddings and romantic getaways with miles of breathtaking beaches. Swaying palms. Astonishing scenery. Turtle Bay is THE setting for your most special day. Ranked among the Hawaii's Top Ten Honeymoon Hotels, each year over 350 weddings are booked to the delight of both newlyweds and their guests. Yours could be just as amazing. AWARDS & ACCOLADES: "World's Best Resorts: Hawaii: No. 7 ranking- Travel + Leisure •"Best Family Hotel/ Resort, Hawaii" - Travel Pulse, Travvy Awards •"Better World Award"- World Centric, For Helping to Create a Better World •"Inaugural Leader in Sustainability Award"- Hawaii Lodging & Tourism Association •"Best Hotels of 2016: No. 7 in Best Hotels in Honolulu-Oahu and No. 25 in the Best Hotels in Hawaii category"- U.S. News & World Report •"Top 25 Hawaii Resort" - Conde Nast Traveler Reader's Choice •"Top 20 Venues in Hawaii Hotels & Resorts" - Wedding Spot Awards •"Platinum Greenleader"- Trip Advisor •"10 Beach Resort Spas For a Romantic Getaway"- USA TODAY TRAVEL •"Best Courses You Can Play" - Golfweek Magazine •"Top 100 Public Courses in the US" - Golf Digest ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Turtle Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Hotel Kahuku
Turtle Bay Kahuku
Turtle Bay Resort Oahu
Turtle Bay Resort Hawaii/Oahu
Turtle Bay Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing