We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”

Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
Ranked #13 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I just got back from a 6 night stay at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, and I just read the TA reviews--they seemed to cluster around 5 and 1--either folks loved it, or hated it. Well, my husband and I loved it. I will give the negatives first--the reasons it did not merit 5 stars--the bathroom sink had some soap residue on the sink drain, and one of the pillows had a musty smell. So, perhaps the owner should hire a more meticulous housekeeper. That said, the location, garden, nearby beach were indeed paradisical. We were a 2-walk block from the loveliest beach on the island of Oahu, Lanikai Beach. We walked down for a swim every morning, and loved that beach. We were in a beautiful garden (I'm a gardener, and appreciate the work that goes into flower gardens), on an absolutely quiet side street. The price was quite reasonable given that we were in a small, exclusive neighborhood near a lovely beach. The lanai was private and perfect for breakfast or an afternoon cocktail. The parrots and songbirds in the garden made a perfect way to wake up every morning. The hostess was friendly and accommodating. We appreciated the use of her washer and dryer, and the studio apartment was stocked with beach chairs, beach mats, plenty of towels, a thoughtful selection of breakfast items. We will stay again, as the crowds and bustle of Waikiki or even Kailua Beach Park are not nearly as romantic or beautiful as the pristine sand and laid-back atmosphere of Lanikai Beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012

My husband and I stayed in the peacock suite. We were scheduled for three nights in this horrible hole of a b&b. The food was all over three months expired. There is NO air conditioning and I had four sets of flea bites. We left after one night. We could not even use the bathroom because there was no window treatments and a man was standing outside of the bathroom window repairing something! He was literally standing outside the bathroom window. We had to use a nearby mcdonalds for a bathroom. The owner is being deceptive with the advertising. Any good reviews were likely written by her. We RAN away and left after one night (she only agreed to refund one of the three nights). I am writing a letter to the better business bureau about this filthy hole of a hideaway. Please avoid this place. It would be cleaner and more enjoyable to camp on a beach than stay at this horrible place. DO NOT STAY HERE. YOU WILL REGRET IT!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Peddoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Pics of this place are very flattering!
We were very disappointed by this place.
Food given by the owner were past their use-by date, jaccuzzi was full of algae, and decoration is very old fashion... not romantic at all.
The place was not very comfortable. The place was clean, and the situation near-by Lanikai beach is exceptionnal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
7  Thank Elo_Paris18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Don't take any chances book this place for your next Hawaiian vacation! My wife and I booked this place for our honeymoon and we can not say enough good things about this place. When we pulled into the driveway our names had been printed on signs leading us to our private suite. For us it felt like we had come home after a long day. As we climbed the stairs there was another welcome sign letting us know we had arrived. Once inside the unit Janice had left a note next to a plate of fresh cookies explaining that we would find a fully stocked fridge, with additional pastries in the microwave. Everything we needed was in the suite and we truly felt the romantic Aloha spirit that we were promised. We were three blocks from the Lanikai Beach which was voted top 5 in the world by National Geographic. If you are booking for a couple I recommend the Peacock suite as it has a private hot tub which we loved having right outside our front door. This place is where you want to be! We are definitely going back for our anniversary and baby-moon. If you are looking for a small, romantic, intimate piece of heaven in paradise then Janice and Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway is the place for you.

Room Tip: Peacock Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

HH is in a beautiful location that was able to help us as we had an family to house at short notice. A great hostess had lots of good touring ideas and local information. Located on a side street so there was no road noise and set up so that we did not hear (or even see) the other guests that were there when we were. Comfortable beds. Surrounded by well maintained tropical vegatation. Had off street park which was important in that location. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The following is an extract of an email I sent to the owner after our December 2011 stay at this property.

We are very seasoned travelers, in and out of the country, and for many years have been staying in Bed & Breakfast's and Inn's. I personally do all of our travel planning, and up until the time we walked in the door of our suite had NEVER been disappointed with our lodging. Although there are some pluses about your property, we find it most unfortunate the negatives far exceed the pluses.

Other than a chance meeting when you were doing some trimming next to the car port we were never greeted or welcomed. During our stay we were not asked if there were any problems and/or if everything was OK. (I had to call you about the bath dispenser) Additionally, when we departed we were not thanked for our business.

Romantic (per your advertisement). The ONLY thing that comes to mind is your property is located in Hawaii.

The furnishings (furniture, curtains, carpeting etc) are extremely dated. The Peacock Suite is in need of a complete makeover.

The curtains in the bathroom...paper thin. This situation made us very uncomfortable when we were using the bathroom due to the walkway located directly behind the unit and the ease of which anyone could see though the curtains.

Speaking of the bathroom...I question whether it was cleaned prior to our arrival. The reason being is I found long dark hair on the shower walls. My wife's hair is short/curly and light brown. Mine is white. Additionally, I had to call you about the body gel and conditioner dispensers being empty. It is clear that you use very inexpensive products in the dispensers as they have little "suds" and are virtually ordorless.

Speaking of cleaning....we've NEVER been charged an extra fee for cleaning as it has always been included in the daily rate. Additionally, we found it offensive to be asked to separate the trash and and non-trash and even put them in your color coded containers. We say that is included in your cleaning fee and you should not ask/expect guests to do this as it is yet another "kick in the shins."

The hot tub...NOT private as shown in your advertisement. Quite the contrary (it's on the roof of the garage..open to public view!). We did not use it for that reason. Additionally, I'm really opposed to having to read/digest part of a technical manual to understand the operating instructions. Why not have a just a few hand written or typed instructions...and who cares if someone removes them to take them outside for use, even if they happen to get wet. They could be easily replaced.

Fans and lights....yet another troubling aspect. As a paying guest, we have the right to leave fans and lights on for our own reasons and for as long as we desire, as like everything else the expense is included in the daily rate. We typically are "green" conscious and do not do this. However, the scent in the room (from the time we arrived) was not exactly pleasant. We were most hopeful that by keeping the fan on and windows open the scent would go away. We are offended that our fan was turned off, more than once, during our stay.

Your driveway and commentary about your lights next to it. First, you should invite guests to park on the left side of the driveway since you are in fear the lights will be damaged when guests are leaving the property. As a matter of fact, I thought I was doing you a favor by parking on the left since your car was parked in the right side of the garage on one occasion. In a note you left for us I felt chastised for doing so. Additionally, the very tall and wide hedge that reaches the edge of the street creates a real safety hazard as it is absolutely impossible to see if there is any oncoming traffic whether you are backing out or driving out "front first."

The mattress...too soft/very uncomfortable. Each day brought back pain when we arose in the morning.

In summation...we feel our stay was micromanaged and driven by all things related solely to economics. Customer service, the total lack thereof, is what we will remember about this disappointing experience. That said, we asked that you please consider at least a 50% refund of our total bill.


A summary of the owner’s response…”I can not correct the things that you were disappointed in after you are gone.” Translation…no refund

Room Tip: We thought we were getting the best of the best, and it was total disappointment from the time we op...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank alwaysonthego66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

1) towels stink on contact with water
2) ants
3) no curtain on main window and had to threaten to leave before action taken. Then one was jury rigged.
4) a tip jar left on table for the fine service. Pulleeze.
5) cereal left on table for breakfast was stale. Didn't bother trying anything else. Too depressing.
6) minimum 3-4 night stay so you are stuck tight. Not a wonderful feeling.


  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2-2trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
Pagoda Hotel
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
517 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway

Address: 1369 Mokolea Dr, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3240
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to be our guest in this award winning, licensed bed & breakfast. Considered one of the best vacation spots on the island and recipient of the Most Romantic Hideaway Award, Hawaii’s Hidden Hideaway B&B is second to none. We are ideal for honeymooners, special occasions, a family or those on business. With a unique style of accommodation and three gorgeous private units - including one suite and two studios, all of our guests enjoy private baths, kitchenettes, and lanais (beautiful patios) and gorgeous garden views. We are always open to offering suggestions for day trips and hikes and your stay always includes parking and wifi free of charge. We want you to relax and enjoy the island as much as we do. Only a short walk to the world famous Lanikai and Kailua Beaches, with pristine turquoise waters and fine white sand. Watch the sunrise from your private lanai, listen to the ocean on a quiet night or walk on the beach and watch the moonrise between the islands. This distinctive spot on the Windward side of Oahu is only a 30-minute drive from Waikiki, Honolulu or from the airport. Five minutes away, in the quaint town of Kailua, are some of the top restaurants on the island, antique shops, and rentals for kayaks and windsurfing. Don't forget to check out one of the best hikes on the island right behind the B&B. Plan your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawaii`s Hidden Hideaway Hotel Kailua
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway Kailua, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing