We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B and not too far from Honolulu”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
Pleasantville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great B&B and not too far from Honolulu”
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Although you are not close enough to walk to downtown Kailua, you can walk to a nearby shopping center with a supermarket, coffee shop & other stores. Better yet is the short walk to the beach. Carol has beach chairs & boogie boards you can use. The pool looks inviting, although we didn't use it. Manu Mele is only 20 minutes (depending upon traffic) from downtown Honolulu, so if you want to go into the city for touring or dinner, you can.

We were in the Pikake Room, the smaller of the two, but it was just fine for a couple. Everything was neat and clean & worked just fine. It's not on the website, but there is Wi-Fi available to guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    19
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This was a great spot to stay and travel around this side of the Island. Everything was clean, very important! and we knew ahead of time that the B&B only supplied breakfast on the first day. Nice pool to swim in, in a private fenced in garden area. Short walk to a beautiful non busy beach! Carol was very welcoming and helpful in pointing out eating places, and sights to see. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in both rooms as we were there for 4 nights and could only stay in each room for 2 nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waltdawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorktown, VA
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We stayed in the larger Hibiscus room, didn't need the a/c (but it was there if we needed it), walked to the beach, swam in the pool, got some good advice from Carol about restaurants and things to do on the island. Loved the yard with all the plants, flowers and birds. Even though 2 other couples were staying, we were alone at the pool most of the time and it was quiet enough to have the windows open (except one morning when someone had a cell phone conv by the pool in the early am). You can poke your head in the kitchen anytime you need to talk to Carol, but she gives you your privacy.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seethesightsUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Chose the Hibiscus room which is the largest and enjoyed the space. Can be surprisingly noisy as close to main road into Kailua but very pleasant outlook onto lovely garden and pool. Breakfast a bit disappointing - just a few items in fridge. Short walk to beach although so windy during my stay not pleasant to sit there. Kailua has nice shops and restaurants. Best thing is Carol the owner who is so welcoming and helpful it really adds that extra something to your stay.

Room Tip: If you're staying a few days pay the extra for the larger Hibiscus room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StargazerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Paz, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2011

I am not going to repeat what other reviewers reported on the positive side. I can vouch that all of the compliments were warranted.The one person who reported of the property being a little run down and dirty couldn't be more wrong.Carol keeps her property immaculate.
I spent a lot of time searching for the ideal Oahu beach accommodations.
This property is more like having your own efficiency apartment vs. a traditional B&B room.
I put a lot of stock in what others here on TA reviewed. I can't recommend this property enough and I would and hopefully will stay here again in the future.
MAHALO
Carol

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillCarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2011

If you are traveling to Hawaii for the beach, Kailua is the place for you and Manu Mele is a short walk to one of the most beautiful beaches on Oahu. You couldn't ask for a more pleasant and helpful hostess than Carol.

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank benbenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pender Island, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Our first favourable impressions received when first requesting a reservation with Carol, were quickly confirmed when she greeted us at the door. What a wonderful place she has, we felt immediately at home in her very comfortable Pikake Room. Just outside our door a lovely garden surrounding the swimming pool. Great place to take breakfast.
We will definitely want to stay here again, where it is so quiet, only bird sound, and the cheerful morning greeting of Carol to start your day,

Jon Heaney
Pender Island BC

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 183804John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
19.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
24.9 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Oahu/Kapolei
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
6.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
0.3 mi away
Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast

Property: Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast
Address: 153 Kailuana Pl, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-1671
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Manu Mele Bed And Breakfast Kailua, Hawaii - Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing