We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Flavors”
Review of Cactus

Cactus
Reserve with OpenTable
Cactus is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #26 of 144 Restaurants in Kailua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: Brazilian, Chilean, Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Hamakua Drive
Transit: Bus 57
Description: Cactus is "a celebration of the cuisines of the new Americas with Aloha," transporting the flavors, culinary traditions and techniques from Central and South America as well as Cuba, Puerto Rico and Mexico.Offering the cuisines of the sun, land and sea, Cactus menu selections focuses on:•Local produce from the islands•Shinsato Farms pork from Kahalu’u•Kulana and Kuahiwi beef, veal, wild boar from the Big Island•Sustainably caught or farmed seafood from the island chainDrop-in or reserve a table in our casual, convivial environment with warm, engaging, professional service.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Level Contributor
68 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Flavors”
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

We went there just by being in the area and it was delicious. I'm so glad we tried it out oir whole family. We got Grass fed Hamburgers, Chicken Quesidilla, and Hamakua Mushroom Tacos. We also had Sexy Breeze Cocktail. The service was nice a lil slow but very friendly. I would GO back again. LOVE the Unique Flavors

Helpful?
Thank Honolua13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    55
    30
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a nice surprise”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We found this restaurant accidentally but were oh so pleased with the find. The food was great, the service fast and friendly and the margaritas very tasty.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank msmtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewes, DE
Level Contributor
195 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Despite having read other reviews and the fact that there were plenty of empty tables, my husband and I tried Cactus based on location and outside seating venue. The server was not only inattentive but bordered on unfriendly when we did not order cocktails after a long day in the sun.
The menu had a lot of variety but nothing we had was prepared well....the signature short ribs dish had a chocolate type sauce that overpowered it. I ordered the $8 chips and salsa appetizer--chips were homemade but stale and it came with one tiny spice-dish size of watery salsa with no discernible vegetables in it. They boasted a signature Ceviche appetizer for $15 that was truly flavorless--no other way to describe it.
It was like they try to make everything more fancy and complicated than it needs to be instead of focusing on fewer, fresher, tex-mex kind of offerings in a more friendly atmosphere. Worst meal of our trip--will not return even if they are still here next year!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnydaysLewes_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Good Idea, poor execution”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

With an interesting menu that is overpriced and a reservation system that could confound anyone, this place is a diamond in the rough. The food was certainly above average, but the rest of the experience drags it down.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent latin inspired cafe”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Not a Mexican restaurant more a latin cafe but one of 3 places in Kailua I frequent and quickly becoming me and my wife's go to spot for good food. I like the use of all the local ingredients, the chef is super friendly and so is the bar tender. (sorry but we don't get a table as the bar is our spot) Get the house made chips and Guacamole - you'll never eat a chip from a bag again. The seafood is fresh and there's always a handful of daily specials. I could like on croquettas and fry bread.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cactus also viewed

 

Been to Cactus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing