We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely recommend it!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway

Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
Ranked #12 of 12 Kailua B&B and Inns
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will definitely recommend it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

Our room was lovely...just right for our 5-day stay. Kitchen was well-stocked with breakfast nibbles and snacks. The charm of Kailua was only a 5-minute drive away, and the beach was a 5-minute walk. Definitely ask for the room level with the private spa...
a great treat! We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    6
    4
    11
    14
See reviews for
15
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

Don't expect a luxurious 4 star hotel!!! Don't be misled by the press releases which describe a sophisticated paradise! Expect a down-home B&B, with very basic breakfast, ants in the bathroom and kitchen, tacky furniture, but generous towels, beach furniture, and lovely birds in the morning. The beach is NOT 2 blocks walk - it is 5 blocks at least. You cannot see the ocean! The bed is LUMPY and SOFT! There is no a/c, although fans were fine in April. The owner, Janice, did not try and compensate in any way for our disappointment when we arrived. The fuse blew in the kitchenette when I plugged in the coffeemaker and the kettle at the same time. The nearest restaurant is 1 mile away - you need to drive to get any variety. But the beaches are beautiful...lower your expectations and you will have a great time.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rhw2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

This B&B is located 5 minutes from the best beach in Oahu the sand is as soft as a silk carpet. It is tucked away on the windward side of the island and shows Hawaii as you would expect, high ridged mountains covered in jungle. When I arrived the fridge was full of food and fruit and drinks and the unit was clean and comfortable.
This was my second stay at the Hideaway and the only reason I went back was because I enjoyed the place so much the first time.
I will be going there again on my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moira384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway is a secluded, romantic, little gem that truly is a piece of Paradise. The 3 units each have private entrances, baths and kitchenettes with decks galore...one even has a hot tub to soak and gaze at the stars. Only a 5 minute walk away are gorgeous white sand beaches, aquamarine waters and offshore islands framed by swaying palm trees. Fall asleep to the relaxing sound of waves coming ashore in the distance. The town of Kailua nearby has fine dining, art and antiques. Your hostess, Janice, is a breath of fresh air who knows the history and attractions of Oahu in detail and you feel as if you're staying with an old friend. We stayed here prior to an inter-island cruise to Maui, Kauai and the Big Island. I'd give the cruise a C+/B- but Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway gets an A+...it was so relaxing and enjoyable that next time we're spending the whole week here.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaSteve47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Hills, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

When my friend and I arrived at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway late at night after our car had broken down, we were delighted to find a warm, inviting place with everything we could possibly want. Janice has anticipated one's every need and want, providing us with thoughtful items such as robes, umbrellas, food, beach mats, you name it. Especially noticed was the attention to detail such as crown molding and lace edged dust ruffles. We stayed a week and loved every moment. It was private, quiet ~ except for birds ~ and a short walk to the beach. I would love to come back one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettyismoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

DO NOT READ THE REVIEWS ON THE FIRST PAGE ONLY!!
i believe that we made the same mistake as others who stayed in that hole in the wall, which is to only read the REVIEWS ON THE FIRST PAGE, which are all totally positive. why? because they are manipulated. you visit the other pages and you will see for yourself that things arent as rosy as they look in the first page, when it comes to that B & B.

we arrived late in the day, like around 8pm and signs lead us to our studio. $165/night. this is not the one with the indoor jacuzzi.

well, well, well... we were exhausted after a 9-hour trip, car renting and some visit around the city before driving there. And guess what? with 88 degrees F, there was a cheap fan on the ceiling, and a dusty, dirty extra one in the closet. we couldnt believe it. NO A/C! in Hawaii, that's like saying NO POWER. i call that hostess and she says that there is no ac anywhere ih this building. she had requested a minimum stay of 3 nights even though we wanted to stay 2 nights, but i told her we were leaving the next day in the morning, no matter what, since there was no Ac and we didnt know about it.

and then....during the night...after adjusting the fans and taking much needed showers in an OOOOOOOOLD bathroom with oooooold tiles and smelly faucet/sink, we notice that we had absolutely no privacy in there, as ANYONE could see us from outside. INCREDIBLE!!!! we spent an hour HANGING the cheap kimonos on the door and the window (the cheap curtains didnt cover all of the window), then stacking our suitcases one over the other, to feel safe during our sleep. i mean WHO wants to be seen from outside, and maybe exposed to a potential danger, in a totally new location???

there were a few muffins and a few drinks in the fridge, some fruits, nothing fab of course, given the fact that the motto of this place is HIGH PRICES, CHEAP SERVICE.

we hardly slept at night, and got ready to leave the place at 10a.m. the hostess, Janice, wouldnt pick up the phone so we could pay her, until like 4 hours later. we had to return to pay. And what do we find? $165/night + $55 one time cleaning fee (AND SHE IS THE ONE WHO DOES THE BAD CLEANING) + $45 cancellation fee.

she was unfriendly, aggressive, defensive, upset. She is an old, messy looking and extremely unsociable woman. i was still friendly with her, despite the fact that i was upset with the 2 unpleasant surprises (Ac and privacy), and she was ok with us leaving. but when we met her in person to pay her, she was incredibly aggressive. she had the NERVE to say that "EVERYWHERE ONLINE i say that i have fans and extra fans in my unit", as a response to my complaint that there was no A/c. i told her that saying that she has fans does not mean she has A/cs and does not mean that she has NO A/c. So that was pretty tricky, and thus frankly, DISHONEST. She is PURPOSELY misleading her hosts because MOST of them have complained about the heat, and she STILL does NOT mention that she has no Ac. Furthermore, she is a LIAR because she said that all B & Bs have no a/c, which is totally wrong because we found another one that is newer, cleaner, with a PRIVATE POOL, 2 rooms, A/c, breakfast, WIRELESS INTERNET, at $109.99!!!!!!!!!! AND NO CLEANING FEE.

i told her i would NOT pay the $45 cancellation fee because she was supposed to be honest and inform us about that.

Oh! did i mention that the LIQUID HAND SOAP IS SO DAMN OLD that it smells like mildew!!?? YUKKK and then the Peroxide Oitment expired in 2007 so i couldnt heal my husband's wound!!!!!!

did i mention she only takes CASH!???

did i mention the room has a 1950s look and smell to it??? old grandma style carpets and NO place to put your stuff?

did i mention that it is NOT CLOSER TO LANIKAI BEACH THAN OTHER B & Bs? it is only close to the bad part of Lanikai beach, where you can't lay a towel on the sand because the water hits the stone walls!!!

i was EXTREMELY upset mainly by her demeanor and aggressiveness. Did this thief really think she could rip people off and expect them to go with it and pay her for disastrous service!????? yeah right.

never again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank NeverFarEnough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

Perfect in Paradise
 
We were thrilled when we found this wonderful B&B.  Starting with the welcome package that had lots of helpful information, including perfect directions from the airport, which helped as we arrived late in the evening.  The lights were on and everything was waiting to greet us.  We enjoyed sleeping in and when we got up the next morning, we had our breakfast out on our lanai with the birds singing.
 
The room had EVERYTHING that we needed and extra items (scissors, scotch tape, CD player, kimono’s )  that you don’t find in a hotel room.  We even ground our own free coffee from the fresh kona coffee beans, provided.  We found the unit very clean and the bed was very comfortable, and the surrounding gardens were beautiful. The B&B furnished everything for the beach, chairs, mats, extra beach towels. We appreciated that there was no charge for these items, like at the hotels.
 
The location was perfect.  We walked down, every morning, to the beach to see the sun rise over the ocean. Plus the Lanikai beach was great to swim at.  The town of Kailua had so many  different restaurants’ we did not have enough nights there to eat at all the places we wanted to go to.  We also had a book in our unit that had suggestions for the local restaurants, and menus so we could easily make a choice on where we wanted dine ahead of time.  We highly suggest Baci Bistro for a great meal and great service.
 
We wished we had stayed here long, as this was our favorite place that we stayed thruouh out the islands.  We would come back here anytime and highly recommend this to anyone who wants a perfect experience in staying in Hawaii.  
 
 
 

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway

Property: Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
Address: 1369 Mokolea Dr, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3240
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to be our guest in this award winning, licensed bed & breakfast. Considered one of the best vacation spots on the island and recipient of the Most Romantic Hideaway Award, Hawaii’s Hidden Hideaway B&B is second to none. We are ideal for honeymooners, special occasions, a family or those on business. With a unique style of accommodation and three gorgeous private units - including one suite and two studios, all of our guests enjoy private baths, kitchenettes, and lanais (beautiful patios) and gorgeous garden views. We are always open to offering suggestions for day trips and hikes and your stay always includes parking and wifi free of charge. We want you to relax and enjoy the island as much as we do. Only a short walk to the world famous Lanikai and Kailua Beaches, with pristine turquoise waters and fine white sand. Watch the sunrise from your private lanai, listen to the ocean on a quiet night or walk on the beach and watch the moonrise between the islands. This distinctive spot on the Windward side of Oahu is only a 30-minute drive from Waikiki, Honolulu or from the airport. Five minutes away, in the quaint town of Kailua, are some of the top restaurants on the island, antique shops, and rentals for kayaks and windsurfing. Don't forget to check out one of the best hikes on the island right behind the B&B. Plan your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawaii`s Hidden Hideaway Hotel Kailua
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway Kailua, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing