We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great poke adventure” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hibachi

The Hibachi
Ranked #15 of 143 Restaurants in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian, Seafood, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: thehibachihawaii.com/
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great poke adventure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

As a poke newbie, I enjoyed getting to choose from a wide variety. Warning, you will need more rice than you think. I also got the octopus and shrimp poke. The stuffed portobello mushrooms were divine. We also enjoyed the chicken skewers.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank LilyinToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    19
    5
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best Poke on Oahu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

I have tried a lot of Poke all over the island. My favorite is the wasabi poke from Hibachi. The end.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
123 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Best poke, service and value in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I discovered Hibachi on a five day trip. Once discovered, we ate there five times in three days.

Easily the best poke in Kailua. Prepared fresh, multiple options and darn tasty. They also had salmon and a veggie option.

What kept bringing us back was the price point and more importantly, the service.

Very friendly and accommodating owners and staff.

Lastly, where else could two adults get dinner and a drink in Hawaii for under $20?

Highest possible recommendation!

Mahalo

Helpful?
3 Thank COSouthpaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindenwold NJ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Poke and More!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is the best Poke you will find in the area. A friend drives a half hour from Diamond Head to get his poke here, passing countless other poke options. They have a few different kinds of Poke and will even whip up a fresh batch if you ask. Not many people are on TA to find a great Poke (raw ahi about $8lb) but don't be discouraged. They also make fresh sandwiches, prepared kabobs and marinated meats for the grill, beer and wine (Hawaii breweries including Maui Brewing, Kona Bewing, Aloha Beer etc). Around lunch time you will be rubbing elbows with everyone in town who knows where to find the best local lunch in town.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cancerbeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clementon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
192 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Hold the mayo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Great selection, great taste, great prices. My son had poke, he said it was great. I had a Beef Teri sandwich. It was loaded with fresh cooked beef (cooked while you wait). But I didn't notice til I got home, they put mayo on it. Never saw that before.
It is a take-out only. The folks are friendly and efficient.
Worth a stop after a busy day to bring some food home.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Hibachi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing