We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed with Sue from January 11th until January 16th, 2014 and just had a great time. Sue is a very friendly and pleasant host and provided us with everything we need during our stay, including some great medicine against our cold! The room has everything you need, enough storage space nice shower and a small electric plate to cook some small meals/eggs in the morning. Beach is just a 2 minute walk away.
Try Buzz's Lanikai for their great Burgers as well!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dibbes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

One can not say nice enough things about Sue Bixler and her wonderful house. If you are a single person or couple THIS is where you want to stay. Actually, all I did was stay at her house and walk the 80 steps to the beach everyday. BArely left the place it was so cosy.

If you know Hawaii then you know that dogs bark all the time. But not at Sue's place. It was so quiet at the end of the street. Her pool and hot tub are fantastic. And her three little dogs make it so charming...and they do not bark.

Impossible to go wrong here. Call Rick and schedule. You will not be sorry.

So comfy that I did not want to leave. Actually I have booked again for Feb 2014 !!!

Thanks Sue, you made my time in Kailua so memorable.

Room Tip: There are two rooms, the Garden room is largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank W F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Rick was helpful and also unobtrusive, we felt we could ask him for help anytime with just a phonecall, yet we didn't see him around except at the start and end of our stay (check-in/out). He showed us round the rentals and key things to note.
Great big TV, comfy chairs, spacious large area, clean kitchen and bathroom.
Such cool breezes came in through the louvred windows no air-conditioning was definitely not an issue. Decor was Hawaiiana but didn't feel dated.
I have to say, the BEST toilet paper ever! My partner and I were commenting on it for days afterward and compared it to the other places we stayed at including a 4.5 star beachfront hotel. I never did get the chance to ask Rick what brand he was using. LOL
Rick and Nini thought of everything a guest could need or use at a beachside vacation cottage.
Outdoor space was neat and lighted at night, mosquito repellants provided; he explained sprinkler timings etc.
Oven, blender, pineapple, cookies, breakfast muffins, juice in the fridge, tons of cable channels, a soft comfy King bed, lots of fluffly pillows, plenty of towels (we had at least 4 of each type) along with beach towels, paper towels and ziplock bags etc. in the kitchen, mesh screens to keep the mosquitoes away, beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrellas, coolers, reusable ice packs, a full ice box, coffee and sugar and a coffeemaker... basically anything you can think of that will be useful they provide. Hairdryer, iron, bath soap, new showerhead adjustable, a bath and full-length mirror... Only thing is bring your own toothpaste and shampoo. May I suggest a couple of pairs of house sandals/flipflops? As while everything was very clean, the floor round the kitchen area did feel a bit uncomfortably sticky. Shoes off indoors was appreciated. I'm used to that. Complete privacy.

Room Tip: Garden studio is spacious and convenient stroll to Lanikai although best to have a bicycle or scoote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank designfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We were looking for a quiet, private place close to the beach with a full kitchen and BBQ, and we were really happy with KBE. There were delicious muffins and coffee waiting for us when we arrived (thank you!) and the space was very comfortable. Beach access was less than a five-minute walk, and they even provided beach chairs, snorkel gear, boogie boards, and a hat next to our parking spot. Our hot water went off briefly one morning, but they had it back in order soon after we called. It was really the perfect place, and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissie911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Perfect!! We returned for another stay at the Garden Studio, for our wedding anniversary, and we loved it just as much! Both Lanikai Beach and the private Garden Studio are perfect for couples who want a very romantic holiday. The garden studio is a private garden oasis, perfect for a couple. Even though they don't serve breakfast, the room is comfortable and spacious, with everything you need, and beautiful Lanikai Beach is a short walk across the street and down the road along a bike path. The gardens adjacent to the studio, and the neighborhood, are full of tropical plants. The front yard even has a mango tree and a plumeria tree! We love the powdery sand at the beach!
Recommendations: walk around the neighborhood to see the tropical plants, rent kayaks from Kailua Sailboards and Kayaks, avoid the trail to the pillboxes, have dinner at Baci Bistro or Pinky's, drive to Hailewa following Route 83 & stop at many places along the way, and golf at Ko'olau.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
7  Thank RomanticTravelers888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

The reviews under Lanikai Bed & Breakfast cover a variety of properties listed on its website. We stayed at the Kailua Garden Oasis, for which Rick is property rental agent. The owner and host extraordinaire is Sue Bixler. The Kailua Garden Oasis provided the perfect setting for our 40th wedding anniversary celebration. It is only a minute or two walk to the beach and Sue generously provided beach towels and chairs and let us use whatever other beach equipment she had in the yard. Although Kailua is supposed to have excellent breakfast restaurants, we couldn't bring ourselves to try them, because breakfast on the patio provided such a relaxing start to each day. We also used the table and chairs in the yard for evening snacks. Sue was easygoing, friendly and informative without being intrusive. She added a lot to our stay. Even though we would not consider ourselves to be pet people, her three dogs were friendly and we enjoyed spending time with them on the patio. For those who feel intimidated by the thought of three dogs, only one of them really pays much attention to the guests. We found Kailua to be easily accessible to the sights in Honolulu, but in a much more relaxed setting. Kailua also was a good base to see other parts of Oahu. The room itself is small, but well appointed. The only disadvantage is that there is only a kitchen sink, which also serves as the bathroom sink. But, that proved to be of very minor consequence, far outweighed by the many advantages of the place. The fan kept the temperature perfect and we felt no need for air conditioning. There are two levels of shutters on the windows, so you can close the bottom level for privacy and get plenty of circulation by opening the top level. I could go on, but you get the idea--it's a perfect place to stay on Oahu.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Suze87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

My husband and I just got back from spending a week at the Lanikai Garden Studio. We had an amazing time. Rick and Nini are wonderful and meeting them certainly added to making our vacation a very memorable one. I would not hesitate to rent any one of their properties, the little added touches they provide their guests certainly enhance the experience and make you feel right at home in an Hawaiian environment. Best of all we were steps from Lanikai beach, our all time favorite beach! Nothing beats being able to go to this amazing beach whenever you want, from first thing in the morning to later in the day without the hassle of finding a parking spot. Then, being able to walk home for a shower, some time to relax or to cook a meal and head off to explore the rest of the island.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
22.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Oahu North Shore
26.6 mi away
Marriott Ko Olina Beach Club
10.8 mi away
Prince Waikiki
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.7 mi away
Aulani, a Disney Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii
28.7 mi away
Turtle Bay Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC

Address: 1277 Mokulua Dr, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range: £68 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Lanikai Garden Studio has had a complete make-over! New flooring, kitchen, stainless appliances, paint, double pane windows, window treatments and a 24,000 btu Mitsubishi "whisper quiet" air conditioning system. This home within a room is a place where you will be able to relax and feel totally at ease. With ample space and an abundance of windows and tropical flora views. All of this is accessed through the studio's private gated garden entry, and is just 100 yds. to Lanikai Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lanikai Bed And Breakfast
Lanikai Hotel Kailua
Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC Kailua, Hawaii - Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing