We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First visit to Sharon's Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sharon's Serenity

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sharon's Serenity
Ranked #7 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
sonora,ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First visit to Sharon's Serenity”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This was the seventh time to visit the Island as my son lives there. We have stayed at other places and found that this is the BIGGEST BANG FOR THE BUCK ! you dan find on the Island.
We thoughly enjoy our stay. This is a very homey atmosphere with a continental breakfast to get you started for the days acvtivity. We stay at VRBO sites only as we cannot stand the noise from busy hotel rooms. To the lady of the house, thank you sooooo much for your assistance.
We will Definetly be back.
Love Russ & Patti,and Karlie.

Room Tip: The Pool Room we stayed in had a great view of the pool and the canal was the perfect size for the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clinton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    16
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
12
47
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Quiet location in a safe residential neighborhood. Easy to find and easy parking. Garden has a clean pool, flowers, birds, and backs onto a quiet canal. Across the canal is parkland and the mountains. Breakfast is more than adequate. We stayed in the cheerfully decorated Pool Room. Towels, soap, and hot water are plentiful; the bed is large and comfortable. One can walk to a general store (5 minutes), a packed local restaurant, not expensive, called Buzz's Original Steakhouse (10 minutes) and the excellent Kailua beach (15 minutes). Kailua is a good location from which to explore the East and North shores of Oahu without the expensive parking and ever increasing traffic congestion in Waikiki. About 30-40 minutes from Honolulu Airport car rental locations.

Room Tip: Ask for Pool Room if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles_wen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

We celebrated our 25th anniversary by this trip around Hawaii and being in Oahu at Sharon's, in the Pool Room, could not have been a better choice! It is an enchanting quiet place: a water view from the garden, a very short walk from Kailua beach, a wonderful lady who welcomes us, a very nice customized beakfast to start the day... We live far awy but if we go back, it will be THE place.

Room Tip: The Pool Room is large and nice, the whole place is really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

My wife and I were celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary and meeting a couple who were getting married while in Hawaii. We did not want to stay in Honolulu because of the daily traffic jam getting in and out of Honolulu which starts at 4AM-8AM going in and starts at 2PM -6PM going out. Parking at the hotels is $25 a day.. Sharon's house is only 30 minutes from downtown. We stayed 9 nights.

We did not know what to expect from a B & B. Sharon has set the bar very high. She would fix a morning breakfast of coffee, juice, fresh fruit such as pineapple, mango, papaia, strawberries, yogart and on and on..Many days, we would skip lunch..days when we would leave before breakfast, she would set out rolls for us to take and the coffee was on a timer and ready for us..GREAT FOOD!

The pool room that we stayed in was ALWAYS clean wiith fresh towels for the bathroom and for the beach..No air conditioning since you don't need it.. 2 ceiling fans worked perfect..The bed was awesoome..firm with plenty of pillows..We slept so well..

Her house is 3 minutes from Kailua Beach State park..WORLD CLASS and so beautiful. Great wind surfing, Kite surfing and outrigger canoes close by to use..

The best part of all was meeting other couples like Tony and Mariana from Germany and Art and Ruth from Oregon..We shared many interesting conversations around the breakfast bar and out by the pool..

There was plenty of parking around the house. The gardens are so lush and full of flowers..Sharon takes excellant care of her home..

I can not thank Sharon enough for making our first trip to Hawaii so romantic and worry free. She has several great restauraunts close by like The Pub. Shopping centers are 2 minutes away. What more could you want.

Good friends, great hostess and my 30 year best friend..I hated to say Aloha to our new friends and look forward to saying Aloha to Sharon on our next trip..Who knows, we may take the whole family and rent the whole 4 bedroom house... with great love and appreciation, Mahalo Jerry and PJ in Dayton Ohio

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunny_Beach_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2011

We have been coming here since 2008, so we must like it here. I wont go much into the positive points, close to the beach and kailua town. For non drivers, there are close public transport connections. A lake view from the back garden. And always agreeable fellow guests. The breakfast will fill a hole till lunchtime, and will ensure that you get some fresh fruit every day (since i am not a much of a fruit eater at home, its good to have it forced on me). Good wi fi connection

Just to answer a few of the negative criticisms, Sharon is a welcoming host and likes having people around, and the house is as clean as your own house or any average hotel room. The decor is quirky, but interesting. The dogs are fine and generally stay out of your way. As far as bugs are concerned, i saw one outside the window once in four visits, that's pretty good for a tropical climate. People have different expectations from holiday rentals, this met our expectations, and we are not backpackers we are an english couple in our 50s.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fsweeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
61 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

Sharon is a friendly host with two small dogs who rule the roost. Keep your door closed to avoid problems (one of them pooped on our bath mat). The grounds and pool are attractive. It is a ten minute walk to a beautiful beach. Breakfast is basic with fruit, small yogurt and a different grocery store bought pastry each day -bagel/muffin/croissant. It is enough to get you started. Overall the house is not very clean and the room is overpriced for what is offered but a good stepping for local travel.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HatzicMission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2010

We contacted Sharon while in Waikiki and booked 3 nights with her, however she gave very vague directions and we got lost, however some very friendly locals helps us locate her! Sharon was very welcoming and we were in the pool room, which included a king bed and a single bed as well as our own bathroom. The room was quite spacious. Sharon's breakfast each morning was lovely. She had told us the the beach was very close, however it was about 10 - 15 minute walk to the beach. There were limited options close by for food, Buzz's was great (we went there twice, salad bar is great and the fish!), there is also a pizza place close by which does massive pizza's. The house was quiet, we had our own TV in room. If you don't like dogs this is probably not the place for you, her two dogs have free range around the house including your room when you leave the door open (the dogs were friendly and didn't jump up or bark at you or anything).

The pool area was a nice area to relax. Sharon was friendly but not intrusive.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sel15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sharon's Serenity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sharon's Serenity

Property: Sharon's Serenity
Address: 127 Kakahiaka St, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3474
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Sharon's Serenity Kailua, Hawaii - Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing