We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC
Ranked #1 of 12 Kailua B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband and I just got back from spending a week at the Lanikai Garden Studio. We had an amazing time. Rick and Nini are wonderful and meeting them certainly added to making our vacation a very memorable one. I would not hesitate to rent any one of their properties, the little added touches they provide their guests certainly enhance the experience and make you feel right at home in an Hawaiian environment. Best of all we were steps from Lanikai beach, our all time favorite beach! Nothing beats being able to go to this amazing beach whenever you want, from first thing in the morning to later in the day without the hassle of finding a parking spot. Then, being able to walk home for a shower, some time to relax or to cook a meal and head off to explore the rest of the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Rick of Lanikai Beach Rentals emphasized that there were 50 something steps up to the Penthouse, but I counted them. That is the the only negative. Being on top affords you the best view of course and there is no patter of little feet. We had a washer/dryer to use and a full kitchen with a "lanai" or balcony replete with a Weber grill. It is just a fabulous property to chill and enjoy the sound of the doves and quiet trades rustling through the palm trees.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Kurt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2013

We rented the Tree House for 5 nights. We loved the spaciousness, the privacy, the access to the beach, and the fact that nearly everything was provided by the owners, Rick and Nini Maxey. The bed linnens, the towels were excellent quality, The king size bed was very comfortable. Best of all we were able to prepare our own food and so happy that there was a Whole Foods Market in town for organic veggies and fruits. We enjoyed the private patio and the warm breezes and listening to the ocean nearby. We felt very much at home and hope to come back to this lovely place many times in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank turtle2327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at the Lanikai Tree house and we really enjoyed our stay. The house was well equipped and spacious. The owner was really helpful sharing tips on where to go, eat and so on.
During the first days we had problem with the water pressure in the shower, reported it and after perhaps 30 minutes a man arrived fixing the shower. That is service.

It is roughly a one minute walk to the water and if you want some beach as well it is a five minute walk. The walk to the restaurant, opposite the Kailua beach park, is about 20 minutes and their drinks are lovely.

Do not forget the walk up the hills to the old WW2 pillbox(es). In the morning when the sun is rising the scenery is lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Swede-Johansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Where do I even start? This was my very first time staying anywhere other than a big named hotel. I found this property on this website. Rick Maxey's website was super attractive, inviting and it turns out to be totally accurate. It was exactly what it said it was going to be. We were super impressed with everything about it. Rick was super to work with. He was interested when our flight came in so he could be there to greet us and show us around. He made sure that we knew where we were going from the airport to the front door. He advised us as to resturants, stores, etc. When we got there it was fast and easy to find. The lights were on for us, the scenic Hawaii channel was on the tube, the music was low and romantic. There was a nice pineapple in the fruit bowl, fresh local coffee on the counter, a great binder of information on the table. (everything you would ever need to know about everythnig on the island) SO NICE TO HAVE. The place was very cozy, romantic, clean and charming. We felt safe and sound there. The place had body boards, beach chairs, and outdoor sand shower, a sweet courtyard with table and chairs, bug spray, candles, etc. This place had everything down to the beach straw hats in the closet! Seriously the cutest place ever. We absolutely loved our stay there! The most beautiful beach in America was right across the street. The sunrise was spectacular. Why else would you get up at 5:30 on your vacation? Trust me, it was amazing! The beaches were amazing. The resturants were amazing. The area was perfect. The locals were awesome, the Maxi's were awesome and the beach hopping was the best ever. I can't say enough about this property folks.....it was SO great. I will be back and will probably bring family and friends and rent both on this property. This was a great value. I like to think that I am an experienced travelor and I think this was one of the best ever. Thank you Mr. & Mrs. Maxi, we can't say thanks enough! See you soon. Cindy & Chris from Iowa City, Iowa.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

If you've ever experienced fine dining, you know the atmosphere is almost as complimentary as the food. But where a five star restaurant really shines -- and yet, ironically, gets the least press -- is it's service. Without excellent service the experience really isn't possible. The fare by which you feast upon is the most evident and tangible of a fine dining event, yet it's the behind the scenes people who make it happen. Once again, the property in Lanikai speaks for itself with it's postcard-esque views, but the service we received from Rick and Nini Maxey is beyond words.

You see, this trip was a big one. My 40th birthday was upon me and my girlfriend wanted to make it special, so she booked a stay at one of the properties managed by Lanikai Beach Rentals. The view from just about anywhere in Lanikai is world renowned and breathtaking, and this was not to disappoint. There were a few bobbes -- small kine, if you will -- but they were easily fixed and did not even create a ripple in our plans. Even though we weren't staying at Rick and Nini's property specifically, he was beyond accommodating and so respectful and apologetic that we even experienced the slightest inconvenience during our stay. Mind you, this was done via phone contact; not by e-mail or text message as our electronic society knows so well.

We then stopped by to see Rick and Nini, and it was like seeing old friends even though they had not met my girlfriend before. Nini loaned us two of her personal books so we could find some hidden spots on Oahu, and Rick offered us ice water, towels, a beach umbrella, and a cooler full of ice to take with us, even though we were going to the other side of the island for the day. None of that mattered to them; what did matter, and what showed in their kindness, was their willingness to do whatever it took -- to go that extra mile, if you will -- to let us know that we were ohana, and they, too, were the same to us. Rick and Nini are like family to me, and I would do anything to help them out. During a tsunami scare in 2009 and then after a torrential storm tore through Lanikai in 2010, I called them to make sure they were okay and offer anything from the mainland they may need over there. This was their way of taking care of us, even if we weren't staying on their property.

The last day of our stay was highlighted by spending some personal time with Rick in one of his favorite spots where he takes his family, and where he loves to go to unwind. He was gracious and my words cannot express how appreciative we were of him taking his time and day to make up for our bobbles which were no fault of his own.

Make no mistake about it, Rick and Nini Maxey are the best of the best when it comes to Hawaiian hospitality -- known as the Aloha Spirit -- and they are among the kindest and most amazing people I have ever had the pleasure of knowing. This trip was a hallmark on so many levels because I got to see some sick family members who really may not be around the next time I fly home, so it was emotional to say the least. Rick and Nini's love and generosity made our stay that much less stressful and that much more enjoyable, and we hope to return the same when they make their way to Seattle in the future. Our love and respect to you both.

Me ka `oia`i`o,

Durand & Dori

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank riceboy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

If you're looking for a quiet, clean, relaxing place to hang out this is it. The property is gorgeous, the dogs (yes Sue has 3 of them) are fun and friendly. Sue the host is so accommodating and sweet. The unit doesn't need AC because the trade winds, ceiling fans are perfect to keep things nice and comfy. You are steps from a quiet sandy beach that is the reason people think of Hawaii.

Kailua has some good food, so you're not in the total boonies and have to eat in your kitchen. We ate breakfast and some lunches there but went out every night for dinner. The kitchen is small but perfect for snacks, breakfast or lunches.

This place is great for couples. Wouldn't be good for families or kids. Not because Sue wouldn't make it work, but because it's really set up as a retreat from reality ;)

Room Tip: There is only one room so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC

Property: Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC
Address: 1277 Mokulua Dr, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Lanikai Garden Studio has had a complete make-over! New flooring, kitchen, stainless appliances, paint, double pane windows, window treatments and a 24,000 btu Mitsubishi "whisper quiet" air conditioning system. This home within a room is a place where you will be able to relax and feel totally at ease. With ample space and an abundance of windows and tropical flora views. All of this is accessed through the studio's private gated garden entry, and is just 100 yds. to Lanikai Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lanikai Hotel Kailua
Lanikai Bed And Breakfast
Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC Kailua, Hawaii - Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing