We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii(Kaneohe)(Great Value!)
US$333
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$288
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$601
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Pagoda Hotel(Honolulu)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$165/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$220
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Ilima Hotel(Honolulu)
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$212
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$163
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
99
6
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
6
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden studiotree houselanikai beachthe kitchenthe penthousemokulua islandsshort drivewelcome basketprivate spacemango treefamily vacationthought of everythingstocked kitchenettepillbox hikefresh pineapplewindward sidelocation was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Rick was helpful and also unobtrusive, we felt we could ask him for help anytime with just a phonecall, yet we didn't see him around except at the start and end of our stay (check-in/out). He showed us round the rentals and key things to note.
Great big TV, comfy chairs, spacious large area, clean kitchen and bathroom.
Such cool breezes came in through the louvred windows no air-conditioning was definitely not an issue. Decor was Hawaiiana but didn't feel dated.
I have to say, the BEST toilet paper ever! My partner and I were commenting on it for days afterward and compared it to the other places we stayed at including a 4.5 star beachfront hotel. I never did get the chance to ask Rick what brand he was using. LOL
Rick and Nini thought of everything a guest could need or use at a beachside vacation cottage.
Outdoor space was neat and lighted at night, mosquito repellants provided; he explained sprinkler timings etc.
Oven, blender, pineapple, cookies, breakfast muffins, juice in the fridge, tons of cable channels, a soft comfy King bed, lots of fluffly pillows, plenty of towels (we had at least 4 of each type) along with beach towels, paper towels and ziplock bags etc. in the kitchen, mesh screens to keep the mosquitoes away, beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, coolers, reusable ice packs, a full ice box, coffee and sugar and a coffeemaker... basically anything you can think of that will be useful they provide. Hairdryer, iron, bath soap, new showerhead adjustable, a bath and full-length mirror... Only thing is bring your own toothpaste and shampoo. May I suggest a couple of pairs of house sandals/flipflops? As while everything was very clean, the floor round the kitchen area did feel a bit uncomfortably sticky. Shoes off indoors was appreciated. I'm used to that. Complete privacy.

Room Tip: Garden studio is spacious and convenient stroll to Lanikai although best to have a bicycle or scooter/car if you want to get into Kailua often for supplies.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank designfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were looking for a quiet, private place close to the beach with a full kitchen and BBQ, and we were really happy with KBE. There were delicious muffins and coffee waiting for us when we arrived (thank you!) and the space was very comfortable. Beach access was less than a five-minute walk, and they even provided beach chairs, snorkel gear, boogie boards, and a hat next to our parking spot. Our hot water went off briefly one morning, but they had it back in order soon after we called. It was really the perfect place, and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissie911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Perfect!! We returned for another stay at the Garden Studio, for our wedding anniversary, and we loved it just as much! Both Lanikai Beach and the private Garden Studio are perfect for couples who want a very romantic holiday. The garden studio is a private garden oasis, perfect for a couple. Even though they don't serve breakfast, the room is comfortable and spacious, with everything you need, and beautiful Lanikai Beach is a short walk across the street and down the road along a bike path. The gardens adjacent to the studio, and the neighborhood, are full of tropical plants. The front yard even has a mango tree and a plumeria tree! We love the powdery sand at the beach!
Recommendations: walk around the neighborhood to see the tropical plants, rent kayaks from Kailua Sailboards and Kayaks, avoid the trail to the pillboxes, have dinner at Baci Bistro or Pinky's, drive to Hailewa following Route 83 & stop at many places along the way, and golf at Ko'olau.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
8  Thank RomanticTravelers888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The reviews under Lanikai Bed & Breakfast cover a variety of properties listed on its website. We stayed at the Kailua Garden Oasis, for which Rick is property rental agent. The owner and host extraordinaire is Sue Bixler. The Kailua Garden Oasis provided the perfect setting for our 40th wedding anniversary celebration. It is only a minute or two walk to the beach and Sue generously provided beach towels and chairs and let us use whatever other beach equipment she had in the yard. Although Kailua is supposed to have excellent breakfast restaurants, we couldn't bring ourselves to try them, because breakfast on the patio provided such a relaxing start to each day. We also used the table and chairs in the yard for evening snacks. Sue was easygoing, friendly and informative without being intrusive. She added a lot to our stay. Even though we would not consider ourselves to be pet people, her three dogs were friendly and we enjoyed spending time with them on the patio. For those who feel intimidated by the thought of three dogs, only one of them really pays much attention to the guests. We found Kailua to be easily accessible to the sights in Honolulu, but in a much more relaxed setting. Kailua also was a good base to see other parts of Oahu. The room itself is small, but well appointed. The only disadvantage is that there is only a kitchen sink, which also serves as the bathroom sink. But, that proved to be of very minor consequence, far outweighed by the many advantages of the place. The fan kept the temperature perfect and we felt no need for air conditioning. There are two levels of shutters on the windows, so you can close the bottom level for privacy and get plenty of circulation by opening the top level. I could go on, but you get the idea--it's a perfect place to stay on Oahu.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Suze87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband and I just got back from spending a week at the Lanikai Garden Studio. We had an amazing time. Rick and Nini are wonderful and meeting them certainly added to making our vacation a very memorable one. I would not hesitate to rent any one of their properties, the little added touches they provide their guests certainly enhance the experience and make you feel right at home in an Hawaiian environment. Best of all we were steps from Lanikai beach, our all time favorite beach! Nothing beats being able to go to this amazing beach whenever you want, from first thing in the morning to later in the day without the hassle of finding a parking spot. Then, being able to walk home for a shower, some time to relax or to cook a meal and head off to explore the rest of the island.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews