We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, good prices”
Review of The Fat Greek - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Fat Greek
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“good food, good prices”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

It's a pretty small room, and it's not very fancy, but it was a nice change of pace after eating a lot of expensive meals on Oahu. Also it's BYOB, with only a $5 corkage fee as printed on the menu, and for us no corkage fee because we went with a couple of local-regular customers, which is also a nice change of pace. The menu is pretty standard Greek/mediterranean fare (spanakopita, hummus, gyros, souvlaki, lamb shanks, kabobs, etc). The four of us got gyros and souvlaki and had 2 bottles of wine that we brought all for under $50, which was about 1/2 of what we were averaging for dinners during our vacation. And the food was really tasty and filling as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimkne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MIDLAND
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“taste and value”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Return visit. Apparently has sustained service, food, value as I recalled from last winter.
Generous portions. Suggestion - salad be served on separate plate. Don't miss the baklava,
Remains BYOB.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boaz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“love the garlic fries!!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

The building may need some repairs, but the food was amazing. We had the gyro meal which came with a greek salad and garlic fries. I'll go back :) we went after hiking.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Won't be going back because of the food”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

While the waiters were very friendly, the food was between bad and average. I would not go back. Saganaki tasted like fuel as the brandy did not burn off. A complaint about the inedible dish resulted in no response from wait or or kitchen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Splints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lumberton, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our first time to try authentic Greek food & we loved it! You must get the hummus & pita bread! So much better than what we've had on the mainland! Service was great as well!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandrakintex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing