We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Thai food and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saeng's Thai Cuisine

Saeng's Thai Cuisine
Ranked #68 of 143 Restaurants in Kailua
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
kaneohe
Level Contributor
87 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Thai food and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Delicious spring rolls and not-so-ordinary thai dishes are my favorite. They even have 2 brands of Thai beer. The sushi confused me a bit, but be sure to ask maverick what his favorite dish is. They are ready to offer milk or orange slices when your head explodes from the chili.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank rggKaneohe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    17
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
156 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Like coming home to family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We have been going to Saeng's since 2000. The service is always good and the food is tasty. The portions are fair and the sushi bar has been a nice addition to the ambience of the place. Joanne and Tony always great us with a smile. Sam and Phan are always so friendly and know every ingredient on the menu. Good food and great feel.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Every thing was great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Excellent, food, service and decor. Thoroughly recommended.
Choice was great and tasted great, and quick. .prices were very reasonable

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank michlees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Meh, I've Had Better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

It was OK....but not great. If you're craving some Thai, this probably won't satisfy your craving. That said, it's decent enough. I did really like the decor/ambiance, though. Casual elegance. Nice staff, too.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RachelDee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
123 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good food at a good price...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have had bad Thai food and I have had great Thai food. This is good, but not great.

I went there with my family and did enjoy the meal. My son and I each ordered chicken Pad Thai. My wife had an order of pineapple fried rice and my daughter wasn't all that hungry so she just had some sticky rice. We all shared an order of spring rolls.

The Pad Thai had a nice flavor (I go with a medium spice and my son had no spice), but it was a little stickier than I like it. It was to the point of clumpiness. I would prefer it a little thinner. But, as I said, the flavor was good.

My wife loved her pineapple fried rice. I am sure she would have ordered another plate of it to take home, if she had thought of it.

The ambiance is good and the wait staff is attentive.

I would recommend this restaurant to folks that enjoy Thai food.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HeathSchneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saeng's Thai Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Saeng's Thai Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing