We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My memorable stay at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway”

Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kailua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
Ranked #12 of 13 Kailua B&B and Inns
Seaford, United Kingdom
1 review
“My memorable stay at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

If you’re searching for somewhere peaceful to stay on the Hawaiian island of O’ahu look no further. Hawaii’s Hidden Hideaway Bed and Breakfast is the ultimate choice.
I stayed in the Peacock Suite which has its own Jacuzzi and sunbathing area. The accommodation is perfect with a large comfortable double bed and sitting area. Plenty of room for clothes a fully stocked kitchen and of course a toilet and shower (which was hot every morning without fail). I was awakened every morning with the sounds of birds singing and the sun streaming through the windows. The beach is a five minute walk away and at four thirty in the morning is the best place to take a walk to capture the early morning sunrise. The owner Janice took great care of me and was a mine of information about so many varying subjects. So wait no longer. Contact the web site on http://www.ahawaiibnb.com. Email hhhideaway@yahoo.com. Address 1369 Mokolea Drive Kailua HI96734 USA
Telephone +1 808-262-6560
Roberta Gentry from the UK
Email roberta.pierce@btinternet.com

Room Tip: peacock suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roberta g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    6
    4
    11
    14
See reviews for
15
33
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

When I booked this B&B, it was rated #1 in Kailua on Trip Advisor. I don't know how it received this rating. We stayed in the Bamboo Room and found it very cramped. We washed and drained our breakfast dishes in the bathroom, there is no kitchenette. There are pots and pans in cupboard in bedroom, but since there is no place to cook, this cupboard space would have been very welcome storage for other things.

Be careful of Janice's directions. Beach access is maybe a half mile walk from B&B. it's an ok walk along residential streets, but it is not quick access to beach. The trail head for incredible hike behind the B&B, is actually over a mile's walk from b&b. And the directions in the 'white book' are incorrect -- friendly neighbors guided us there. Do NOT take hike to pill boxes unless you have VERY strong legs and knees. The beginning of the trail is steep and badly eroded.

Janice is a bit unsociable. When we arrived tired and hungry and asked where we could go for a bite, we were referred to the huge 'white book' in our room. True, there is lots of info in it, but it takes time to make your way through it. A little friendly chat with your newly arrived guests helping them to acclimate themselves seems a basic task of any hostess.

Wifi reception ranges from none to poor. Janice seemed surprised about this, but I met other guests outside their room who were also trying to find reception. I never did find a good spot and was unable to use my iPad.

The good things: Janice is quick to respond to email inquiries, and she mails a nice welcome packet to you once you book. Our room was clean and the bed comfortable. The corner room allowed us to enjoy continual, fresh breezes. The pastry tray and coffee beans provided in the room were excellent, and the bird songs in the morning were charming.

This is not a great B&B, but is adequate if you can't find anything else.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Marshflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benz500sl, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
we strive to create a home atmosphere with privacy. the kitchenette has a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, blender, toaster, hot plate and all the dishes send pots and pans needed. by law we can not provide a Stove nor can a sink be located in the bedroom. the walk to the beach is less than a 1/4 mile. upon arrival we suggested the closest restaurant and said that if the did not want this kind of food that there were other suggestions in the reference book. we hope that if anyone needs other information to contract us directly. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schenectady, New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We found HHH via VRBO and chose it over 2 other properties that were available. We found the location worked well for us, we initially appreciated the fruit, juices and pastries that were waiting for us in our room, and the proprietor seemed thoughtful in trying to provide many little comfortable touches. However, the decor and furnishings are seriously dated, making us feel as if we were staying in a cheap motel. We were told that stocking the room with food was a one time occurrence, so after the first few days the breakfast pastries were no longer fresh. In the 8 days we stayed no one ever came by to straighten out, take out the garbage, or provide any of the usual services one would expect in a B&B. When I finally met the proprietor at the end of the week I mentioned that the coffee pot carafe didn't fit causing the coffee to pool in the basket and that the hot pot didn't work, so she did replace the coffee pot, but that was as close to a service call as we would see. We will be back to the Kailua/Lanikai area, but we won't be staying here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JGChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benz500sl, Owner at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
we try to meet everyone's needs as soon as we know about a problem. we replaced the coffee pot when we knew it DoD not for properly. we were never informed that the hot plate did not work. by law we are not allowed to cook breakfast so we provide breakfast items. if they are not eaten the they can go stale. if guests would like additional items all they have to do is ask. we can not correct issues after the fact. please contact us directly if you need additional information. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perkinsville, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I just got back from a 6 night stay at Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway, and I just read the TA reviews--they seemed to cluster around 5 and 1--either folks loved it, or hated it. Well, my husband and I loved it. I will give the negatives first--the reasons it did not merit 5 stars--the bathroom sink had some soap residue on the sink drain, and one of the pillows had a musty smell. So, perhaps the owner should hire a more meticulous housekeeper. That said, the location, garden, nearby beach were indeed paradisical. We were a 2-walk block from the loveliest beach on the island of Oahu, Lanikai Beach. We walked down for a swim every morning, and loved that beach. We were in a beautiful garden (I'm a gardener, and appreciate the work that goes into flower gardens), on an absolutely quiet side street. The price was quite reasonable given that we were in a small, exclusive neighborhood near a lovely beach. The lanai was private and perfect for breakfast or an afternoon cocktail. The parrots and songbirds in the garden made a perfect way to wake up every morning. The hostess was friendly and accommodating. We appreciated the use of her washer and dryer, and the studio apartment was stocked with beach chairs, beach mats, plenty of towels, a thoughtful selection of breakfast items. We will stay again, as the crowds and bustle of Waikiki or even Kailua Beach Park are not nearly as romantic or beautiful as the pristine sand and laid-back atmosphere of Lanikai Beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GSWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

My husband and I stayed in the peacock suite. We were scheduled for three nights in this horrible hole of a b&b. The food was all over three months expired. There is NO air conditioning and I had four sets of flea bites. We left after one night. We could not even use the bathroom because there was no window treatments and a man was standing outside of the bathroom window repairing something! He was literally standing outside the bathroom window. We had to use a nearby mcdonalds for a bathroom. The owner is being deceptive with the advertising. Any good reviews were likely written by her. We RAN away and left after one night (she only agreed to refund one of the three nights). I am writing a letter to the better business bureau about this filthy hole of a hideaway. Please avoid this place. It would be cleaner and more enjoyable to camp on a beach than stay at this horrible place. DO NOT STAY HERE. YOU WILL REGRET IT!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Peddoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Pics of this place are very flattering!
We were very disappointed by this place.
Food given by the owner were past their use-by date, jaccuzzi was full of algae, and decoration is very old fashion... not romantic at all.
The place was not very comfortable. The place was clean, and the situation near-by Lanikai beach is exceptionnal.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank Elo_Paris18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Don't take any chances book this place for your next Hawaiian vacation! My wife and I booked this place for our honeymoon and we can not say enough good things about this place. When we pulled into the driveway our names had been printed on signs leading us to our private suite. For us it felt like we had come home after a long day. As we climbed the stairs there was another welcome sign letting us know we had arrived. Once inside the unit Janice had left a note next to a plate of fresh cookies explaining that we would find a fully stocked fridge, with additional pastries in the microwave. Everything we needed was in the suite and we truly felt the romantic Aloha spirit that we were promised. We were three blocks from the Lanikai Beach which was voted top 5 in the world by National Geographic. If you are booking for a couple I recommend the Peacock suite as it has a private hot tub which we loved having right outside our front door. This place is where you want to be! We are definitely going back for our anniversary and baby-moon. If you are looking for a small, romantic, intimate piece of heaven in paradise then Janice and Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway is the place for you.

Room Tip: Peacock Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
3,906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway

Property: Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway
Address: 1369 Mokolea Dr, Kailua, Oahu, HI 96734-3240
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Kailua
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kailua
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to be our guest in this award winning, licensed bed & breakfast. Considered one of the best vacation spots on the island and recipient of the Most Romantic Hideaway Award, Hawaii’s Hidden Hideaway B&B is second to none. We are ideal for honeymooners, special occasions, a family or those on business. With a unique style of accommodation and three gorgeous private units - including one suite and two studios, all of our guests enjoy private baths, kitchenettes, and lanais (beautiful patios) and gorgeous garden views. We are always open to offering suggestions for day trips and hikes and your stay always includes parking and wifi free of charge. We want you to relax and enjoy the island as much as we do. Only a short walk to the world famous Lanikai and Kailua Beaches, with pristine turquoise waters and fine white sand. Watch the sunrise from your private lanai, listen to the ocean on a quiet night or walk on the beach and watch the moonrise between the islands. This distinctive spot on the Windward side of Oahu is only a 30-minute drive from Waikiki, Honolulu or from the airport. Five minutes away, in the quaint town of Kailua, are some of the top restaurants on the island, antique shops, and rentals for kayaks and windsurfing. Don't forget to check out one of the best hikes on the island right behind the B&B. Plan your stay with us today! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hawaii`s Hidden Hideaway Hotel Kailua
Hawaii's Hidden Hideaway Kailua, Oahu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing