We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Paradise Bay Resort Hawaii(Kaneohe)(Great Value!)
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Pagoda Hotel(Honolulu)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
US$235
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Ilima Hotel(Honolulu)
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Official Website
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki(Honolulu)
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
31
7
4
11
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
7
4
11
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeacock suitehot tublanikai beachprivate jacuzzishort driveoff street parkingbeach chairs and towelslovely beachbreakfast itemsnorth shorejaniceunitshostesskimonobirdsparadiseisland
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 67 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Don't take any chances book this place for your next Hawaiian vacation! My wife and I booked this place for our honeymoon and we can not say enough good things about this place. When we pulled into the driveway our names had been printed on signs leading us to our private suite. For us it felt like we had come home after a long day. As we climbed the stairs there was another welcome sign letting us know we had arrived. Once inside the unit Janice had left a note next to a plate of fresh cookies explaining that we would find a fully stocked fridge, with additional pastries in the microwave. Everything we needed was in the suite and we truly felt the romantic Aloha spirit that we were promised. We were three blocks from the Lanikai Beach which was voted top 5 in the world by National Geographic. If you are booking for a couple I recommend the Peacock suite as it has a private hot tub which we loved having right outside our front door. This place is where you want to be! We are definitely going back for our anniversary and baby-moon. If you are looking for a small, romantic, intimate piece of heaven in paradise then Janice and Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway is the place for you.

Room Tip: Peacock Suite
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

HH is in a beautiful location that was able to help us as we had an family to house at short notice. A great hostess had lots of good touring ideas and local information. Located on a side street so there was no road noise and set up so that we did not hear (or even see) the other guests that were there when we were. Comfortable beds. Surrounded by well maintained tropical vegatation. Had off street park which was important in that location. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The following is an extract of an email I sent to the owner after our December 2011 stay at this property.

We are very seasoned travelers, in and out of the country, and for many years have been staying in Bed & Breakfast's and Inn's. I personally do all of our travel planning, and up until the time we walked in the door of our suite had NEVER been disappointed with our lodging. Although there are some pluses about your property, we find it most unfortunate the negatives far exceed the pluses.

Other than a chance meeting when you were doing some trimming next to the car port we were never greeted or welcomed. During our stay we were not asked if there were any problems and/or if everything was OK. (I had to call you about the bath dispenser) Additionally, when we departed we were not thanked for our business.

Romantic (per your advertisement). The ONLY thing that comes to mind is your property is located in Hawaii.

The furnishings (furniture, curtains, carpeting etc) are extremely dated. The Peacock Suite is in need of a complete makeover.

The curtains in the bathroom...paper thin. This situation made us very uncomfortable when we were using the bathroom due to the walkway located directly behind the unit and the ease of which anyone could see though the curtains.

Speaking of the bathroom...I question whether it was cleaned prior to our arrival. The reason being is I found long dark hair on the shower walls. My wife's hair is short/curly and light brown. Mine is white. Additionally, I had to call you about the body gel and conditioner dispensers being empty. It is clear that you use very inexpensive products in the dispensers as they have little "suds" and are virtually ordorless.

Speaking of cleaning....we've NEVER been charged an extra fee for cleaning as it has always been included in the daily rate. Additionally, we found it offensive to be asked to separate the trash and and non-trash and even put them in your color coded containers. We say that is included in your cleaning fee and you should not ask/expect guests to do this as it is yet another "kick in the shins."

The hot tub...NOT private as shown in your advertisement. Quite the contrary (it's on the roof of the garage..open to public view!). We did not use it for that reason. Additionally, I'm really opposed to having to read/digest part of a technical manual to understand the operating instructions. Why not have a just a few hand written or typed instructions...and who cares if someone removes them to take them outside for use, even if they happen to get wet. They could be easily replaced.

Fans and lights....yet another troubling aspect. As a paying guest, we have the right to leave fans and lights on for our own reasons and for as long as we desire, as like everything else the expense is included in the daily rate. We typically are "green" conscious and do not do this. However, the scent in the room (from the time we arrived) was not exactly pleasant. We were most hopeful that by keeping the fan on and windows open the scent would go away. We are offended that our fan was turned off, more than once, during our stay.

Your driveway and commentary about your lights next to it. First, you should invite guests to park on the left side of the driveway since you are in fear the lights will be damaged when guests are leaving the property. As a matter of fact, I thought I was doing you a favor by parking on the left since your car was parked in the right side of the garage on one occasion. In a note you left for us I felt chastised for doing so. Additionally, the very tall and wide hedge that reaches the edge of the street creates a real safety hazard as it is absolutely impossible to see if there is any oncoming traffic whether you are backing out or driving out "front first."

The mattress...too soft/very uncomfortable. Each day brought back pain when we arose in the morning.

In summation...we feel our stay was micromanaged and driven by all things related solely to economics. Customer service, the total lack thereof, is what we will remember about this disappointing experience. That said, we asked that you please consider at least a 50% refund of our total bill.


A summary of the owner’s response…”I can not correct the things that you were disappointed in after you are gone.” Translation…no refund

Room Tip: We thought we were getting the best of the best, and it was total disappointment from the time we opened the door. I simply can not imagine what the other rooms must be like.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank alwaysonthego66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

1) towels stink on contact with water
2) ants
3) no curtain on main window and had to threaten to leave before action taken. Then one was jury rigged.
4) a tip jar left on table for the fine service. Pulleeze.
5) cereal left on table for breakfast was stale. Didn't bother trying anything else. Too depressing.
6) minimum 3-4 night stay so you are stuck tight. Not a wonderful feeling.


  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2-2trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Unfortunately, we didn't research well enough (or check TA) before we booked HH.
We found HH through VRBO and promptly emailed the owner. She had availability (imagine that?) for our dates and seemed eager to have us as guests. (We usually stay at the Beach House down the road from HH). However, the Beach House is booked months in advance so we had to split out 10-day trip in half.
Long story shorter, signs were posted at HH when we arrived to guide us to our rooms (we had 3 kids as well.) The owner left our rooms unlocked - and didn't greet us on arrival. Surprise (overload) of more than a dozen pasteries/breads were in microwaves for us to snack on...nice gesture. The caveat to all the goodies I feel sure is why this place had a serious ant problem!
Our two sons 8 & 9 were playing outside the next day. She (owner)- seemed irritated by them and promptly asked them to "Go somewhere else", not good morning or anything hospitable.
Keep in mind we're paying ~ 500/night. We asked for some beach accessories (We are the only people staying at this B & B.). She asked us to leave a couple of dollars to use beach items!!! We opted not to use them. There's a dirty laundry area in the basement. When we asked to use W & D, she wanted $$$ left for this too.
Around 1pm the owner asked when we were checking out. We realized a miscalculation with our departure dates. Well, we couldn't pack up and leave without paying her a large (300+) fee because se had to "Send away the cleaning crew twice!". We were shocked! Ok, guess we'd might as well stay? She recallculated the fee--over 500 dollars for us to stay 1 more night!
MAY WE ADD - She had NO other guests arriving that day?!? We felt so ripped-off! Embarassed and discusted! That's pretty bad business, no wonder it was so easy to book this place. Albeit, it's located ideally in a beautiful setting.
Unfortunately, this lady has no class. We've waited ~ 3 months to write this review. We don't remember her name. We will remember this experience and learn to check TA's reviews in the future. TA has served us well when we do!

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank amcRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews