We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #11 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We spent a week here. Although you need a car to get here, it was a great location being only a short walk to the beach. The room interior and exterior surroundings was fine. Carol, the owner was very friendly and helpful during our stay. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hausl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

We just spent 4 nights here. Carol the owner is a lovely hostess. She was very welcoming and always keen to help with queries. She also took us on a walk of the local neighbourhood to show us where President Obama holidays. Yes in the same street. Fortunate for us no CIA there on our visit.
The garden and pool is a nice place to spend the time here but the small room we had was just that small. Bathroom very cramped, no where to wash dishes except a plastic bowl so the crockery etc all needed a decent clean as did the fridge. It was good to have the use of umbrella, beach chairs snorkels etc but they were all in bad repair. We had a rental car and without one you would be lost at this B&B. Even though it is 100 steps from Kailua beach it is not the nicest end of the beach. The lovely beach is a good 5-10 minute drive way. There are not a lot of options for accommodation on this side of the island but it is a good base to explore from. We did a day trip to the North Shore stopping at all the beaches along the way. It is a full day trip. Single lane road so quite slow in places. One thing is the bed is wonderfully comfortable.

Room Tip: Bigger room may be better but others said their room was also small.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank ams255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights while stopping over in Hawaii. Very pleasant spot close to the beach and town. Garden was nice with a small pool. As we wanted to travel around the island on our brief stay this was the ideal spot away from the crowds in Honolulu.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank henmch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Manu Mele for 5 nights and had a wonderful experience from our initial contact with Carol, the owner, to the moment we pulled out of the driveway and headed back to the airport. We chose Kailua to get away from the hustle of life, and it was a great choice. Our stay at Manu Mele was in the Hibiscus room, which provided all the needed amenities to meet our needs. The room was clean and well taken care of. The small refrigerator and microwave worked fine, and my wife made steady use of the coffee maker. :)

When researching places to stay we understood that Manu Mele didn't provide meals each day, and that was fine with us. It gave us the opportunity to explore the many eateries in Kailua. We were on vacation to relax and explore the beauty of Oahu.

The public lane to the beach is directly around the corner from Manu Mele, and a short walk had us on the northern end of the beautiful shoreline that stretches to Kailua beach and Laniki beach. We are early risers and would make it out each morning to watch the sun rise, cup of coffee in hand. If we chose to hit the beach later Carol had a supply of chairs and other beach gear that were available for us to use. They weren't brand new, but were serviceable and met our needs.

What made Manu Mele special for us was our host, Carol. She is a delightful lady who was there to check to make sure we had everything we needed. She gave great advice on places to visit, eat, etc. and always saw us off with a smile. We will definitely stay with her again the next time we make it to Oahu.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dadmanx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of May during our recent tour around Hawaii and thought it was great. Although we initially thought we would just stay in Honolulu/ Waikiki during our time on Oahu, I’m SO glad we instead ended up in Kailua. At only ~30mins from Honolulu, the price of the accommodation was much more reasonable, the small-ish town was far more laid back, the seemingly endless beach (with access down a lane right next to the B&B) was stunning and, importantly, the welcome and local advice from Carol, the owner of Manu Mele, was much appreciated.

Our room was perfectly suitable for our needs. The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower was good, which are always the two big plus points for me. The air conditioning unit was welcomed to take the heat out of the room in the evening, but personally I wouldn’t have slept with it on as it was a bit noisy (as with all single room bolt on units – it’s the same everywhere). But the ceiling fan kept things comfortable overnight.

Initial breakfast provisions were left in the room for us to get us going on our first morning – bread (for toast), English muffins, fresh fruit, jam and coffee. We were aware that only 1st morning breakfast was included and didn’t have a problem with this. Carol was helpful in providing us with maps and telling us where local shops were. She explained the basics of coming and going from the house and where the beach equipment was kept and we had brief friendly chats whenever we crossed paths. I know she would have been happy for us to badger her for anything if we had needed to, but she was also happy to leave us to it.

Overall, we would definitely recommend this guest house to others, particularly if you prefer a sleepy neighbourhood feel to high rise hotels with views of each other!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
6  Thank C.Weeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Advertised as B&B but its a house with 3 rooms available. Owner is very nice but clearly needs some additional assistance. All beach items(chairs, umbrellas etc) were broken & quite old. Refigerator malfunctioning so some food went bad. Not enough storage space for clothes & food products. You had to use shallow bathroom sink to do dishes. We went off every day to explore the island, the location was excellent for traveling every where. Oahu is so much more than Wikiki &Honolulu.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Irishmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My husband surprised me with a 3 week vacation to Hawaii in April 2011. Manu Mele was the first stop on our journey. Absolutely the best! We met Carol and she was a gracious host to accommodate any thing we needed. Fresh pineapple in the morning, beautiful flowers and a great semi private beautiful beach a short distance away. The room was spacious and clean.
We went to three other locations including the Queen Kapiolani hotel and none of them compared to Manu Mele. We recommend family to stay there as well and they were pleased. The location was great. The pool and the yard was kept up very nicely. At the end of our stay Carol put together a very wonderful dinner evening outside by pool side for all her guest. She appreciated our business and we appreciated her service. We will defiantly be returning to Manu Mele.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
10.9 mi away
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,748 reviews
19 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
10.7 mi away
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric Waikiki Beach
0.3 mi away
Paradise Palms Bed and Breakfast
9.4 mi away
Manoa Valley Inn
Manoa Valley Inn
#1 of 8 in Honolulu
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast

Address: 153 Kailuana Pl, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-1671
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range: £97 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Manu Mele Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manu Mele Bed And Breakfast Kailua, Hawaii - Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing