We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved returning to the Lanikai B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC
Ranked #1 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
VA
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“We loved returning to the Lanikai B&B”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We returned for another vacation at the Lanikai Garden Studio. It is a perfect studio apartment. Spacious and well equipped. It is clean, comfortable, and attractively decorated. It stayed cool the whole time we were there because there is a nice cross breeze thru the louvered windows as well as ceiling fans. The garden lanai (small enclosed yard) with umbrella table is perfect for enjoying time to ourselves when we didn't feel like the beach. The entire apartment and yard is surrounded by landscaping and is completely private.

The beach is right across the street. At low tide there is a narrow strip of sand that we had all to ourselves. The beach here is calm with a perfect view of mokulua islands. At high tide, a short 5 minute walk down the road leads to a wider beach that is a little more used but equally enjoyable. Rick provided a useful notebook of local information including a tide chart that helped us plan our day. Everything we needed for the beach- backpack chairs, towels, sun umbrella and then some- was provided.

We didn't cook much, but if we wanted to the kitchen had everything we could ever need, including unlikely find items like coffee grinder, hand blender, and rice cooker. Our routine was to have breakfast and coffee on the lanai and take dinner at one of the very fine restaurants in Kailua, such as Kalapawai café or Baci Bistro.

Rick and Nini were perfect hosts. There if you need them, but otherwise inconspicuous.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank e-bob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick M, Owner at Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Rob & Carol,

What a pleasure to welcome the two of you back to our garden studio! You have been booking with us since June 2007 and have been gracious guests each time you return.

Rob, my boat is almost ready and you are Carol will have to set some time aside during your next visit for some off-shore fishing and glass bottom adventures.

Thank you again for your review and your return visits.

We look forward to seeing the two of you in the near future.

Aloha, Rick & Nini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
52
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yucaipa
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just finished our magical vacation in Lanikai with my husband and twenty-something kids. What a wonderful property and hosts! The "Tree House" is actually the upper floor of Rick & Nini's home but is truly surrounded by trees. In fact, you need to slightly duck under the mango tree to climb the stairs! (Plus lots of fresh mangoes to eat.) The decor is open, bright tasteful Island with white wooden walls and bamboo flooring. We were a little apprehensive the first night as there is no air conditioning, but this isn't the "Windward" side of Oahu for no reason. Between the open screened windows and fans, we had to add an extra blanket at night! Rick and Nini are also wonderful hosts. Informative, friendly but not obtrusive. They were always available to answer questions, give local history (they are both life-long Lanikai residents), provide directions to local attractions and lend snorkels, fins, dry bags, beach chairs, etc. We all had a memorable time & hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Love this sheltered location away from the Waikiki crowds in beautiful Lanikai. Accommodations are five star...clean and equipped with everything needed in a home away from home. The furnishings are very attractive and comfortable providing a relaxing stay. The tradewinds drifting through the Tree House were delightful. Rick and Nini are wonderful hosts who have thought of everything necessary to make guests feel welcome and cared for. I have been there twice and plan to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My husband & I loved the garden studio! It was perfect for us. Clean and so comfortable & Hawaiian. Loved the lanai! Rick & Nini are gracious hosts, both have the true spirit of Aloha. Lanikai Beach may be a bit thin due to severe storms this winter past, but it's sheer beauty makes up for it. If we return, God willing we will definitely be staying at Garden Studio.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Woodka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked the Lanikai Penthouse through Rick and we were extremely impressed with the location, the property itself and the views!! The views alone made this worth the money :-) The place was presented clean and fresh and we truly felt it was a home away from home. We would highly recommend this to travellers wishing to stay in Lanikai. The beach is a short walk away and one of the best beaches on the island.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GetonaJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta, BC
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I stayed 4 nights here and had an enjoyable stay. We had the garden studio and it was lots of room for us. The room was clean, comfortable and well equipped for cooking and beach equipment was available for our use. The beach is only 5 minutes away or so and not too busy. Kailua is a short drive away and has everything you need there. The owners were very friendly. As it is in a residential area there is some noise associated with that but that didn't bother us much. The owners had in the room for us a pineapple, some muffins and juice which was a nice touch and appreciated. We would stay here again. Make sure you do the Pillbox Hike, it's well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Delta_BCRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed with Sue from January 11th until January 16th, 2014 and just had a great time. Sue is a very friendly and pleasant host and provided us with everything we need during our stay, including some great medicine against our cold! The room has everything you need, enough storage space nice shower and a small electric plate to cook some small meals/eggs in the morning. Beach is just a 2 minute walk away.
Try Buzz's Lanikai for their great Burgers as well!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dibbes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC

Property: Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC
Address: 1277 Mokulua Dr, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3249
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Lanikai Garden Studio has had a complete make-over! New flooring, kitchen, stainless appliances, paint, double pane windows, window treatments and a 24,000 btu Mitsubishi "whisper quiet" air conditioning system. This home within a room is a place where you will be able to relax and feel totally at ease. With ample space and an abundance of windows and tropical flora views. All of this is accessed through the studio's private gated garden entry, and is just 100 yds. to Lanikai Beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lanikai Hotel Kailua
Lanikai Bed And Breakfast
Lanikai Beach Rentals LLC Kailua, Hawaii - Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing